We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhinelander Cafe & Pub

Rhinelander Cafe & Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Rhinelander Cafe & Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 69 Restaurants in Rhinelander
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A fixture in Rhinelander for over 85 years. Always dependable,excellant fish and steaks . Open for B-L-and dinner.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Had a coupon from a fundraiser, buy meal, get free appetizer. I invited a friend for lunch. Showed coupon to server, and she confirmed it was OK for lunch or dinner. Ordered the bruschetta appetizer, and asked to split a club sandwich; we had a choice of one side, and selected a salad. The server offered us our individual choice of salad dressings. The appetizer was a full platter of tasty toasty rounds, with absolutely fresh tomato/garlic topping. The server presented the salads on separate plates with separate dressings. The sandwich was a 3" stack of meats/lettuce/cheese. We ate our fill and had leftovers. Complimentary cupcake-size cheesecakes were also served. The food was not 'fancy', but I am always impressed when you get #1 service when the server knows you have a coupon. Very good lunch spot!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    51
    28
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old & Tired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were so excited when this place got bought out by a guy who owns a fantastic restaurant up in Ashland (with a fabulous menu and a microbrewery). We waited for the changes we were sure they'd make, but they never came. Sure, there are some new menu items, but overall, it's the same old place: food is mediocre, the ambience stays the same. They cater to the senior citizens (which is great!) but with no thought about what's going to happen once they're gone. I don't think they realize that by not addressing the issues and becoming competitive, they're losing our younger generation = FAIL.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oliviablue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, WI
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place! Food was great and Hostess was very helpful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Lots of breakfast choices. Everything was very good! We were in Rhinelander for a few days babysitting and did not know where to go. The hostess was very nice and spent some time telling us where to go.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank suzz22bd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in downtown Rhinelander.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Four of us had decided to try the "Pub" located in the heart of downtown Rhinelander. We found the service and food to be very good and determined it was worth our forty mile drive for dinner. Found the menu to be nicely varied for the individual tastes in the party of the four of us. From the pre dinner cocktails to dessert, it was a great evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Northern-WI-charle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cool Northwoods feel in cute downtown Rhinelander”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Had a great lunch for a great price and our waitress was a total hoot. We had burgers and the open faced roast beef. It was all excellent and very reasonably priced. Alcoholic beverages for 2, 2 appetizers and lunch for 5 plus dessert all for $70! Great deal - we will be back!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dominic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhinelander Cafe & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Rhinelander Cafe & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing