We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Caledonia, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful, room was very clean, bed was comfortable and northwoods decor made the entire place feel cozy. Pool and spa were very enjoyable. Overall a great place to stay. Room rate was very reasonable for the quality of the facility.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    81
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
84
65
9
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montello, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We came to Wausau for a wedding, checked in early without any problems, enjoyed the decor ...with that "up nort" feeling and design. Some other friends had to stay at the Econo Lodge down the road and we had the chance to see their room .....(it was plain and had no charm) compared to our room. Dummy us forgot our toothpaste but the front desk took care of us. Many thanks to Mary and the staff for their hospitality

The continental breakfast was OK. The total price was less than $100 and worth the cash.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a blast! We came for a wedding, just beautiful! ! Thank you so much and a special thanks to Tracey!! We had to check out a little late because we were swimming in the pool and hanging out in the awesome hottub! Thanks again for a wounderful stay and we look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menominee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

May checked me on last night. She was excellent. Everyone knows you by name and treats you like family. I feel like I am at home here. I stay here a lot. I changed my business cycle so I could stay here more. They are so much better than any other hotel in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wautoma, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived a bit early - at 11:15- on Saturday, 3/9/13, but were able to check in. They were very helpful & quick getting our group of 7 all checked in. We were hoping to grab lunch somewhere before going to the day long Blues Café event, which we were able to do. We got upgraded to a suite with a fridge & microwave as they ran out of standard rooms. No complaints about that!! The room was very clean & their woodsy décor is exceptional. The beds are comfy enough but not as plush as places we usually stay. The sink & tub/shower are all in the bathroom & we prefer them separate whenever possible. The room was dark enough for sleeping & quiet except when some people arrived after bars closed. But they quieted down quickly. Love their green tea shampoo & lotion. The breakfast room is small & there were lots of kids - as they do have a waterpark for the guests; but it's located on the other side of the mall area & you take a shuttle to it. They had plenty of breakfast choices including biscuits & gravy, hard boiled eggs, waffles etc. We usually stay here every year at this time for this event. Will continue to do so.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maralyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

In August we made our first trip to Wisconsin & we had the pleasure of staying at Stoney Creek. We were very impressed with the room. Mary at the front desk made sure we had a room with bunk beds for our kids (which they loved). Beautiful décor & friendly atmosphere. Will have to make another trip just to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clinton ill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Stoney Creek Inn on our way farther north. The room was very clean and the decor was awesome. Check in and check out was easy and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends. We will stay there again . If you are going to be in Wausau and need a room be sure to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
444 reviews
6.5 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau

Property: Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Address: 1100 Imperial Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474-7956 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Wausau)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center is a family and business friendly hotel located just outside of Wausau, WI in the cozy neighborhood of Rothschild. The hotel is located near the Granite Peak Ski Area and has a reputation as one of Wausau’s best hotels. The hotel offers everything that you need for a pleasant stay, including cozy rooms, free breakfast, and Internet access. Our hotel is a unique destination with a "Northwoods" themed decor that is suited for business and pleasure alike. Bring your family along to enjoy our indoor Wilderness Park swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Wausau Hotel Rothschild
Stoney Creek Hotel Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing