We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
waukesha, wi
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed here over a weekend. The hotel is a popular place. There seemed to be multiple groups staying over saturday night. However, we found our room to be very quiet. Our room did have a common wall with the pool. I would suggest asking for an outside room as we had quite a chlorine smell in our room and we could hear noise from the pool when it was open. Otherwise, everything was clean, the included breakfast was good and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — room was quiet, clean, breakfast was good
  • Disliked — room on pool side had strong chlorine smell
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suechucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    52
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
39
26
7
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TobahTobah
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Management is nonexistent. Restaurant workers and desk workers could care less. They are rude, and untrained. Heaven forbid you have a problem with something crucial in your room. They will "call someone in from home" who never shows up.

I am writing this in the heat of August, with no AC in the room, having called the front desk about it several hours ago. They said they would call the maintenance person in to fix it but when I call them they say he has not returned the call.

Lousy hotel.

Don't do it.

  • Liked — Nothing, Nada, Zero
  • Disliked — Lack of response by staff to issues
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TobahTobah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2008

I was in the Wausau area for two weeks for work and was put up in this hotel. It is excellent for an extended stay as the room had a dorm size fridge (not your typical microfridge in most hotels) complete with a small freezer. It also had a small sink in which I could do dishes, cupboard space to store food and a microwave. The room was large with two queen beds, large bathroom and large sliding door closet. I took advantage of the continental breakfast only a couple of times as my job required me to be there at 4am, and breakfast starts at 6. The days I did eat at the hotel, there was a variety of cereals, bagels, muffins, bread, different spreads and juices. I would definately stay there again should I ever be in Wausau again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KaiGywer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springstead, WI
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We stayed at this Holiday Inn the nite b4 we flew from Mosinee to Hawaii. We booked it with points, and for 10,000 points it is a great stay. The room was starting to show its' age,the little fridge was in bad shape, and the room could have used a good dusting and vaccuum job. We left early at 5:45am, and the coffee/continental breakfast was already set up, which was great and not many Holiday Inns do this little extras.
The Hotel is still good, staff pleasant, amenities great.
The Green Mill Restaurant used to be the best of the best for these; unfortunately, that is not staying the same. The restaurant is way behind in the no smoking eating atmostphere-you have to walk through the bar/smoking area to get to the no smoking area and the ventilation is awful. The bar was not full, with only a few people sitting at the bar, so I would hate to be eating there with a full bar. It is too bad as the food used to be the best-for a Holiday Inn- and the smoke makes it for a bad atmostphere and can't enjoy the meal. Wausau has a complete no-smoking bad for eating establishments, and is worth the 10 minute drive to 2510 Restaurant or the other great restaurants in Wausau. The food is still good at the Green Mill, but the smoking atmosphere and lack of venting makes it for an unenjoyable meal.

  • Liked — used few Priority Club points to stay for one nite
  • Disliked — housekeeping and the smoke filled restaurant atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jaden6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Nice enough Holiday Inn but priced out of the area market when compared to other nice hotels in the area. Many other good choices that are a better value

  • Liked — Holiday Inn points
  • Disliked — OVERPRICED!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank glrbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2007

We have stayed a few times at the Holiday Inn when visiting family in the area. It is convenient to restaurants and right off the highway. The rooms are always clean and furnishings are comfortable. The pool area is basic but sufficient. The breakfast is a nice touch each morning with rolls, cereals, juice, bagels and coffee. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelagentmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

The staff was very friendly from check-in to check-out during our entire two-night stay. Nice pool area as well as a nice cont. breakfast. Hotel is about 5 minutes from Granite Peak The hotel was sold out, so it was alittle crazy at times. If you are expecting a Hyatt, you will be disappointed, but for most normal families this is a very nice place to stay.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
Thank PeterGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 6 in Rothschild
54 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Address: 1000 Imperial Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474-7957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau/Rothschild, WI features complimentary Continental breakfast, indoor pool, whirlpool, and a large fitness center. Conveniently located and highly visible off I-39/51 exit 185, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of Wausau/Rothschild, WI features the Green Mill restaurant and lounge. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau/Rothschild is located 5 miles from the CWA Airport and near many corporate locations such as Wausau Paper, Wausau Financial, Greenheck, Siemens, and Weston Power Plant. During your visit to the Wausau area enjoy some of the local attractions, Granite Peak Ski Area, Leigh Yawkee Art Museum, and the Grand Theater. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of Wausau/Rothschild, WI has full service meeting professionals to assist you in all details and set up of your meeting, conference, or banquet event. The hotel offers over 7000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Holiday Inn Rothschild
Rothschild Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing