We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Acres Resort
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Rhinelander)
$71
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Americas Best Value Inn(Rhinelander)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Rhinelander)(Great Value!)
$55
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander(Rhinelander)(Great Value!)
$119
$113
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centerstone Resort Lake-Aire(Tomahawk)(Great Value!)
$101
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oneida Village Inn(Three Lakes)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
69
34
10
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
34
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolcoins restaurantbig pinenorth woodsfamily reunionmany yearsgas fireplacehorseback ridinggreat barclassic northwoodsbedroom cottagea family run businessgreat visitclass actwonderful trailskeep coming backfour seasons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 123 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just returned from one of the best weeks I can remember with our extended family and friends at Holiday Acres Resort. Our kids loved their experiences at Red Pine Camp in Minocqua, and Camp Deerhorn in Rhinelander for years. The family that runs Camp Deerhorn recommended Holiday Acres for parents looking to visit, and we are so fortunate to have found this paradise in the north woods. Five years ago, we rented a one bedroom cottage, which was very nice. We were so impressed with the resort, Three Coins restaurant and Zambon family, that we decided to make this an annual summer vacation. We checked out the Big Pine executive house and fell in love with it at first sight.

If you are looking for a relaxing, spacious, exceptional experience in the north woods of Wisconsin, we highly recommend taking a look at Holiday Acres. Big Pine is really special. Lots of room for extended family and friends, private dock w/ rowboat, pool table, sauna and well equipped with just about anything you might need to make your stay special. I can't say enough about the Zambon family. They are so remarkable. My daughter was looking for some challenging road bike trails (she races for the University of Georgia) and Kim and Jamie Zambon helped her find some challenging routes and group rides. I'm confident that Pete and Jamie Zambon could teach just about anyone to water ski, and even teach a 50 something Mom to slalom (well, get up on one ski and hang behind the boat, anyway). Guests are treated as if they are family, even during the first stay. We are already planning our vacation next year!

Room Tip: If you can manage it in your budget, check out Big Pine. It's really awesome.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your excellent review on TripAdvisor. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Holiday Acres Resort, and that Big Pine Lodge worked so well for all of you. Looking forward to seeing you again; we love to turn new friends into "Old Friends"!
Kari Z (Jamie and Pete's mom)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family had a wonderful week together at Holiday Acres Resort. There were 14 of us, ranging in age from 3 - 77. Because of all the activities offered by the resort, a great time was had by all ages. Some of the highlights were: water and beach activities on beautiful Thompson Lake, water skiing, horse drawn pub crawl, horse back trail ride, swimming in the indoor pool and the beautiful sunsets over the lake.
I want to thank Holiday Acres and the friendly staff for making the trip so memorable. It was even more perfect that I envisioned when planning this reunion.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

It makes us so happy to hear that your Family Reunion was a success for all ages! It is what we strive for and your appreciation means more than you can imagine to our family and all of our crew. Thank you so much. We hope that we will see you and your family again soon.

Kari Z.
Holiday Acres Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We love Holiday Acres! It's located on a beautiful lake, surrounded by the gorgeous north woods. A wonderful setting for a family vacation.

Like others, I was surprised by the negative reviews on this site. There are very few -- anyone considering a stay at Holiday Acres should take the few negative reviews in the context if the numerous glowing ones. Also, prospective customers should recognize that there are almost always a few malcontents who are prone to complain about virtually everything.

Perhaps the negative folks were looking for a different type of vacation. If you're interested in a swanky place like the Ritz, this isn't the place for you. The cabins are plenty clean and comfortable for most people, but luxury hotel rooms they are not. However, no glitzy hotel resort could ever come close to the secluded, natural, relaxed, family-oriented setting found at Holiday Acres.

Of course, no resort is perfect. I'm sorry that some of the outspoken critics received poor service. That's never acceptable. However, we've been to Holiday Acres a number of times and have always received courteous, prompt service. Based on our experience (and, judging by the reviews on here, the experience of the vast majority of guests), the service at Holiday Acres is second to none.

To get the most out of your stay, we strongly recommend that you experience Lake Thompson. Many patrons bring boats. If you don't own a boat, rentals are easily arranged. It's a fantastic lake for water skiing, tubing, or just taking in the beautiful scenery and wildlife on a pontoon boat.

I urge any interested readers to take the Negative Nellies with a grain of salt and heed the numerous positive reviews. Holiday Acres is an ideal spot for a fun, relaxing lake vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendellSDeutmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Your really nice review did a wonderful job of telling about Holiday Acres. It is important to us that our guests find a comfortable and relaxing getaway at Holiday Acres. We hope that visitors kick back and enjoy our lake and recreation opportunities. Northwoods simple pleasures like a campfire and s'mores combined with the good company of family, friends and other guests, for most, is a recipe for a great vacation. Please come and see us again soon!

Kari Z.
Holiday Acres Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We have taken our family to Holiday Acres for over 25 years. The cabins are rustic and provide a place for loads of family memories, located near Lake Thompson, where we have spent so many hours swimming and boating. This is a resort in the north woods--no pretense of a big city Hyatt. We love it just the way it is, and our grandchildren have expressed their wishes to bring their children here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Your review was so very much appreciated! It is true, we are not big city smooth, but instead try to be classic Northwoods, where fun and relaxation for all ages is the priority! We look forward to welcoming you, your children and your grandchildren for years to come!

Kari Z.
Holiday Acres Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We've been spending a week at Holiday Acres each summer for more than 30 years. We know this place as well as anyone on earth. It's a uniquely family-owned and operated resort on a picturesque lake. Quaint cabins are nestled among the trees of the north woods that line beautiful Lake Thompson.

There are just enough organized activities (entirely voluntary, of course), but not too many. Our favorites include the cookout, the after-dinner wagon ride, the morning horseback ride (wagon ride available for those who prefer) with a breakfast in the woods, and the Friday night buffet in the beautiful, rustic lodge.

Tennis courts, sand volleyball and shuffleboard are just a short walk from your door, and one of Wisconsin's nicest public golf courses is only about a 15-minute drive away.

The Zambon family, which has run the resort for more than 60 years, through four generations, is wonderful. They're like family to us, and they treat all of their guests like family, too. They make every effort to help each and every guest thoroughly enjoy the stay.

I couldn't more strongly recommend Holiday Acres! If you're looking for a relaxing, stress-free week for your family, away from it all and in a picturesque setting, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHaupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

All I can say is- we have some of the best and nicest guests in the world, and that is what makes our jobs fun. We know how special a vacation is, and it is our wish to make each and every visit to Holiday Acres be a special one for our guests, who over time become our friends as well.

Kari Z.
Holiday Acres Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews