We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“used to be free”
Review of Racine Zoo

Racine Zoo
Ranked #6 of 32 things to do in Racine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled on the sandy shores of beautiful Lake Michigan, the Racine Zoo is home to some of the world's most remarkable and endangered wildlife. Enjoy our many interactive exhibits and animal encounters including Walkabout Creek, Barnyard Safari, Norco Aviary, and our Giraffe Encounter where you get to feed our two Masai giraffes. It's easy to immerse yourself in our wild place. Open every day of the year.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

good for young children but don't waste your time go to the Milwaukee County Zoo for a much better experience

Thank scottrm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"small children"
in 15 reviews
"lake michigan"
in 29 reviews
"perfect size"
in 7 reviews
"animal crackers"
in 7 reviews
"few hours"
in 9 reviews
"big cats"
in 4 reviews
"monkey house"
in 3 reviews
"great animals"
in 3 reviews
"animal exhibits"
in 3 reviews
"kangaroo exhibit"
in 3 reviews
"special events"
in 4 reviews
"warmer months"
in 3 reviews
"fun to watch"
in 3 reviews
"walk around"
in 5 reviews
"kids love"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful location"
in 4 reviews
"free parking"
in 4 reviews

161 - 165 of 272 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

Even though Racine has a small Zoo, the Zoological Society is extremely active and holds many different fund raisers to keep this Zoo a highlight for anyone visiting Racine, WI

Thank Jeffory (1/2) J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A very nice zoo for the size of this city. Fun for young and old. They continue to try and make upgrades to the zoo with limited funds. This a popular place for school field trips in the spring.

Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My family stops in Racine to visit relatives at different times of the year. The zoo has always been an activity we enjoyed as a family during our visits. It's small, but offers enough for an interesting day trip. The grounds and animal areas are clean, all located on the beautiful lakefront. There are great views of the water that adds to the relaxing, park setting. The exhibits are natural for most of the animals, you can view them up close, they are well maintained. Entrance fee's are needed to maintain this little local treasure, so we don't mind paying it. Perfect for young children to the elderly age group. Wheel chair friendly and stroller friendly. Parking is the problem, very limited, only enough for 5 or 6 cars! Street parking is available if you can find it. For all age groups, we're glad the city has this wonderful zoo and park. Not all cities are able to enjoy what Racine has!

Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on the way home from vacation.

PRICE is great, very reasonable.

GROUNDS - very clean, well maintained.

PARKING - horrible. They have a small lot that can only fit 5 cars. Then only street parking is available

ACTIVITIES/ANIMALS- keep in mind we visited when snow was on the ground. However, this park needs more animals. There simply was not enough. I expected to see more than 2 snakes, 1 bear, 2 camels, 1 big monkey, 1 fossa and a few fish.

TRAM - the Tram goes in a circle and unfortunately there are only 2 animals you can on this ride. Not very engaging or creative.

This park has potential but until they add more animals, its simply not worth it.

1  Thank Sissy2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine Z, Public Relations Manager at Racine Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We're sorry that your experience was disapointing. We charge half-price in the winter because many of the animals on exhibit in the spring and summer are not cold tolerant and it's not safe for them to be outside. We give the animal the option of going outside if it wishes. This winter was especially brutal with many days below zero!

We have many animals inside our historic Vanishing Kingdom building (where it's warm!) including orangutans, lemurs, emperor tamarins, spider monkeys, a fossa, a Maribou stork, and many other animals. Our Benstead Discovery Center houses many amphibians, reptiles, and fish. These two buildings are always open to guests on cold days and the animals are always glad to see folks!

We hope you come back when the weather is warmer to enjoy all we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Racine Zoo also viewed


Been to Racine Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing