We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, food fair, good views, go someplace else.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hobnob Restaurant

Hobnob Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 244 Restaurants in Racine
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Poor service, food fair, good views, go someplace else.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a table for 12, we sat down at 7pm, our drinks showed up at 7:35pm, steak & lobster was good at $120.00 (very high $), 3 times 2 people in our party asked for a separate check, they did not get it, when our check did come, we had $300 in charges that belonged to another table. The meal took 3 hours, the view of the lake is nice. The fish fry is $12 and is fair to good, I had viener schnitzel, it was very dry, no spatzel or red cabbage, my fault for ordering German food at a place like this. I would not recommend this establishment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank golftoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    66
    9
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Poor Food and Poor Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The location of this restaurant, founded in 1950s, is situated on Lake Michigan...scenic and picturesque. It is currently owned by someone who is educated in business management of restaurants. Now, apparently, this well known restaurant in Racine has decided that short-term profit is more important than high-quality, local food it says it serves. Service was very slow & poor, in spite of the fact that we were there early, at 5:00 PM, and the restaurant was not busy. Except for baked potato and Prime Rib of beef, all food was made at some factory and then thawed & warmed over at the restaurant before serving us.

For appetizers, we ordered Calamari and Smoked Salmon (each for $9.95 plus tax plus tip). The calamari (fried-squid) was chewy and greasy, we did not finish it. The Smoked Salmon was suppose to be, according to the menu, smoked at the restaurant. If it was, it did not taste like it...it was very dry and very salty. For the price we paid, we were served just three, very, very thin & dry pieces.

For the main course, we ordered Friday's Fish Fry special...fried Lake Perch ($ 18.95 + tax + tip). We were served three pieces. This turned out to be very poor tasting, re-cooked fish. Its batter-fried cover was much fatter and than the fish Indeed the fish was so thin that it was dry and there was no taste of the fish. McDonald's Fish is better tasting. One of us ordered, prime rib of beef. It was very good.

Total bill was about $100 (plus tip). If you want to eat re-cooked, poor tasting food, you should go to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TNAIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Mill Creek, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We love the old fashion dining experience of white table cloths and candles. The view of the lake is beautiful. We've come back from an island vacation and had dinner at the Hob Nob and felt like we were looking out at the ocean again. The service and food is excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2hcestategrapetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great food, great service and the view is outstanding.
Can't go wrong here. This is an perfect place for a nice quiet dinner out with the wife.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, CT
Level Contributor
326 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Classic Wisconsin Supper Club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great Victorian décor and the entertainment is great too. While I saw some very good looking food coming out, it was Friday and I ordered the fish and chips special. Very good, but I am an East coast guy and prefer fresh to frozen cod. Menu prices are very affordable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobnob Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hobnob Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing