We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Nearby Hotels
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Rothschild)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn & Suites Wausau(Wausau)(Great Value!)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Rothschild(Rothschild)
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
163
82
14
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
82
14
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstoney creeknorthwoods decorhot tubwaffleshave stayed here several timesgreat poolshower headbunk bedsminor complaintstevens pointbiscuits and gravylodge feelstandard roomwedding receptionnice staychecking outski trip to granite peak
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 271 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2011

It was a very good hotel. It seem clean and the staff was very friendly. We had no real issues. It was quiet and comfortable.
Now I will nit-pick on why it can't get 5 stars in my book:
We got a good discounted rate but I think I would have felt oversold if I would have paid the regular asking price.
The shower needs updating. The showerhead was very weak.
The location is right by some sort of power plant; it takes away from the feel of the Wisconsin vacation.... but most of the hotels are bunched together here so you probably can't avoid that easily.
Breakfast was not very good. The eggs were inedible.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolnatkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

My friends and I stayed at Stoney Creek Wausau in June unexpectedly when bad weather made us stop earlier than we had planned. The front desk staff was very courteous and accomodating. We were given a double room and a single room across the hall from each other. In spite of the fact that the hotel was almost full, it was very quiet. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast the next morning was good. I have stayed at several Stoney Creek properties (in Quincy, Des Moines, and Galena) and all of them provide comfortable, affordable lodging.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yooperfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at Stone Creek Inn for two nights. It was very quiet, and the beds were nice. The pool area is very dark at night. The continental breakfast area was not very clean- the counters weren't cleared off- and the food wasn't in logical places. The bagels were on one side of the room, while cream cheese was on another. It appeared that a cleaning lady would come by every once in a while to restock, but not clean.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingAl81977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcernFixer, Director of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2011

Dear Traveling, I thank you for your positive comments as well as sharing your annoyances. Just so you know, we are reassesing our entire breakfast program with emphasis not just on the food choices, but the layout and logic of our presentations. I will share your concerns regarding improving our speed in keeping it cleaned up as well as the ligting concerns you expressed in the pool area with our General Manager. We hope to see you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

My son and I spent one night here on our way to Green Bay and absolutely loved the Stoney Creek Inn.

We had a deluxe room with a microwave and fridge for a great rate.

Beds were very comfortable - really nice pillows.

The hotel is three stories - the lobby was warm and inviting with a fireplace and a rustic look to it. There was a small elevator lobby with a few couches on the third floor.

The bathroom drove home the Northwoods theme with the shower curtain, soap dish and wall hangings. One minor complaint was the relatively small amount of counter space in the bathroom.

The night stand had only an easy to operate clock radio - not one of the high tech clocks in many hotels that are diffiuclt to operate. The remote control for the TV was a regular remote - not one of the typical hotel remotes with various pay options.

Clean, comfortable and safe - would love to come back here sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ysuindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

loved the Stoney Creek Inn. It's contemporary rustic. The room was great, extended King with bunks. Very roomy and comfy! The staff was great, the place was clean and quiet. Nice larger sized pool and seating. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gulltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews