We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rice Lake
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great. Enjoyed my stay. Friendly front desk. Nice room. Breakfast was. Okay. Could use better choices on the bar. Waffle machine did not work.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank poshmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 460 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a last minute stay, we were pleasantly surprised how quiet and comfortable
our stay was. The fall colors and Pumpkin farm down the road made it even better.
Will stay in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank JOHN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

You get a good size clean room with seating area microwave coffee machine etc. nothing fancy but it's all ok, free wifi and a warm welcome. You won't fall in love with this standard hotel offering but if you want a value for money place to sleep you got it here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Called and reserved adjoining rooms. Confirmed reservation the day of arrival. Upon arriving at the hotel around 8:30P, was told at check-in that adjoining rooms were not available. We've got 4 kids under 10 so that created a bit of a challenge. We made the best of it in two different rooms. But it wasn't what we'd expected nor paid for.

Talked to the manager upon check-out and asked for a refund for one of the rooms. His reply: "I'll think about it."

My biggest complaint is the lack of proactive communication. They could have let us know when we called to confirm that adjoining rooms were not available. But they didn't. They could have called us any other time and told us before our arrival giving us the opportunity to look for an alternative. But they didn't. Will see if a credit shows up on my credit card -- or we'll dispute the charge.

As for the hotel. It was fine with one big exception -- when I ran a bath for my 2 year old, bits of black gunk (mold?) came out of the tub faucet with the water. #ewwgross

Won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geksaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Second time at this hotel. Felt mixed after the first time. Now feel a poor rating is appropriate.

The good... Easy to get to location right off of 53. Beds are relatively comfortable. Free breakfast is nothing special, but fruit was fresh and they had a good selection of yogurt, cereal and muffins/bread.

The not so good... Air conditioning is loud and cycles on/off constantly. TV's are old tube style (no HD). Remote control was grimy. Drains in tub and sink ran very slowly = yuck! No lid on toilet seats = high likelihood that something will accidentally fall in (yuck again). Really loud (drunk?) group returned from what we believe was a wedding and yelled/thumped/slammed their way around the floor from 2-3A waking everyone up. Ice machine by elevator was extremely loud -- if you stay, ask for a room toward the end of the hall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Grodney73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl L, Owner at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your review. I apologize that your stay was anything but satisfactory. Be assured that your comments are being addressed. We will be adding the items requested, in fact some of them have already been added to our hotel. The televisions are approximately 50% installed, and the toilet seats are being installed as I write this. Our A/C Units in the hotel are no different than those in any other hotel, so I'm not sure why you had a problem with it, but I will make sure I personally check on this for you, and any other potential guests. As far as the noise, we try very hard to keep things quiet on the weekends in summer, and I apologize for any inconvenience caused by other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

My first time staying at a Microtel. The GM was very friendly and gave us a good recommendation for dinner. Definitely gave a good first impression for his hotel. The rooms are small, but have everything you need. They were very clean as was the entire hotel. I would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netminder_60490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl L, Owner at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your review. We enjoy reading that our guests are happy with our hotel and our staff. I'm also glad that you were satisfied with my recommendation for dinner. It reflects well on us as well as them! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I am unfamiliar with the Microtel chain so I did not know what to expect. Many of the economy Wyndam hotels have poor standards, so I was a bit cautious. This hotel was great. The room was a single- and it was quite small. No frills at all. There is a bed and a desk with chair. "soft" furnishing would include a padded window seat. there is a wardrobe with a TV on top. It sort of reminded me of the cabin in a cruise ship. Despite the small rooms, they were really clean. The fixtures in the bathroom were gleaming new fixtures. The halls were well kept and seemed to have newer carpet and paint. The bedding and towels were of very nice quality. The walls did seem sort of thin. I heard a lengthy phone conversation of my neighbor. I turned on the fan to drawn it out, but didn't completely do the trick. Breakfast was also no frills- but adequate and serving area was clean. Waffle maker, coffee and juice. Fridge with yogurt and milk. There was a big bowl of fruit and a rack of various carbs (breads, muffins, english muffins). Only hot food other than the waffles is what you could put in a toaster. Above average for an economy hotel. I checked out the work out room on the second floor. Gazelle, eliptical and treadmill all worked. Restaurants right across the street. Not fancy but great for a singly business traveler. I will stay again when I'm in town on business next month.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rice Lake
1.0 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 8 in Rice Lake
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rice Lake
1.1 mi away
AmeriVu Inn & Suites
AmeriVu Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Rice Lake
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Rice Lake
210.5 mi away
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
#3 of 8 in Rice Lake
63 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites Barron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake

Address: 2771 Decker Dr, Rice Lake, WI 54868-7523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rice Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rice Lake
Price Range: $69 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for business or leisure, be sure to make a reservation at the Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake hotel. Located off U.S. Highway 53, our Rice Lake hotel near Cedar Mall provides you with the best guest satisfaction in its class as well as easy access to restaurants and area attractions. The Rice Lake business district, University of Wisconsin Barron County and Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College are just a few minutes away. Sip your coffee and enjoy our free continental breakfast while leafing through a free copy of USA Today. Connect to your friends and family using free Wi-Fi Internet access, then get your heart beating with some cardio in our fitness center. Microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers are provided in all suites, and queen suites feature sleeper sofas. Handicapped-accessible accommodations as well as adjoining rooms are also available at our hotel in Rice Lake, WI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Rice Lake Hotel Rice Lake
Microtel Rice Lake
Rice Lake Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing