We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thin Pizza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wells Brothers Italian Restaurant

Wells Brothers Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 243 Restaurants in Racine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Thin Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

You will think you are going to get robbed pulling down this side road to get here, but they have security that keeps the area quite. This place is old school Italian. The bar is large enough to serve a big crowd as you may wait for a table. Great apps and great drinks every time I've been there. I usually get the pizza as I believe its my favorite ever, but have ventured off and been very pleased with the italian dishes. The service and staff are great. Another place I highly recommend if you are on the southeast side of Racine. Enjoy

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    68
    18
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The way pizza should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Nearly everything on the menu is delicious, but the pizza is what it's all about. Super thin crust pizza that is perfectly crispy all the way to the center. Any toppings you could want, and the friendliest service in Wisconsin.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food is decent but not worth a trip into a bad neighborhood!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

The pizza is good but the food isnt the only part of going to a restraunt. The decor is dated and the neighborhood is one of the worst in the city. Sorry not worth the risk.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luilui75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best pizza I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I don.t know how they make it so thin but it has to be one of the best I have ever had. Great staff Never pass up a chance to go there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pizza's Good, But Not the Best Ever”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Spouse is from this area and grew up with the Wells Brothers-style of pizza- thin crust, cut into squares. Locals rave about it, as does the Spouse. I've had much better in Chicago and NYC, and even in Texas. My kids think Pizza Hut is better. It is good, but I don't get that "wow" factor that everyone raves about. The pizza toppings are ample, but not overloaded, the cheese to sauce ratio was good. I will say the cheese bread was outstanding, with a ton of gooey mozzarella covering the tasty garlic bread.
Part of the fun of Wells Brothers is the excitement of wondering if you will make it out of the neighborhood alive. Uniformed cops with sidearms are on duty to monitor the parking lot which help your odds. The service was a little slow and the restaurant was packed, but friendly waitstaff was a plus and made for a pleasant experience. They do offer other menu items other than their pizza, including traditional Italian fare as well as fish dishes. I will go back, but I won't dream about it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpikeRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wells Brothers Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wells Brothers Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing