We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”

Wind Point Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Racine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
210 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Loved it. Check it out. It's been restored. A couple times a year, you can go to the top for a fee.
Over looks Lake Michigan and Shoop Golf Course; and plenty of Very Nice homes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank seanyy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    45
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oak lawn
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been visiting this lighthouse over many years. It is absolutely beautiful. Last week we were in Racine and some snow had turned to ice, but I still wanted to drive to see the lighthouse. It is in a beautiful town called Wind Point and the area around the lighthouse is so peaceful. Unfortunately due to the ice we did not get out of the car, but still enjoyed seeing it. Be sure and visit when the weather gets warmer. The view is outstanding and you can sit or walk the shore and just enjoy. Not far from Racine, but a little ways. Worth the trip, especially if you like lighthouses and views of the lake.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mssox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Scenic Lighthouse and Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We visited the Wind Point Lighthouse on our way back to Illinois in October. It is a very scenic area with views of the Lake Michigan Beach in Racine Wisconsin. The lighthouse is 112 ft. high and was put into operation in 1880. The structure is awesome and wonderfully restored with several other support buildings of interest on the grounds. It's not that far from I-94 and well worth the time to take in the picturesque beauty of the area and beach. We visited in October which added to the magnificence of the place where one could relax and reflect in a serene setting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
“awsome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

used to live near by loved to take walks there and sit on the bench by the lake it is so beautiful and relaxing.the view from the lighthouse is awsome !

Helpful?
Thank julie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty, serene location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice and quite, peaceful, with great lake views of course. A piece of history that everyone should try to visit.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank shelly425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wind Point Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Wind Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing