We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norske Nook

Norske Nook
Ranked #8 of 45 Restaurants in Rice Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Scandinavian, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shell Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I think our server was new or more interested in primping...saw her looking at her reflection in the pie case several times... Carrots were cool, corn tepid, mashed potatoes with gravy had the gravy developing a shell. I think our food was this way because she was slow... won't return.. did not have pie, which is their big draw. She was also not very attentive, missed the fact that I was out of water early on, never did notice... maybe the training needs to be better.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    75
    29
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pie Lovers Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Norske Nook... I would have given you a "5" had the service been faster. That was my only complaint, waiting 35 minutes for our breakfast to arrive. Other than that, the massive, fluffy biscuit that comes with your breakfast, the perfectly cooked eggs, nom-nom hashbrowns, the lightly crisped bacon were all wonderful. Don't feel guilty about ordering pie for breakfast; this is the place to do it. These pies are piled high with yummy deliciousness. We shared a slice of chocolate mint pie and a slice of root beer float pie. Big, fattening, gluttonous servings. So satisfying. Then be sure and check out the little knick knack shop at the cash register and splurge on some Uff-da tchotchkes. We love Norske Nook. If we ever get back to Wisconsin, we'll visit you again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusieC637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Around 23 of us summer camp counselors showed up here for dinner one evening. The restaurant staff were great in organising us tables since we had not booked in advance - although I would suggest booking in advance for that many people.
The food was ordered and served in an impressive time. There was a great selection of food and pies to choose from and everything tasted great.

Helpful?
Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barron, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Swaping bread for lefsa is the way to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Btrakfast this morning of a huge ham ^& cheese omelet. Hashbrowns and lefsa. Waitress not Norwegian, but very willing to let me make the trade for lefsa. life is Good !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Horizonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Big reason for coming to Rice Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Specifically came to eat here. My husband's and my breakfast were more than ample and were delicious. Waitress was very friendly and kept the coffee coming. Stopped by the bakery and took s pie back to Chicago. The pie tastes just like homemade. Wish there was a Norske Nook around Chicago.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norske Nook also viewed

 

Been to Norske Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing