We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
“Extremely Dissapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

We purchased a Groupon for this location because of the great reviews about the Grande Lodge. We decided why not have a little vacation with the family. We checked in about 6PM on Friday 2/11. It wasn't listed anywhere on the Groupon site that we needed to provided another documentation of the confirmation, even though the code was listed on the reservation. So because this wasn't noted upfront, we asked for the hotel manager to inquire about this policy. The manager was a pompus arrogant,rude non-friendly, smart-mouth little man, who quickly walked pass us without ever greeting us and shouted as he was walking way "those are hotel policies". He was so quick that all we saw was the back of his head. This was the worst customer server we had ever experienced checking in and we both travel often. It is no wonder why this hotel isn't listed as a star hotel due to it's lack of customer service. The room was very sorry looking, cheap, the bathroom size was a joke. You literally had to stand in the shower in order to shut the door. You could hear every one walking and talking outside your door, funny thing is we were placed right next to the elevators, so imagine the noise of screaming kids at around 1 AM. There was no room services and the kitchens closed at 8PM, yet the bar stayed open later. It's amazing how much they were charging for the mediocre room we were staying in, I'm just glad we visited this sorry place for what we had to pay. Definitely will NOT recommend this place to friends or family, I would not want them to waste their time or money here, there are way too many nicer places in Wisconsin that they could room with than this place. It was a shame, we had very high hopes for this place. If I could give this hotel a zero rating I would.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karnishkah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcernFixer, Director of Corporate Support Services at Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2011
On behalf of every member of our management and staff, I can say without hesitation, that we join you in being extremely disappointed with the outcome of your experience. I sincerely and humbly apologize for your obvious disappointment. We have already taken steps to discuss with the entire staff all of the areas of concern that you expressed and I assure you that we will make every effort humanly possible to insure that a similar experience will not take place for any future visitor. I also want to thank you very much for sharing your concerns and thank you as well for your opening comment regarding “the great reviews about the Grand Lodge.” We take both the positive and the negative about our people and our facility very seriously and regularly monitor as many aspects as we can while seeking ways to improve. Again, thank you and our sincerest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    74
    28
    9
    9
See reviews for
182
14
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

The hotel is beautiful and very clean. The room was awesome and so much more than we expected. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Chris checked us in and it was one of the fastest and smoothest check in I have had. The water park was great. Lots of tables and something for everyone. The hot tub age limits ( had to be 14 or older ) was okay with me and my 9 year old ... After all adults need their space too. No noise in the halls as others had mentioned. Will be going back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThorsMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcernFixer, Director of Corporate Support Servces at Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2011
What better place for ‘Happy Campers’ to have a memorable experience than a family friendly Lodge themed hotel with a 50,000 square foot water park. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and anxiously await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

We booked a two night stay at this hotel after viewing the water park online. We wanted to have fun as a family (it looked as if the water park had a lot for young children), but it was actually the opposite. After having been to several indoor water parks as a family, we can honestly say that this one was fair at best. Only one small area for kids to swim in, and get this - children under 14 ARE NOT ALLOWED IN THE HOT TUB - at all! Even with an adult. I have never seen a hotel do this. Overall, very poor. The staff in the water park - very unprofessional. The life guards looked to be high school students, and most seemed to care very little about their job. Fifteen minutes before the close of the park on our last night there, they were running around, laughing, and throwing tubes into the water (while guests were still using the pools)! I'm guessing they just wanted to hurry everyone out of the park so they could get home. Again, very unprofessional.

Also, as we found out, this hotel does NOT have a separate pool / hot tub area (like some with water parks do). So, if the water park is closed for some reason, THERE IS NO POOL.

To top off our stay, our son had left a small toy behind in the room. We have given up now after attempting three phone calls and two emails to the hotel - no one will return our call or email. Even if the toy was not found in the room, have the courtesy to return a customer's calls / emails.

I know we will be returning to the Wausau area to stay in the future - and I also know we won't be returning to the Grand Lodge by Stoney Creek - ever.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNASHLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Great hotel, got a good rate for the type of hotel with the water park. We really enjoyed our stay here, the water park was great, rooms were clean...it was a nice getaway for our family. However, you would think the money you spend here would guarantee good or great customer service to keep you coming back. Service was okay during our stay....but after we left...forget about it! We left some items in our room (nothing of great value), and it was like pulling teeth to get it back...and still don't have it. We left these items there on a Sunday evening, I called and left a message with the house keeping manager. (obviously she is not there on a Sunday), No call back on Monday or Tuesday, so I call them. She is still not there and a staff member tells me the manager is out until Thursday. I ask if anyone can at least look for what I had left. No one could help. The person I called on Tuesday said the person covering for the manager would call me on Wednesday. Again...no call on Wednesday or Thursday..so I call again. The manager is now out on vacation until Friday...but I was assured she would call me back on Friday. They were also able to check on my items which were indeed there. Then the man tells me, they can send my items....but I have to pay shipping....really? After all I spent at your hotel??? Really??? Anyway...I know I left it there...my fault. So Friday comes and goes...no call! We'll see what next week brings! I work at a hospital...and we do everything we can to keep people coming back, even if it is spending a few extra dollars to ship our patients something they forgot. This is a great facility, to bad the poor customer service taints it's image.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Linden, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Our family usually stays at The Tundra, but no rooms were available for our weekend off, so we made the decision to stay at the Grand Lodge and boy were we pleasantly surprised! This place is 100 TIMES NICER THAN The Tundra. The room was super clean, large and had every amenity needed for a busy family. The water park was the perfect size too. It never felt over crowded and there were many more things for the younger kids. The best part about the Lodge - their room RATE WAS 3 TIMES CHEAPER than The Tundra. What we paid for one night at The Tundra got us three nights at this awesome place! Plus during the weekdays - there’s a free continental breakfast! My family and I will definitely be returning for another fun stay. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

We were on our way home from a disappointing vacation and by chance happened to stop by this place just to see how much it would be to stay. I went in and it was so beautiful that I thought for sure I would be walking back out. Surprisingly, it was very affordable.... We went to our room and it was fantastic... the rooms were very large and the bed was incredible. The decor was fabulous. We went down to the water park area and it was much bigger than I had anticipated. The breakfast buffet was very elegant and well worth the price. Another thing I noticed is that I did not hear anyone running or talking out in the hallway. It was very quiet... We had such a great time and plan to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinawetzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

We travelled here the week of Spring Break...so I expected it to be packed and overrun with kids. It was certainly busy, but we never felt overwhelmed by the crowds. The staff here is very young, and needs some lessons in customer service. Our room was not available at check in time as they "were still cleaning them"...at 4PM? Cleaning carts littered the hallways until after 5PM. Staff was essentially dour, not too many smiles, and just seemed to lack any interest in doing anything more than the minimum. Some of the basics just weren't looked after....cafe tables not cleaned, napkins not stocked, cups/glasses not cleaned off tables. We had a snack in the snack area, and staff was present folding towels and complaining about the hours they had to work.

Rooms are very nice, bathrooms quite small and if you have kids running around in the room above you (as we did at 5AM) you'll be awake.

Take some lessons, folks...Time to lean, time to clean. Keep your complaints to the back of the house.

Overall, an OK property, a nice waterpark, but the staff needs work.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 10 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
6.7 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort

Property: Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
Address: 805 Creske Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort is a hotel located just outside of downtown Wausau, WI in the cozy neighborhood of Rothschild. The hotel is located near the Granite Peak Ski Area and has a reputation as one of Wausau's best hotels. The hotel offers everything that you need for a pleasant stay, including cozy rooms,food service, and Internet access. Our hotel is a unique destination with a "Northwoods" themed decor that is suited for business and pleasure alike. The Grand Lodge is home to one of Wisconsin's most exciting waterparks - Logger's Landing. This 50,000 square foot fun zone is full of excitement and adventure for the entire family. The Grand Lodge is one of the area's premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge By Stoney Creek Hotel Rothschild
Hotel At Cedar Creek
Lodge At Cedar Creek
At Cedar Creek Rothschild

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing