We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“probably would not stay again”
Review of Motel 6 Rothschild

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Rothschild
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
fredericksburg va
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“probably would not stay again”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this location. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and the property itself looks great---much better than the usual Motel 6. However, my room, clearly labeled non-smoking, smelled like an armpit (yuk) and had some leftover hair on the toilet (double yuk). It was late and I was too tired to go through the hassle of switching rooms, so I just suffered through the smell. I'm guessing it was once a smoking room and was never properly cleaned. That's such a shame, given the great look of the location in general.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biff l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
5
4
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a 2 floor Motel 6 in a more Super 8/Days Inn type setting. They have an indoor pool. They have a hot tub. They have vending machines. The rooms are great. You get the same type of room that you would at a good Super 8 or Days Inn. Plus this is the only Motel 6 I've seen a double room for the same price as a typical Motel 6 room. This clearly was not a Motel 6 before, but for a Motel 6. Rooms were clean. Service was good. The place is near Denny's if you need to have an overnight snack. Bathroom and shower was amazing.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem pretty good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j1069fm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a fairly new Motel 6 and very nice. Good rates, clean, comfortable rooms, pool and free internet. We do not usually stay at Motel 6 but this is a really nice one! Also conveniently located to shopping and a variety of restaurants. Minutes from central Wisconsin airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thebirdguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Tried to book this hotel as part of a Granite Peak Ski promotion. At first the hotel receptionist said that the certificate was only for 2 people, then I read the statement on the certificate that said it was good for 4 people. Then she said I would have to speak to Brian but call back tomorrow as he was not in today.
So I specifically asked her if she could "save" a room for me and she said "we have a lot room" and that won't be necessary. So when I called back, I was told that the room had to be booked 7 days in advance and that they were now fully booked. When I asked her why she didn't save the room when I first inquired, she pointed out nonchalantly that I had first called 6.5 days in advance and not 7 days as required by that certificate. Needless to say, they were NOT at all interested in helping me.
Now instead of giving a nice updated review (I am not a fussy reviewer) I have to say USE CAUTION as they have very little empathy following through on any promotions they do. Makes you wonder what other corners they cut if they can't honor a certificate because I called in half a day late.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 007TravelDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rothschild hotels

Wild Rose, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

First the price wa $39.99 an add'l $15.00 for one other person. The faucet leaked in the bathroom, no shampoo, conditioner or lotion. The pillows were flat, the walls were dirty and marked up. I didn't notice until the next morning that the inside of my bedspread looked like someone wipped their butt into it. I was disgusted by it I got sick to my stomach, and wanted to take another shower. I told the front desk and they never offered anything except she said she would telling the cleaning person. If you looked out any of the windows there was dog poop. When we were leaving the back door, looked like someone got sick on the building. Even the couple we traveled with said that it had gone down hill, they thought it was noisy. I travel alot and have been in some pretty crappy hotels and this was on the bottom of the list.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WildRose_WIXyz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wi
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed at this property based on price and location. The property seemed well maintained, although certainly pretty basic. There was a nice indoor pool. The rooms again were nothing fancy but clean. Our only disappointment came from the included continental breakfast. The breakfast room was very sparse. There were few tables. The food/beverages offered also were very sparse. There was minimal cereal/donuts offered. There was packets of oatmeal but no hot water. The juice machine was not working so juice was offered in a pitcher that was not always refilled on a timely basis. Coffee was brewed elsewhere and refilled in carafes. We did not expect a full breakfast or anything fancy, but everyone staying at the hotel had the same impression. I did overhear the front desk telling someone that the property would be changing to a Motel 6, so maybe they were already transitioning. Needless to say, we only stayed one night of the 3 we were going to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toto1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2006

The staff here was excellent. Very friendly and accommodating. We wanted a whirlpool room. When we checked in, the nice lady at the front desk said she'd give us the one down the hall a bit, as it's "less noisy" than the one near the pool and entry door. I told her we'd like as quiet as possible. (I'm very noise sensitive).

The room was extremely clean and pretty nice. Not huge, but plenty adequate. I was pleasantly surprised to see our own microwave and refrigerator. The tub was a bit smaller than we would have preferred, but again, plenty big enough. The whirlpool was excellent.

While in the whirlpool which was quite loud when running, we could hear people trampling above us. Normally whenever I stay in a hotel, I request a floor with no one over me. Wanting a whirlpool room, I forgot about this. I also doubt there were whirlpool rooms upstairs anyway. The noise of people running, walking, whatever they were doing, continued throughout our long time in the whirlpool.

After that, we watched some TV and just tried to relax. Just what was going on in the room above us remains a mystery, but it sounded as if people, probably kids, were literally walking/running back and forth quite often. I was willing to tolerate this early in the evening, but as time wore on I was increasingly concerned about sleeping in this racket.

At 8:30 I phoned the front desk and asked if there was a curfew and told her what was going on. She was very polite and said she'd call them upstairs about the noise. This helped for awhile.

By 9:45, I had again endured much more noise from upstairs, so I called to see if we could move to an upstairs room. I spoke to the same person who again was extremely polite and tried to be accommodating, but told me they were quite full (this is a large ski area) and that curfew was 10pm, which at that time she would go up near their room to listen and if they were still noisy would kick them out!

Around 10 it was quite, but started again, but not as bad to around 10:30. By then, we were in bed with our earplugs in, and we didn't hear anything from the room upstairs but some doors slamming and hallway noise.

Overall, this is a nice hotel that is extremely clean and has a very friendly and nice staff, but if you like rural quite and/or are sensitive to noise like me, you might want to stay somewhere else. Next time, I will.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — noise
  • Tips/Secrets — if your ok with lots of living noise, it's a nice hotel
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peacefulstayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 6 in Rothschild
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
6.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
291 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Rothschild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Rothschild

Property: Motel 6 Rothschild
Address: 904 Industrial Park Avenue, I-39 Exit #185, Rothschild, WI 54474
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Rothschild 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Rothschild is conveniently located off I-39 near many tourist attractions. This location features an indoor pool, conference room and wireless internet throughout the building. 100% Smoke Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Rothschild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Rothschild
Rothschild Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing