We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied with the stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We will definitely stay at Stoney Creek again if we are in the wausau area. Very helpful staff, excellent rates, and the breakfast was wonderful. I give them 5 stars, very happy with our stay! I'm glad we didn't stay across the street for 30 dollars more a night!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckymeyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 263 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

Rooms were quiet, well maintained and clean. Staff was pleasant and friendly. Rates were exceptional. Mattress was very comfortable. Heating/cooling unit was sufficiently quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiberguru_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I just spent 4 nights at this hotel. My brother lives near here and my parents and I went to visit. My brother gets a discount because his company uses this hotel for their work a lot so the price was fabulous! However, even if he didn't get the discount, the pricing is very good for what you get.

We stayed in a room with two double beds. On two different nights we had one of my young nieces stay with us in the room and it wasn't a problem. We also had a group of about 8 people there in the breakfast room one evening for pizza and then swimming.

My only complaints would be about the swimming area being too hot and that they don't switch up the breakfasts at all. They had the same thing all 4 mornings we were there. They were good but nothing special.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tip03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcernFixer, Director of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2011

Dear Tip,
Thanks so much for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor. We are most appreciative of your kind words and that you made the effort to share. I am very happy to tell you that we will soon be implementing a new improved breakfast selection that changes up the daily hot offerings and is designed to improve the experience of guests such as yourself who stay more than a day or two. We will share our comments regarding our pool area with maintenance and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to your brother.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I have stayed here several times myself and I hold an annual conference in March of every year. The results are the same and that is why we keep coming back. Rooms and clean and kept updated. Staff is helpful, friendly and courteous. The Northwoods atmosphere is unique and relaxing. I have been using this for 7 years running for our conference. Our conference attendees are always happy. It has a clean, well maintained pool area as well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Daigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Very nice place, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, reasonable price of $71 + taxes, which included 1 week parking and shuttle service to and from CWA. Nice to spend some time walking around the mall. Beautiful furnishings, clean, and efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Jo-Ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Loved the feel of Stoney Creek Inn, It has that rustic look while still providing the amenities needed for business.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillBraskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcernFixer, Director of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thanks, Billbraskie, for submitting a review of our property. We love business and leisure travelers equally and are glad you felt the way you did and took the time to share. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

It was a very good hotel. It seem clean and the staff was very friendly. We had no real issues. It was quiet and comfortable.
Now I will nit-pick on why it can't get 5 stars in my book:
We got a good discounted rate but I think I would have felt oversold if I would have paid the regular asking price.
The shower needs updating. The showerhead was very weak.
The location is right by some sort of power plant; it takes away from the feel of the Wisconsin vacation.... but most of the hotels are bunched together here so you probably can't avoid that easily.
Breakfast was not very good. The eggs were inedible.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolnatkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau

Address: 1100 Imperial Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474-7956 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Wausau)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range: $97 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center is a family and business friendly hotel located just outside of Wausau, WI in the cozy neighborhood of Rothschild. The hotel is located near the Granite Peak Ski Area and has a reputation as one of Wausau’s best hotels. The hotel offers everything that you need for a pleasant stay, including cozy rooms, free breakfast, and Internet access. Our hotel is a unique destination with a "Northwoods" themed decor that is suited for business and pleasure alike. Bring your family along to enjoy our indoor Wilderness Park swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Wausau Hotel Rothschild
Stoney Creek Hotel Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing