We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not likely to go back”

Holiday Acres' Three Coins Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 69 Restaurants in Rhinelander
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Three Coins Restaurant is located at Holiday Acres Resort in the Northwoods, just a 2 mile scenic drive off of County P just east of Rhinelander, WI. The Three Coins Restaurant and Lounge offers an interesting variety of dining options sure to please diners of all ages. Views of grazing whitetail deer are often seen through the windows surrounding the restaurant and bar. Before or after dining, take a walk to enjoy a sunset on Lake Thompson.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
425 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Not likely to go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is a restaurant that we've gone to in the Rhinelander area for over 25 years, and have reluctantly decided that unless we are attending an event, such as the recent local public radio station's volunteer brunch we will not be going back. The restaurant is part of a large family resort at obviously caters to the tourist trade. I ve come to the conclusion that management, doesn't care if I return or not. Formerly, we felt that we were invited guests in a private home, but now get the feeling because we are local trade, our patronage is taken for granted. Knowing the owners(this is a small community), in the past I've supported them by directing inquiring visitors to this as well other local restaurants. If you are in this part of the Northwoods, it is my opinion that you will receive a warmer reception and more enjoyable meal going to Swearingen's Al-Gen or Morey's Fireside dinner clubs for dinner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TLV007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres' Three Coins Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
It made me sad to learn that we have fallen so short of your expectations. As hospitality is our business, we care about all of our guests, both in and out of towners. The real tourist season is a small part of the year, and local patrons keep our restaurant busy year round.
Our community is very important to us, and one way that we try to act on that is to volunteer and share our time and at times, our facilities with local organizations such as WXPR.
Perhaps you would be willing to call me personally, and share your thoughts on how we could improve. It would be genuinely appreciated as there is no business, and no person that cannot learn from their mistakes. My apologies for falling short. We care very much about all of our guests.

Kari Zambon, Co Owner - Holiday Acres Resort and Three Coins Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    23
    15
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harshaw, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
318 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place for a Special Occassion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

The food is very good! The staff is very accommodating. The atmosphere is wonderful all year round.

Helpful?
Thank ScoutMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres' Three Coins Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. It is what we work and live for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwoods
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

One summer night we waited 2-1/2 hours (NOT a typical wait) for our dinner but I must tell you, the wait was worth it. Excellent, award winning chef, especially for pork dishes. They have wine tasting dinners twice a year with exotic (for the Northwoods) fish and game on the menu. Terrific sauces to compliment the entrees. Nice Northwoodsy atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank NorthwoodsLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great view, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Delicious, unique food in a gorgeous setting (there are vegetarian options, too). In the summer, you can watch hummingbirds and butterflies enjoy the beautiful collection of flowers and (safe) feeders along the perimeter of the building.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
2 reviews
“Great up north feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

The location (on the lake) and the building are definately northwoods. The bar was open and freindly design.
Food choices and quality were excellent!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holiday Acres' Three Coins Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Holiday Acres' Three Coins Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing