We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT RECOMMENDATION BY HOTEL”
Review of Al Gen Dinner Club

Al Gen Dinner Club
Ranked #6 of 69 Restaurants in Rhinelander
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Siren, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“GREAT RECOMMENDATION BY HOTEL”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Comfort Inn front desk staff recommended that we go to Al Gen for dinner. Great place, I loved the cabin atmosphere and decor! The wait staff was very good and friendly! I had the shrimp scampi special for the night, and it was very good. I would recommend that you eat there if in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank steve y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    41
    21
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

After sitting down at our table, we were told the electricity would be off for about 15 min so no water, food or lights for awhile. No problem, I have a light on my phone and the other tables had flashlights. All added to the adventure. Our waitress was very nice and every one had a great sense of humor. When the lights came on, we ordered our food and continued eating crackers and cheese. We did ask for a 2nd basket because we were getting hungry waiting. I ordered scallops that were only so-so. Not much taste to them. Of the 3 of us, none of us would return. Nothing really stood out. Would have been nice if they had offered us a soda or beer b/4 the electricity went out. While it wasn't their fault, and they did keep us up to date on when the electricity would be turned on, it just wasn't a good all around experience. Nice atmosphere tho and the staff is friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kay-wren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“alot of food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great décor old world supper club. A lot of average food for the price. The steaks are the best value. The ribs were tender but lacked flavor with bottle sauce

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A bit pricey but the food was good. Great service too! The room was decorated with all sorts of steins and memorabilia that was pretty cool.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maryann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Authentic Supper Club in the Northwoods of Wisconsin.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Old log cabin authentic supper club. They start off with a nice scoop of cheese and assortment of crackers. I had the sicilian steak, two 4 oz fillets dipped in olive oil, sprinkled with homemade seasoned bread crumbs, accompanied with au jus and tomato and garlic sauces, med. Rare and absolutely oustanding, my husband had broasted chicken and ribs-fantastic! They also we've two homemade breads - my favorite is the sweet raisin nut bread.
Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artszeeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Gen Dinner Club also viewed

 

Been to Al Gen Dinner Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing