We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay..wrong time. Busy Presidents Day weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
IL
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good stay..wrong time. Busy Presidents Day weekend!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The room was cozy but the heating/cooling was very hard to manage. It was 10 degrees outside but like 90 degrees in our room. It was hard to gauge the temperature settings because there was no thermometer and you just had to adjust the temperature settings on your own. The bed was worst than what I remember from our first stay. We had a king bed and it seemed like a water bed where we could feel each other's movements a lot. I think the first stay we had two full beds and that's probably why I was able to sleep better. Definitely not individual bed coils! The continental breakfast was like a zoo with all the people not that much selection and no meats (sausage/bacon) so it was just ok. Needless to say the staff was busy trying to keep up with demand but they did a decent job. My sister got the corner suite and her room was very nice and spacious. The pool had so much chlorine that my eyes were stinging with dryness but it was a nice pool, just probably had to be cleaned. I liked that I was able to take our dog for an extra fee. Overall a a nice stay. This is our second stay here so I definitely will come back next time we want to ski Granite Peak again since it's so close.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank depazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    81
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
84
65
9
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I am staying here for Presidents' Day weekend for a ski trip at Granite Peak. From the website looks like a cute hotel. But this place is much smaller than it looks and cannot accommodate a full hotel. I have stayed at many lower price hotels all over the country and this is amongst the worst service and conditions I have seen.

The lobby is so small that there is almost nowhere to stand if a few people are there. After a day of skiing we had to make our way through a crowded group standing around just to find the elevator.

The heaters in the room are equally as bad. The room constantly goes from too hot to too cold.

And then there was breakfast. When I travel with children this is usually the highlight of their trip but not here. The set up was so bad that it was impossible to service a full hotel. No back up for coffee so when it ran out you had to track someone down to make more which then required the machines to re heat and states over and ultimately lead to blowing a fuse. Next the juice machine ran out. Syrup was usually nowhere to be found and the employees kept saying "I just put some out". They do not have the typical "make your own waffles" that have become standard in the hotel industry. The have "eggo" waffels but kept running out and had to constantly bring more to the angry crowds. While the employees seemed to try their best, it frankly was not good enough. They were clearly not happy dealing with the angry customers and did not know how to handle the rush (needed to just bring everything out and stay out with the people to serve better).

When I politely complained to the front desk, the woman (not a manager because there was none in) raised her voice and yelled at me in response. Not exactly customer service. I would rather they gave me a monetary refund so I could go eat at Denny's across the street!

While I am sure this hotel is fine on an off day when they are not full, I would no way stay here again. There are many other options in the area so unless you have no other choice, don't stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I continue to keep coming back to this place, as the staff is very accommodating, and in-tune with business travelers' needs. My work is such that this place is essentially home-away-from-home.

Stoney Creek is clean, and quiet. Parents keep their kids "in check" and contain them from running wild and out-of-control, up-and-down the halls like at so many other places. Many of us corporate and business types keep long hours, and we need that peace of mind of coming back to a safe, and quiet place when bedding down at night. Wireless connectivity is rock solid with excellent signal, with their WiFi-N at 54Mbps. The gas fireplace in the main lobby is a very nice place to warm up to, given the bitter cold this past week.

I had a compelling need to include this review, as now going into two years, this place simply is consistent and a comfortable joy to come back to, not that it was some flash-in-the-pan or just a first impression from one of my previous reviews.

Yes, ample towels, carpeting that is clean... no toenail clippings as the place up the road, from where I used to stay a couple of years ago. Shower curtains clean. Ample-sized soap bars. Windows that slide, and don't stick.

Room Tip: From the automatic, sliding door up front, when your hands are full, to the front-desk staff, that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I found this hotel online. Every now and again I get sick of staying in the same HI express.Thinking by rate (Quoted 119.00 a night) for a king room that i was probably getting a nice room given the area. I made the reservation. When I arrived at the hotel I was promptly attended and handed the key to my room. When i entered my room i looked everywhere for the fireplace that i understaood was in my room. I called the front desk. They offered to switch me to the fireplace room for 35.00 a night more until I requested a a check out. The employee did accomodate me. She didnt let me walk , but put me in the fireplace room that I thought I was getting in the first place at the same rate. Too bad i took her up. The room is next to the elevator shaft. That is what i hear every ten minutes. They advertise coffee 24 hours a day, and i cant find it except for between 6-9. The rooms. Well they are fastly become outdated. I found two oreo cookies jammed in my cushions of my easy chair, and a pubic from a sasquatch in the standing shower. The rooms are not neccesarily dirty, and not really run down however overall. But they are truly nowhere near the rate value that they are charging. I will stay at a newer property in the area next time, with a better scene, and more modern amneties for less money.

Room Tip: Request to not stay in any room bordering the elevator shaft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear William B,
Our General Manager asked that I pass along these comments along with our sincere thanks and apology.
“Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel and I am disappointed that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. I have passed your comments along to our Executive Housekeeper and she is looking into the matter to make sure this is not overlooked in the future. Thank you for your business and please know that this is not typical of our hotel. I appreciate feedback from all of our guests as it helps to know what we need to focus on to make all of our future guest stays wonderful. We are continually working to keep our hotel up to date and accessible for all of our guests and your comments are appreciated.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Although check-in got off to a rocky start on this trip due to a staff member claiming to not find our company's negotiated rate and an attitude that was more than pushy (absolutely not typical of staff at this hotel) (but I was pretty tired after a very long day so I'll take some responsibility for being easily ruffled) I was happy to fall into the usual welcoming, clean and highly comfortable room one finds at this location.
And the very kind and efficient manager I met the next morning who righted the rate situation and got my morning off to a great start got everything back on track.
At every other stay at this property the staff has been wonderful and beyond accommodating. I know that it's a great place for family fun and the decor makes it very woodsy and welcoming but it's also nice to look forward to for a great night's sleep while traveling for business. We road warriors need our carrots, too!

Room Tip: The only noisy rooms I've found have been on the first floor near the front desk and elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntiePeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Stoney Creek Inn before leaving on an early morning bus shopping trip. Our bus was leaving before the breakfast room was scheduled to be open. Paul made sure we had breakfast and coffee before we left for our bus. Awesome experience! The facilities was great. The staff was courteous and very accommodating. They made us feel welcome. Loved the decor of the entire facility. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have stayed at this property several times and have been pleased each time. Staff is friendly and helpful. The entire hotel is kept very clean! The pool area is nice and welcoming. The hot tub is not kept scorching so the kids were able to be in there too (with supervision!). The decor is very nice and we were able to get some really nice family pictures just in the lobby! The "continental breakfast" was way beyond expectations! Biscuits and gravy one day and eggs and sausage then next plus ceral, muffins, oatmeal, toast, juice, and coffee.

Room Tip: The double is a little small for a family of 5. First floor rooms seem to be a little smaller. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
444 reviews
6.5 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau

Property: Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Address: 1100 Imperial Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474-7956 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Wausau)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center is a family and business friendly hotel located just outside of Wausau, WI in the cozy neighborhood of Rothschild. The hotel is located near the Granite Peak Ski Area and has a reputation as one of Wausau’s best hotels. The hotel offers everything that you need for a pleasant stay, including cozy rooms, free breakfast, and Internet access. Our hotel is a unique destination with a "Northwoods" themed decor that is suited for business and pleasure alike. Bring your family along to enjoy our indoor Wilderness Park swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Wausau Hotel Rothschild
Stoney Creek Hotel Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing