We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Chicago had many painted cows, but Reedsburg's Ruminant is one-of-a-kind

It must be a "popular" activity for local artists to decorate items of interest to specific... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2016
sellbuy1234567
,
near Chicago, IL
Something unique to see

Ruminant is something unique to see in a small midwestern town like Reedsburg. Permanently moved... read more

Reviewed February 8, 2016
Scott34hrdelay
,
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Read all 10 reviews
  
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
4
4
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
4
4
1
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 10 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2016

I thought this would be an interesting site for my family to see while we were in Reedsburg a couple weeks ago, mostly because it was something a bit unique. And, for the most part, I was right.
The decorated tractor does offer something unique and, at least as a stop-through on your way to see something else, is worth visiting for a few minutes. My daughters both enjoyed seeing it.
I will say, however, most directions to this attraction are no longer accurate. I checked out three different maps and they sent me to where the Ruminant used to be rather than its current location in downtown Reedsburg next to the police station.
I was also a little disappointed there wasn't much else around it. It looks as though the town was trying to make it a much more prominent display and perhaps making it part of something bigger. But, at the moment, it's really not much more than a decorated tractor sitting in an odd location in town next to some run-down and abandoned buildings. In fact, if it were a larger city, I probably would have been a bit more nervous about my family's safety in that neighborhood.

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank WisconsinFamilyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2016

Ruminant is something unique to see in a small midwestern town like Reedsburg. Permanently moved to this spot after being on the Farm Art D'tour the John Deer combine adorned with stained glass artwork in it's windows and throughout the body of the piece of equipment. It's not a reason to make a trip to Reedsburg but it is something neat to stop and see if you are in town and enjoy interesting pieces of art.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Scott34hrdelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2015

Certainly an oddity. Who would think to combine stained glass and farm machinery? Best seen at night when it is illuminated.

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2015

Who needs to go see a giant ball of twine when you can get up close to stain-glass windowed combine in sleepy little Reedsburg? Yep, 39 colorful panes of glass light up the machine as it sits in the middle of a vacant lot adjacent to the local police station. Quirky and definitely a conversation-starter.

Date of experience: February 2015
6  Thank georgigirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2015

This is a unique piece of art that has something for everyone. From it being a piece of retired farm equipment to its incredible stained glass panels. The panels go from far scenes to Batman and Robin. Like I said it has something for everyone. This is an ongoing park project that will continue to grown around the art work.

Date of experience: January 2015
2  Thank JasonS742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews