We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for family!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family had a small gathering at Stoney Creek Inn and it was fantastic. The staff was friendly and the rooms were beautiful. We had all ages staying from 3-70+ years old and they all had a great time. We will be back! Always a good time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    81
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
84
65
9
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wind Lake, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed one night in conjunction with the Blues Cafe going at the nearby Pavillion. Comfy room, clean and nice decore. Lovely whirlpool/pool area. Complimentary breakfast with something to please everybody. Our room wasn't quite ready though we arrived early though the friendly staff was quickly able to find a room that was ready and better yet, on the first floor. We'd definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myranee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent three nights at the Stoney Creek Inn and at best the experience was extremely mediocre. The rooms decor is fairly tired and not super clean. The breakfast had a lot of mediocre options--my recommendation would to be to focus on the quality and have less choices. Lots of choices and poor quality actually makes no one happy. If you stay here on a weekend then you will have to face the crowds in the breakfast room and all the tables are full so there is no where to sit. In general, the front desk staff seemed disorganized and needed more training for their basic job and in hospitality---they are too busy trying to figure out bills and tasks to greet guests as they came in. The pool was in disrepair--some of the features were shut off because they were broken such as the waterfall and small pool. The chlorine was so strong our eyes burned just being in the vicinity of the pool area. Housekeeping generally did a very poor job--left dirty towels in our room and the kicker for me was the note that appeared on my daughter's bunk bed claiming they couldn't make the bed because we left personal items on it--a couple of small stuffed animals-seriously? Can you believe they even have a standardized note that is already made up to say such a thing? I prefer double sheets which they don't have here either. Overall the experience was disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theworldismyoyster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are so sorry to learn of your mediocre at best recent experience. On behalf of our entire team, please accept our apologies. We will share your comments with our entire staff and take immediate steps to rectify those things that are under our control. I apologize for the poor judgment our housekeeping staff exercised with respect to not refreshing your bed. We do have a policy in place for the security of your belongings in respect to personal belongings left on beds, but housekeeping used poor decision making if in fact it was just a ‘couple of small stuffed animals.” Again, our humble apologies and thank you for sharing your commentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here again for second ski trip too Granite Peak(7 min. away). I cant say enough about the value you receive when you book Stoney Creek Inn. For the price you pay(between $70.00 & 80.00), service you receive, to the quality and cleanliness of the rooms, you think your at a luxury property. The north woods feel is all through out. The pool, hot tub and dry sauna are huge.. theres a TV and fireplace in there too, no problems bring in a cooler of beer. The breakfast value alone is worth the stay, we are talking a different kind of hot breakfast everyday.. First day was cheese omelette's & sausage, second day scrambled eggs & sausage, third day biscuits and gravy, plus all the rest of the items! Coffee, tea, milk, orange juice, apple juice, cranberry juice, oatmeals, yogurts, muffins, cereals, bagels, English muffins, toast, French toast, toaster waffles or real waffles if you make your own.. I mean the money you save.. And a absolute must to fuel up before hitting the slops. We also came in late one night after everything in town was closed and they gladly cooked us up a pizza that they serve at their bar. I highly recommend this property. Good luck to all.

Room Tip: Stoney Creek Inn has a sister property down the road with a indoor water park (Grand Lodge Water par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed one night. The room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were very soft. The staff were also very friendly. It is a good location and is right near the highway. I didn't have any noise problem. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is our second time at this hotel, and definitely will not be our last. The reservations staff was extremely helpful in the week leading up to our trip. The hotel was very accommodating about putting our group of 6 rooms close together. The decor and theme at the hotel is just so "northwoods Wisconsin". Pool area lovely, good breakfast, and dog friendly too!

Room Tip: Try the expanded bunk bed rooms, or the fireplace suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tannerabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The room was cozy but the heating/cooling was very hard to manage. It was 10 degrees outside but like 90 degrees in our room. It was hard to gauge the temperature settings because there was no thermometer and you just had to adjust the temperature settings on your own. The bed was worst than what I remember from our first stay. We had a king bed and it seemed like a water bed where we could feel each other's movements a lot. I think the first stay we had two full beds and that's probably why I was able to sleep better. Definitely not individual bed coils! The continental breakfast was like a zoo with all the people not that much selection and no meats (sausage/bacon) so it was just ok. Needless to say the staff was busy trying to keep up with demand but they did a decent job. My sister got the corner suite and her room was very nice and spacious. The pool had so much chlorine that my eyes were stinging with dryness but it was a nice pool, just probably had to be cleaned. I liked that I was able to take our dog for an extra fee. Overall a a nice stay. This is our second stay here so I definitely will come back next time we want to ski Granite Peak again since it's so close.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank depazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
444 reviews
6.5 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau

Property: Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Address: 1100 Imperial Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474-7956 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Wausau)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center is a family and business friendly hotel located just outside of Wausau, WI in the cozy neighborhood of Rothschild. The hotel is located near the Granite Peak Ski Area and has a reputation as one of Wausau’s best hotels. The hotel offers everything that you need for a pleasant stay, including cozy rooms, free breakfast, and Internet access. Our hotel is a unique destination with a "Northwoods" themed decor that is suited for business and pleasure alike. Bring your family along to enjoy our indoor Wilderness Park swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Wausau Hotel Rothschild
Stoney Creek Hotel Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing