We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience!!”
Review of Azienda Fontelunga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montalla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Azienda Fontelunga
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed in La Bozza for a week. It was great! We also shared this house with another couple and their two kids. The house is big enough to have everyone enjoy themselves as well as having one's own space. There are three bedrooms and two bathrooms. There's also a great, big fireplace in the living room to light an impressive fire. All the wood is provided for you.

The beds are very comfortable and the showers have constant hot water. Very nice! The property is also very quiet.

The grounds around the house are beautiful! Michele is fantastic. He's put in much work to update and beautify the landscape and especially the pool area. It's great!

This property is 500 years old and has great medieval, Tuscan charm. Cortona town is just a five minute drive.

The two women in our group also did the cooking class with Michele's mother Donatella. This is highly recommended. Donatella is a fantastic chef and a great person. Anyone that's into cooking will love the experience. Then, everyone can eat the food that's prepared. It's a great dinner!!!

Anyone staying here will have a VERY special experience. Please check out my photos to get a taste of the vibe at La Bozza. Ciao Ciao

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank nectarphonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 27 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at La Bozza last May with 5 of our friends. The house was comfortably appointed, no one felt croweded (2 couples, one group of 3 singles). It was the perfect location for day trips to surrounding hill towns, quick trips into Cortona or just relaxing by the pool. Michele is an amazing host and went out of his way to help out. The cooking class with Donatella was terrific. We did a lot of cooking and found the kitchen more than adequate for our needs. The only caution is to be sure you are good with directions or are OK with "wandering" a bit until you get acclimated to the roads. Things are not always clearly signposted in the country!

EXCELLENT value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlp0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We just returned from our stay at Azienda Fontelunga's beautiful property La Bozza located on a quiet country road near Cortona, Italy. The three bedroom/two bathroom house was beautifully furnished with antiques and a well-supplied kitchen. The tiles in the kitchen and baths were lovely. In addition, there is a very nice pool just steps away from the house as well as a spot for outdoor dining.

Because of La Bozza's central location, we were able to visit many of the Tuscan hilltop towns. In addition to Cortona, we toured Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Gubbio, Arezzo, Orvieta, and the charming Castiglione del Lago on Lake Trasimeno. The property's proximity to Cortona made it easy to find great places for dinner, and the views from the hilltop town were spectacular.

The proprietor, Michele Catani, was very knowledgeable and gave us tips on what to see and do. He also arranged for me to take a class with his mother, Chef Donatella. It was a great experience and I came away with several recipes that I intend to make for family and friends.

We would definitely recommend La Bozza or any of the Azienda Fontelunga properties - they truly are "a home away from home."

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imladybug123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My daughter and I spent a week at Il Bozzino in June. We had been looking for peace and quiet to relax, read, swim, and restore. We found it at Fontelunga! Our rooms were cool (even though it was hot out) and lovely. the kitchen was more than adequate for our needs. We were impressed by the quality of the cooking utensils, dishes, linens and overall decor. Its a 15th century farmhouse completely remade into a luxury retreat. The pool was sparkling clean. The farm house is in the middle of fields of sunflowers (no hayfever). Just down the road we were able to take cooking lessons and two meals at the main house, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Its a 7 minute drive to Cortona and the town of Camucia which services Cortona. Both have great restaurants but we had more fun making our own meals from the fresh produce we bought during the day and we made a barbeque each night. When it was dark thestars and fireflies came out. Neither of us had ever experienced that before; quite a treat for city folk. . We highly recommend this spot. You would want to have a car to stay here though, although it is possible to stay without one if you like to walk.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salvadordallies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I traveled through Tuscany on our honeymoon in early June and we scheduled a cooking class with Donatella. When we arrived, Donatella and her daughter, Lucia, were waiting for us in their home-y kitchen where they taught us how to make an authentic Tuscan dinner. We learned how to make everything from scratch, including homemade pasta! While we learned and watched, we were treated to snacks and wine by our lovely hosts. When we were finished cooking, we sat down with Donatella and Lucia to enjoy our feast in their warm and cozy dining room. We loved it so much that we even signed up for another class the following day, which we enjoyed equally as much. I would highly, highly recommend this cooking class to anyone passing through Tuscany. It was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank smk0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed at LaBozza for 2.5 months, visited by 15 or so friends and relatives
. Great place, well located, but the "thing" that makes it is the host. Michele was unswerving in his service. If there was a problem, - and there were a few small ones - it was fixed "subito!" He helped us with bike rental, travel and restaurant trips, as well as my primitive Italian.
Donatella's cooking classes were great, and Rina and Rosanna - the cleaners - were superb, and a hoot as well.

No better place to say!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnandpat88Montalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We (family with 2 children) have been several times at la bozza and we have lived in both apartments the ground floor and 1st floor. Each has a separate private garden and the large shared pool. The surrounding area is just what one would expect from a Tuscan vacation in an original farmhouse. It is quiet and peaceful located. But it takes only 10 min. by car to Cortona or Camucia. The next grocery store is just a 10 min. walk away.
The large and beautiful arranged garden, the view on the tuscan hills and the well-kept pool is the best setting for a nice relaxing vacation. The farmhouse is furnished with original details. Everything inside is clean and well-kept. Not to forget Michele Catani, the kind and always ready owner of Fontelunga Vacation … he speaks very good English and helpful whenever there is a problem – And he also has good tips for nice places to go. To make a long comment short we will continue to travel there!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard01NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Azienda Fontelunga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azienda Fontelunga

Address: Loc Montalla 2, 52040 Montalla, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona > Montalla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Montalla
Price Range: $86 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of tuscany, close to the border with Umbria, In the Azienda Fontelunga you will have the opoertunity to experience the beauty of the tuscan country. The ancient farmhouses we rent will be the perfect headquortes for your escurtion in the many beautiful Tuscan and Umbrian Locations you can reach easily and will let you live the true emotion of a traditional tuscan country holiday. We don't have suite but entire villas or apartments completely independent and with large private gardens each. Traditional tuscan dinner and cooking classes available in our exclusive restaurant inside the family 1491 villa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing