We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See you at the ZOO”
Review of Racine Zoo

Racine Zoo
Ranked #4 of 30 things to do in Racine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled on the sandy shores of beautiful Lake Michigan, the Racine Zoo is home to some of the world's most remarkable and endangered wildlife. Enjoy our many interactive exhibits and animal encounters including Walkabout Creek, Barnyard Safari, Norco Aviary, and our Giraffe Encounter where you get to feed our two Masai giraffes. It's easy to immerse yourself in our wild place. Open every day of the year.
Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“See you at the ZOO”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Racine Zoo is a low cost attraction in a small town that works hard to provide a small zoo experience. Small children will love it as it takes about an hour a and a half to go through and is managable with strollers or walking. We like the monkey house and the children's zoo. The volunteers in the gift shop are pleasant and try to be helpful - obviously, they like what they do and appreciate the zoo visitors.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank theshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    83
    50
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cute little zoo”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Nice but small, lower entrance fee than other zoos and street parking. Smells nice, most walkways are outdoors and the animal houses are small.

Helpful?
Thank PerpetualTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cute zoo”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Cute little zoo. No, it's not the Milwaukee Zoo, but it's nicely kept.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank rekkah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
736 reviews
455 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
“Nice small zoo with a great playground”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We chose to go to this zoo just because it's smaller than most in the big cities and I just wanted an easy morning with my son who is usually a handful. I love that you can get up close to all the animals. He was literally eye to eye with an emu and could see the kangaroos hopping just feet from him. The lions, tiger, and orangutang are all much closer than you'd get at the bigger zoos. I got to park for free across from the entrance and admission was half price- great savings! Most of the kids were more interested in the awesome new playground than most of the animals, but the animals are there to watch when you're in the mood. The setting is relaxing because it is right on the beach of Lake Michigan. Because this is off season, there weren't any places for eating, but most families brought their own snacks and drinks. Bathrooms were warm and clean. After the zoo closes this time of year, you can see the holiday lights display from the street- very colorful too. NIce day overall.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank alibarbaraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee WI area
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“My daughter LOVES the zoo.”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The Racine Zoo is an excellent place to go with small children. My daughter and I spend two hours there recenly. We were able to park in the small parking lot near the new entrance. We "joined" the zoo so there was no admission fee.

It looks like quite a few updates have been made recenlty. The front entrance and gift shop is very welcoming. There are several areas where you are "in" with the animals - the kangaroo exhibit and the new stork exhibit come to mind. My daughter particularly enjoyed watching the meerkats, the giraffes, the penguins (because we were there at feeding time,) and playing on the brand new playground. She did not like the lion - because his roaring scared her.

The crowds were light because it was a cool fall day. We certainly recommend a visit and will be back again soon!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Gemini0665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Racine Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing