We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very clean and comfortable Candlewood. Staff was very courteous and friendly. Location was far enough off the highway that noise was not an issue. I would not hesitate to stay here again for business or with family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpharkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekka S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at Candlewood Suites. We appreciate hearing your comments and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 198 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here fall of 2012' neighborhood had a power outage, the staff ha d no idea what to do. One flashlight in hotel, told
To use out cellphone to find our way around, no lights in the staircases how nobody got hurt was very lucky. Had to be on south end of Wausau for work so decided to try it again ( power was on when I pulled in) rooms ok lady at desk could not tell me how to get the tv to work (a guest got it to work for me) they do have a free shuttle to the local airport which is nice as you can leave your vehicle at the hotel and avoid the airport parking fee.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank MIFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear MIFire,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the shuttle service.

However, We’re sorry about the power outage during your stay. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

we were in town for some business, we generally stay at a different hotel but they decided not to honor the rate I have received there for the past 2 years so we stayed here. All I can do is thenk the Days for not honoring the rate, this hotel is far superior, much nicer in every way! When we return to Wausau area this is where we will be staying,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chevydmax04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We met with some friends who stayed at the water park because they brought their son & a friend. We did not want to spend the money at a hotel that we wouldn't use. We stayed at the Candlewood Suites and were very happy with the friendliness of the staff and the price. As it turned out, the water park was located across the street. When we were in our suite, I went to get some ice. The person at the front desk saw me, came out with 2 bags of ice and said that the refrigerator in our room makes ice for our convenience. Our room was clean and the sheets were very comfortable. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Nice location of this clean and comfortable hotel. Spacious rooms with a relaxing feel after a long drive. Full fridge with microwave adds a great touch. Small fitness room but fits the average need. Very friendly staff at check-in and check-out. No breakfast offered at all, many items to purchase in the hotel lobby to take back to room. There is grocery store right in area if you think about stopping before the night to have something to make in the A.M. Restaurants and bars are just a half block away, you could and would walk it in the warmer months.

Great place to stay, I would come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cweld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekka S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review of the Candlewood Suites Wausau, we greatly appreciate it when our valued guests let us know how we are doing. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything that we can do to improve your stay please let us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

October 26th, 2012 - Only stayed for one night, we were just passing through for a weekend of college tours. Front desk was friendly and informative. Rooms were very clean and larger than expected. 2 queen beds with plenty of pillows. Bathrooms were spotless! Couldn't have asked for anything else. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone. It is beyond me how someone could rate this hotel as terrible, give me a break!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachLover4ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekka S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

We are so glad that you decided to stay with us when visiting the colleges in the area and thank you for your review. We appreciate that you are willing to take the time to let us know how we did. I'll be sure to pass your review on to all of our staff as well and we look forward to seeing you again sometime. We wish you the best of luck on your search for colleges!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Room 325 – Two double bed room

Encountered only friendly employees throughout our stay. We were met with an enthusiastic welcome at check in and throughout the rest of our stay. Front desk staff and cleaning staff were all extremely friendly. At check in we were informed of the room cleaning policy and that we could have clean towels any time we wanted. We would just need to pick some up at the front desk.

The room was very clean and spacious. It was stocked with sufficient toilet paper and paper towels. Bathroom amenities = two bars of soap and an all in one shampoo/conditioner product.

The room had two double beds and a recliner with a flat panel TV. There was a combination desk/kitchen table set up with two chairs. Room was well lit. No problem with HVAC.

Large closet with plenty of hangers.

Kitchenette Area
Full size refrigerator
Dishwasher
Two burner stove top
Microwave (with popcorn)
Coffee pot (with coffee)
Toaster
A sign in the room indicated that a toaster oven could be borrowed for the night
An assortment of dishes, pots, pans etc.

Dog Policy
The hotel is dog friendly. They only allow dogs on a specific floor or floors. We were originally placed on the “no dogs allowed floor” (second floor), but were moved to a different floor when they saw we had a dog. There was an additional fee of $25.00 per stay for dogs.

Sound
No issue with sound from other rooms. The only time sound was heard was if I was standing next to the door. Then some hallway noise was audible.

Location
It is located directly across the street from an indoor water park. An outlet mall, grocery store and a Gander Mountain store are close by. Fast food choices include an Arby’s, Subway and Culver’s.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekka S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Candlewood Suites Wausau! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. I have shared this review with our staff so that they are all aware of the great job that they are doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#4 of 11 in Wausau
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
487 reviews
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel

Address: 803 W Industrial Park Avenue, Rothschild, WI 54474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range: $105 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of Hwy 51/I-39 at Exit 185, on Wausau's south side, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau/Rothschild Hotel is the perfect choice for your stay. In addition to our easy to find location, we are just a short walk to the Patriot Center & only 11 miles from the Central Wisconsin Airport (CWA) & Granite Peak Ski Hill at the Rib Mountain State Park. During your stay, relax in one of our spacious guest rooms & one-bedroom suites complete with fully-equipped kitchens, free HSIA and wireless Internet access, 37-inch flat screen TVs with cable & DVD players. Our guests can enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast each morning in our comfortable breakfast area. During your stay, take advantage of our state-of-the-art fitness center which is adjacent to our free guest laundry facility. Grill out during the great summer days in our Gazebo Grill available to guests or relax in the great atmosphere of our pool area. In town for business? Utilize our well-equipped business center & well-lit executive desk, two-line speaker phone & voicemail in each guest room. Our hotel offers easy access to all Wausau area business destinations including Greenheck(R) Fan Corporation, United Healthcare, Siemens, Domtar, WPS(R) and the Weston Power Plant. Make BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau/Rothschild Hotel your base of operations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Rothschild
Candlewood Rothschild
Rothschild Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing