We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and innovative work space” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SC Johnson Headquarters

SC Johnson Headquarters
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Racine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whether you’re a Frank Lloyd Wright fan, a unique aircraft enthusiast or simply love our household products, you’re always welcome to visit SC Johnson.We welcome visitors and offer free public tours that provide different views of the company's inspired architecture, including: •The Frank Lloyd Wright-designed Administration Building •The award-winning Foster + Partners-designed Fortaleza Hall •The SC Johnson Gallery: At Home with Frank Lloyd Wright •Film showings of the Academy Award-winning documentary To Be Alive! and the acclaimed Carnauba: A Son’s Memoir at The Golden Rondelle Theater. All tours also include a visit to The Lily Pad, our gift shop.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful and innovative work space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Frank Lloyd Wright out did himself with this beautiful administration building- still in use today. Multistory concrete mushroom shape colums support the roof and glass tubing allows much of the light source. No photos are allowed inside the building and the group moves together with the docent. The tall building is not open for tours. There is an unusual visitors center which was part of the company's Worlds Fair exhibit in the 60s.
Fortenza Hall is a new addition to the campus and is included in the tour- some history of company and a
separate space for visiting FLWright artifacts, furniture,etc that will be changed out periodically.
Be sure to call ahead to schedule your tour. No fee.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bknowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    37
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent for FLW architecture fans.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our guided tour which we booked a few months before our visit. It took about 2 hours and the highlight was walking into the administration building and seeing the "lillypads". The guide was very informative about FLW, his designs and the company history.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AusTravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
318 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“One of the most interesting tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went with a friend who was into FL Wright's architecture, got the 2 hour tour. Not only were the two FL Wright buildings remarkable, but the Johnson family story was very interesting. Extremely worthwhile. Need advance reservations.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank smdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Take the 3.5 hour tour and be treated to 2 wonderful films that celebrate life and surprisingly do not promote Johnson products. These are not the boring corporate films you might expect. The films are followed by an excellent tour that focuses on the Frank Lloyd Wright's wonderful architecture and a beautiful pavilion built just a few years ago.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lawyermom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spectacular and stunning! Quite a treat for the cost- FREE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Break down of tours- 1 hour legacy tour goes through a hall full of products as you learn about frank Lloyd wright, but you don't go into the bundling frank Lloyd wright designed.

2 hour landmark tour goes into the frank Lloyd wright building, into Fortaleza building (legacy tour). The tour I recommend and took.

3.5 hour tour is the 2 hour tour, plus two movies about the Johnson's expedition to S. America for Carnuaba wax.

It's all free, plan in advance though. My tour was packed and they seem like popular tours. i was told a minth in Advance, but i booked through the phone 2 weeks. Tours are Friday an Saturday, but sounds like in the winter they are just Fridays.

The Frank Lloyd Wright designed SC Johnson building is quite a sight. Stuck in the 1930's, it has the same essence you might expect in that time period. Unfortunately, you can't photograph in it, and they spend the least amount of time on this building. It is gorgeous though and everything is very well thought out. Come with questions if you really want to know a lot, the tour guides have the knowledge but I feel the keep it shorter on purpose.

Fortaleza hall is really cool too, but It focuses on the Johnson's expedition the S. America a little too much ( you will see what I mean). Seeing the product line was cool and their museum on frank Lloyd wright is cool too ( what they claim as free time) but I would have rather saw the first building longer.

If you like Frank Lloyd Wright, try checking out wingspread, one thing I would have liked to do while there.

Helpful?
Thank Jayhawkoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SC Johnson Headquarters also viewed

 

Been to SC Johnson Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing