We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country Charm at La Bozza”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Azienda Fontelunga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montalla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Azienda Fontelunga
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Country Charm at La Bozza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We just returned from our stay at Azienda Fontelunga's beautiful property La Bozza located on a quiet country road near Cortona, Italy. The three bedroom/two bathroom house was beautifully furnished with antiques and a well-supplied kitchen. The tiles in the kitchen and baths were lovely. In addition, there is a very nice pool just steps away from the house as well as a spot for outdoor dining.

Because of La Bozza's central location, we were able to visit many of the Tuscan hilltop towns. In addition to Cortona, we toured Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Gubbio, Arezzo, Orvieta, and the charming Castiglione del Lago on Lake Trasimeno. The property's proximity to Cortona made it easy to find great places for dinner, and the views from the hilltop town were spectacular.

The proprietor, Michele Catani, was very knowledgeable and gave us tips on what to see and do. He also arranged for me to take a class with his mother, Chef Donatella. It was a great experience and I came away with several recipes that I intend to make for family and friends.

We would definitely recommend La Bozza or any of the Azienda Fontelunga properties - they truly are "a home away from home."

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imladybug123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
victoria bc
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

My daughter and I spent a week at Il Bozzino in June. We had been looking for peace and quiet to relax, read, swim, and restore. We found it at Fontelunga! Our rooms were cool (even though it was hot out) and lovely. the kitchen was more than adequate for our needs. We were impressed by the quality of the cooking utensils, dishes, linens and overall decor. Its a 15th century farmhouse completely remade into a luxury retreat. The pool was sparkling clean. The farm house is in the middle of fields of sunflowers (no hayfever). Just down the road we were able to take cooking lessons and two meals at the main house, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Its a 7 minute drive to Cortona and the town of Camucia which services Cortona. Both have great restaurants but we had more fun making our own meals from the fresh produce we bought during the day and we made a barbeque each night. When it was dark thestars and fireflies came out. Neither of us had ever experienced that before; quite a treat for city folk. . We highly recommend this spot. You would want to have a car to stay here though, although it is possible to stay without one if you like to walk.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salvadordallies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I traveled through Tuscany on our honeymoon in early June and we scheduled a cooking class with Donatella. When we arrived, Donatella and her daughter, Lucia, were waiting for us in their home-y kitchen where they taught us how to make an authentic Tuscan dinner. We learned how to make everything from scratch, including homemade pasta! While we learned and watched, we were treated to snacks and wine by our lovely hosts. When we were finished cooking, we sat down with Donatella and Lucia to enjoy our feast in their warm and cozy dining room. We loved it so much that we even signed up for another class the following day, which we enjoyed equally as much. I would highly, highly recommend this cooking class to anyone passing through Tuscany. It was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank smk0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montalla
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed at LaBozza for 2.5 months, visited by 15 or so friends and relatives
. Great place, well located, but the "thing" that makes it is the host. Michele was unswerving in his service. If there was a problem, - and there were a few small ones - it was fixed "subito!" He helped us with bike rental, travel and restaurant trips, as well as my primitive Italian.
Donatella's cooking classes were great, and Rina and Rosanna - the cleaners - were superb, and a hoot as well.

No better place to say!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandpat88Montalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

We (family with 2 children) have been several times at la bozza and we have lived in both apartments the ground floor and 1st floor. Each has a separate private garden and the large shared pool. The surrounding area is just what one would expect from a Tuscan vacation in an original farmhouse. It is quiet and peaceful located. But it takes only 10 min. by car to Cortona or Camucia. The next grocery store is just a 10 min. walk away.
The large and beautiful arranged garden, the view on the tuscan hills and the well-kept pool is the best setting for a nice relaxing vacation. The farmhouse is furnished with original details. Everything inside is clean and well-kept. Not to forget Michele Catani, the kind and always ready owner of Fontelunga Vacation … he speaks very good English and helpful whenever there is a problem – And he also has good tips for nice places to go. To make a long comment short we will continue to travel there!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard01NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We made arrangements to attend the cooking class at Fontelunga by friends but were extremely disappointed when we arrived and no one was at the site to greet us. After knocking on doors and calling, we finally got in touch with Donatella's son. We had already been waiting for 30 minutes and were told that his mother had car problems but would try to get there soon. Knowing that she was not prepared for us and with no guarantees as to how much longer we would have to wait, we told the son that we would be leaving. We were especially surprised that no one else was there for the class because we had been told that there would be other people from her villas attending as well. In fact, we re-arranged our plans so we could accomodate her request that we attend on that night. We were terribly disappointed and surprised that no effort was made to contact us by email to let us know that there was a problem.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tripster049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontelunga, Proprietario at Azienda Fontelunga, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Only after same time we realized it was a misunderstanding, this family arrived here the day before the one reserved.
At the phone, when they called me to ask wy none was at the school, I did not reconize the name and though was somebody else that we forgot to register. Only the day after, wile waiting for the student we had the serevation for, we understood that it was the family arrived the day before because theuy didn't show up that day. I had a double chek and all the mail showed that the reservation was for the day after the one they came.
It was a petty because I am sure they would have had a lot of fun and the dinner came really woderful that night.
I really hope sometime they will came again so we will be able to give them the beautiful evening they expected.
Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

We have been travellingto Azienda Fontelunga for the past 10 years and we return because of the wonderful welcome we receive from Michele and the family. We have stayed in several of his houses but most recently in La Bozza which is located at the end of the village of Montalla, in it's own pretty garden with pool and looking out onto farmland beyond. The setting is very peaceful and idyllic.
The location is ideally situated for daytrips to many of Tuscany's attractions, weekly markets and hilltowns, yet always a great place to return to at the end of a day's sightseeing to rest and unwind. There are local shops and restaurants within 5 mins drive and good supermarkets nearby. Beautiful Cortona looks down from the hill above.
Not to be missed are the cooking classes given by Mamma Donatella, Michele's mother. These are genuine traditional Tuscan recipes which are not found on the main tourist trails and after the lessons, the dinners are a Tuscan experience to be treasured.
The house is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. The kitchen is ample and just right for preparing your own Tuscan fare to share with family and friends in the garden.
We have recommended this property to family and friends who in turn have often returned themselves. This is a great place to "live the Tuscan dream," if only for a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sognoCortona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montalla
1.0 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
1.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
10.3 mi away
Villa Fontelunga
Villa Fontelunga
#1 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azienda Fontelunga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azienda Fontelunga

Property: Azienda Fontelunga
Address: Loc Montalla 2, 52040 Montalla, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona > Montalla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Montalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of tuscany, close to the border with Umbria, In the Azienda Fontelunga you will have the opoertunity to experience the beauty of the tuscan country. The ancient farmhouses we rent will be the perfect headquortes for your escurtion in the many beautiful Tuscan and Umbrian Locations you can reach easily and will let you live the true emotion of a traditional tuscan country holiday. We don't have suite but entire villas or apartments completely independent and with large private gardens each. Traditional tuscan dinner and cooking classes available in our exclusive restaurant inside the family 1491 villa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing