We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Kanawha, Ia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed September 11, 2008

We were extremely pleased with this Stoney Creek Inn! We called the day of arrival to book a room. We got a very good price so decided to stay. The place was super. I'm not a Northwoods lover and this place is totally done that way- BUT I loved it! Was so warm and inviting! The room we were put in first had a noisy air conditioner. We asked to be moved. It was no problem. We had a great room. I went to check out the pool and wow- is that cool! First pool I've seen with a t.v. and fireplace in the pool room. I hadn't planned to swim the next day but chose to because it was just so neat. Rooms were very clean and decorated very tastefully in Northwoods. Upon returning home, I saw 2 room changes for our 1 night stay. I called and talked to a very nice gal. I figure mistakes can happen to any of us. But it did end up being just a common transaction and was explained by my credit card comp. It was taken off before I even called the CC company. I figured since it was resolved I wouldn't even call the Stoney Creek back but Sami from the hotel called me back to make sure it was all taken care of. Wow! I was impressed with that. We'll definately try another Stoney Creek in the future. We've already told many others about it.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KanawhaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    81
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
84
65
9
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Very nice hotel with personality. It is set up like a hunting and fishing lodge. Log cabin style. Food is nearby. The hotel bar is great and continental breakfast is provided. The workout room is the only problem. It is a janitor's closet with two treadmills and an universal machine. The Pool area is great. All around a good hotel.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Workout room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpressPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Stoney Creek over the 4th of July. We were in Wisconsin for a wedding reception. 2 night stay. We had an average room on the main floor. LOTS of Northwoods decor. Not much for scenery out the room window. The bed was comfy and big. Nice bathroom with some amenities. Front desk customer service was good. Just make sure that if you booked through hotels.com or expedia that you relay that to them before the transaction, otherwise you will be double charged on your card like we were. We did not check out the pool area. They do serve continental breakfast. It's a pretty nice spread.

All in all it was a nice stay and I would recommend this place to a friend.

If you are not into the "Northwoods" feel, or staying longer then a few days, I would recommend staying at The Lodge at Cedar Creek. It is across the street. Especially for families with kids. They have a nice restaurant in the Lodge as well.

  • Liked — Easy access to Highway
  • Disliked — Not much for views
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiller376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Friends recommended I stay here, it was very nice, great value.

  • Liked — Value!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GandT-n-WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

This place is a typical small town joint. The rooms are very small, and the beds are only doubles. The decor is kind of northwoods tacky. The pool area is a nice, warm place to spend a chilly Wisconsin afternoon, our kids enjoyed it! Continental breakfast is quite decent. The price we payed was not a deal, by any stretch, but then again, there isn't a whole lot of competition in the area, so that would explain the lack of competitive pricing. If you need to stay in the Wausa area and have young kids who enjoy the pool, this is an acceptable choice. There's simply nothing unique or special about the place.

  • Liked — Pool area
  • Disliked — small rooms and beds
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hinkgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2007

We stayed at the Stoney Creek Inn for two nights for a wedding on November 2nd and November 3rd, 2007. Our stay was for a wedding held nearby and a reception held right at the Stoney Creek Inn. Website offered rooms at a great price, only $66.00/night when you stay Friday and Saturday which is what we booked. We checked out this hotel prior to staying here to see what the reception hall looked like. Staff was very unpleasant almost to the point of being rude. Upon chek-in on the 2nd, we were given our room key without many problems.

We booked a room with two double beds and thought the decor was adorable. Each bed has a thick fleece blanket on it and a cute teddy bear available for purchase at the lobby. The theme of the room and the rest of the hotel was like a cabin-feel right in the city. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was great. The ammenities in the room and bathroom were also great. Each room has it's own coffee maker and they even have free hot chocolate packages in each room. Our room was a deluxe room which included a mini fridge which came in extra handy. The bathroom included eye makeup remover pads, lotion, etc.

The breakfast room was cute too, again, with the log-home feel to it. Coffee is on 24-7, as is tea packets and as much hot chocolate as you'd like! Continental breakfast was good with fruit, donuts, muffins, cereals, waffles, etc.

There is no restaurant on site but right around the complex is a Culver's, Denny's, Green Mill Restaurant with plenty of food options to choose from.

The reception hall was very large and unique but could probably use some updating. There are mini Christmas trees lit up all around the hall, a moveable dance floor and lots of tables to accomodate a large wedding. It seems they took care of this wedding pretty good, although I couldn't swear on it.

There is also a pool and hot tub that you could use and my family staying for the wedding took advantage of it. It was a nice place to sit and visit and everyone seemed pleased with this area.

Stoney Creek Inn also provided a free room for gift opening the next morning which was just a small, average room with the big flourescent lights on the ceilings. Since the place doesn't have a restaurant on site, all food had to be brought in or catered.

Some of my family stayed in one of the themed suites with an adjoining room attached. This area was very large and neat. It had a fireplace, a nice couch and chair, coffee table, little bar area, it may have had a sink, cute bathroom, lots of windows and a nice gigantic bed. The attached room was just a regular room with two double beds but since there is a door joining the too, it provided extra space and alot of people spent their time in these rooms, drinking and visiting. I would recommend the suite if you are one that likes a bigger room and the price wasn't that outrageous either.

I would probably not stay here again, as I don't live around the area but would recommend it to anyone having a reception at the Stoney Creek Inn or anyone visiting in the area. There are no pets allowed here but I think the Holiday Inn across the street allows pets so you may want to factor that in as well.

Stoney Creek Inn is basically your average hotel but with very lodgey decor which makes it more enjoyable. Hopefully, if we ever did stay again, staff would be more friendly to guests.

  • Liked — The decor was unique and adorable
  • Disliked — Staff at front desk not very polite
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Excellent value with very nice rooms and recently remodeled rooms, kind staff, wonderful breakfast, loved the swimming pool, definitely would return to this or any other Stoney Creek Inn

  • Liked — Plenty of room, clean, great service
  • Disliked — Wisconsin
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank svandenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau

Property: Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Address: 1100 Imperial Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474-7956 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Wausau)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center is a family and business friendly hotel located just outside of Wausau, WI in the cozy neighborhood of Rothschild. The hotel is located near the Granite Peak Ski Area and has a reputation as one of Wausau’s best hotels. The hotel offers everything that you need for a pleasant stay, including cozy rooms, free breakfast, and Internet access. Our hotel is a unique destination with a "Northwoods" themed decor that is suited for business and pleasure alike. Bring your family along to enjoy our indoor Wilderness Park swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Wausau Hotel Rothschild
Stoney Creek Hotel Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing