We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Family Value”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The value that you receive for your money is what makes this hotel an excellent choice for any family vacation in Wausau. Our room was clean and inviting. While the linens were not fancy the bed was comfortable and we slept well. (A full day of skiing helped) We had a room with bunk beds and a king size bed, it was a great choice for us, our nephews appreciated their own space. The pool is great for kids, with a sauna and a whirlpool for the adults to enjoy. The breakfast is typical of many hotels at this price point with make your own waffles and other similar fare. We did have an issue at check in but it was well handled by the young lady at the front desk and our vacation didn’t suffer at all. This a good deal in a nice location, close to a movie theater and a couple of restaurants. We will consider this hotel again for our next visit to Wausau

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hate2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    81
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
84
65
9
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We decided on an impromptu ski trip. While there were plenty of hotels, we decided on Stoney Creek. We are a family of 5, and our kids are big, so we need a little more than your standard room. We stayed in a room that had a king, bunk beds and a pull out. It was perfect. The pool was outstanding--clean, and nicely done in the Northwoods theme. In addition to the ample-sized pool, they had a sauna, whirlpool and fireplace. Breakfast was OK (wish there were better fruit choices), but no different from most places. Staff was quite friendly (cookies at check in), and everything was very clean.
If you're looking for a refreshing change to the standard hotel for your family, I'd highly recommend Stoney Creek.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattybea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our organization plans a conference once a year in different parts of the state. In 2013 we chose Stoney Creek Inn - Rothschild as our location. The meeting rooms were perfect and the guest rooms were so comfortable. The staff is top notch and I felt like I was royalty the way they make you feel. They checked on us constantly to see if we needed anything or if anything needed to be changed. Our group was about 120 for the week and if we didn't have to change locations, we would be coming back more often. They were great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed a couple nights in one of the theme suites and found the room to be quite comfortable and quaint. The pool area is very nice and the lobby is nice to just sit around and talk.

Only real complaint was the lack of breakfast options. would have preferred to be a better food choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relative_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family had a small gathering at Stoney Creek Inn and it was fantastic. The staff was friendly and the rooms were beautiful. We had all ages staying from 3-70+ years old and they all had a great time. We will be back! Always a good time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wind Lake, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed one night in conjunction with the Blues Cafe going at the nearby Pavillion. Comfy room, clean and nice decore. Lovely whirlpool/pool area. Complimentary breakfast with something to please everybody. Our room wasn't quite ready though we arrived early though the friendly staff was quickly able to find a room that was ready and better yet, on the first floor. We'd definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myranee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent three nights at the Stoney Creek Inn and at best the experience was extremely mediocre. The rooms decor is fairly tired and not super clean. The breakfast had a lot of mediocre options--my recommendation would to be to focus on the quality and have less choices. Lots of choices and poor quality actually makes no one happy. If you stay here on a weekend then you will have to face the crowds in the breakfast room and all the tables are full so there is no where to sit. In general, the front desk staff seemed disorganized and needed more training for their basic job and in hospitality---they are too busy trying to figure out bills and tasks to greet guests as they came in. The pool was in disrepair--some of the features were shut off because they were broken such as the waterfall and small pool. The chlorine was so strong our eyes burned just being in the vicinity of the pool area. Housekeeping generally did a very poor job--left dirty towels in our room and the kicker for me was the note that appeared on my daughter's bunk bed claiming they couldn't make the bed because we left personal items on it--a couple of small stuffed animals-seriously? Can you believe they even have a standardized note that is already made up to say such a thing? I prefer double sheets which they don't have here either. Overall the experience was disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theworldismyoyster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are so sorry to learn of your mediocre at best recent experience. On behalf of our entire team, please accept our apologies. We will share your comments with our entire staff and take immediate steps to rectify those things that are under our control. I apologize for the poor judgment our housekeeping staff exercised with respect to not refreshing your bed. We do have a policy in place for the security of your belongings in respect to personal belongings left on beds, but housekeeping used poor decision making if in fact it was just a ‘couple of small stuffed animals.” Again, our humble apologies and thank you for sharing your commentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau

Property: Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Address: 1100 Imperial Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474-7956 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Wausau)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center is a family and business friendly hotel located just outside of Wausau, WI in the cozy neighborhood of Rothschild. The hotel is located near the Granite Peak Ski Area and has a reputation as one of Wausau’s best hotels. The hotel offers everything that you need for a pleasant stay, including cozy rooms, free breakfast, and Internet access. Our hotel is a unique destination with a "Northwoods" themed decor that is suited for business and pleasure alike. Bring your family along to enjoy our indoor Wilderness Park swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Wausau Hotel Rothschild
Stoney Creek Hotel Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing