We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopping in the north woods on a summer trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Adventures

Adventures
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Rice Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Stopping in the north woods on a summer trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were headed for the north shore of Minnesota from Chicago, and for no particular reason, picked Rice Lake, Wis. to stop for lunch on one of those days when everything went right.

The Adventures dining room in this small, prosperous north woods town is bright and airy, dominated by a huge central fireplace and walls decorated with trophies of outdoor living, including huge muskie fish, a canoe or two and photos of various local animals. Prompt, Wisconsin-friendly service, wide-ranging menu, full bar with a small but varied wine list.

All four members of our group had walleye tacos, which were utterly superb.

We would have stayed for dinner, but we had a deadline to be in Minnesota. I don't know if I'll pass that way again, but if I'm within 50 miles of Rice Lake, I'll make the trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventuresRestaurant, Manager at Adventures, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi Dan! We're so glad you were able to stop and refuel with a great meal at Adventures! Thank you for your patronage and for taking the time to review our restaurant! We sincerely look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    60
    23
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
230 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Golf Get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had 12 folks for a golf weekend get away and we went there for an evening mea; after a day of golf. The service was a little slow BUT very cheerful and friendly. They had a good special and the menu was diverse. Good time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJG-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventuresRestaurant, Manager at Adventures, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for patronizing our restaurant during your vacation! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Adventures! We hope the rest of your golf get-a-way was equally as enjoyable for your group! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We saw that this restaurant was highly recommended so we stopped in for lunch. I had the meatloaf and my husband had the grass fed beef burger. Both meals were served piping hot and they were delicious. We had the brownie a la mode for dessert. It was served in a large goblet and it was huge and fabulous! Excellent meal and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAWF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventuresRestaurant, Manager at Adventures, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Good Morning Ann! Thank you so much for your kind review! We are happy to hear that both you and your husband enjoyed your meals, as well as our brownie dessert! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great customer service experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stopped at Adventures Restaurant and Pub for a quick lunch while passing thru the area. Our service was prompt, drinks quick to arrive and the food was delicious and filling. I had a salad with a wonderful tomato vinagrette type dressing. My husband had a very juicy Wisconsin burger cooked to perfection. The meal made us want to relax and linger, but travel needs did not allow us to dawdle. I asked if there might be a cup to take my unfinished soda to go. the waitress not only provided one, but it was completely full of fresh soda and added a wish to enjoy it on our trip. Extra thoughtfulness on the part of your staff with prompt service and quality food makes us remember this restaurant as a place we want to visit on our future trips. By the way, we did return the following week as we drove back home and the food was just as great and a different waitress was equally gracious proving that this establishment is consistent in its standards. LV

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LVSV2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventuresRestaurant, Manager at Adventures, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your entire experience at Adventures! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your travels through the area! We look forward to your next visit! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mexican Adventure and More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I always enjoy coming in on Wednesday for the 1/2 price margaritas and the Mexican Menu. I had the Acapulco Adventure and my wife had the Jack Daniels burger. We both loved the food. We will be back soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 142Pam412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventuresRestaurant, Manager at Adventures, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your continued patronage and your kind words! We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing