We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Charges and Old Furnishings/ Musty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Racine Harbourwalk
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Racine
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My stay was not pleasant from beginning to end and still over a month after my stay... When I first arrived with reservations we were told that they show our reservations as cancelled in their system. Fine, small error, they booked us a new room. Thank goodness one was still available because we were staying in the same hotel as the wedding party.
After check in you'll find there is no parking lot available for guests. You can stay in the city ramp across the street. Every time you move your car it cost you $2.00 just to get in and out. (not per day, per time you move your car)
The rooms are small with little accommodations. The rooms are old and musty. The beds are awful!!!! They clam to be sleep number, but our's were broken and the beds were so flat it may have been better to sleep on the floor. For $168.00 a night you would think you'd have a decent hotel bed and at least a microwave or a fridge in the room...Not here! By Sunday I could not wait to get home to a nice bed!
Lastly, it has been over a month past my stay and a charge $168.00 appears on my card again. I call the hotel thinking there must be an error and instead I was told there was a 'glitch' in the system and they had to go back through and re charge every card almost 35 days later. I have no problem paying for my stay up front, but for the hotel to not send a letter or call (at least who's name the room was under) and advise them of this 'glitch' and they'll be seeing a new charge over a month later is absolutely poor customer service. At first nothing was offered to me but a unapologetic apology, with a follow up of you should have notice the charge fell off a month ago. Really? I would have let this go, but he was rude and lacked customer service skills. I called corporate in which they offered me a night anywhere in the country to stay at one of their hotels...Bottom line, I would NEVER stay at this location or ever give any recommendations!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Racine Harbourwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Lindsey,
We are so sorry that your visit at the Radisson Hotel Racine Harbourwalk was not a pleasant experience. Your issues have already been reviewed with our management staff and we are glad that Carlson corporate could offer you something to rectify your experience with us.

After review, we noticed your room cancelation and payment issue began when the guest you stayed with cancelled the reservation. We are glad that our front desk could find you a room upon check-in and satisfy your request. And yes, we are sorry that your room payment was delayed.

It is unfortunate that your stay did not meet your expectations but we hope your next Carlson Hotel visit is a great experience. Thank you!

Best regards,
Radisson Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 794 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were in town for Ironman Racine 70.3. Positive of this hotel was the location - beautiful setting right on the water and close to the race activities.

For the price we paid, everything else was below average. Checking in the front desk clerk was not very friendly. The hotel furnishings were outdated. No fridge. No microwave. Slow Wi-Fi. Our towels had make-up stains on them. We stayed three nights and our in-room coffee was never replenished after the first night. You have to pay 2.00 EVERY time you park.

Overall, way overpriced for what you get.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank RLK655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Racine Harbourwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear RLK655,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay during the Ironman weekend. We are glad that you enjoyed our outstanding marina location. This hotel has a very high demand during this event and truly enjoys the involvement in this annual event.

We apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations. It seems that our staff overlooked some details during your visit which should not have occurred. We will address these with our staff to improve on our services.

At the current time our suites have refrigerators and microwaves but guests may request one of these in their standard room from our front desk. We will do our best to accommodate this upon check-in. The hotel will be experiencing renovations which will address the in-room refrigerators and update the quality of the hotel. We hope to see you again after these great updates are completed.

Parking is limited in the downtown area and that is why we have a city parking structure available for guests to utilize. It does require a $2 fee per entrance. There are a lot of restaurants, shops, museums and beach within walking distance from the hotel. Our guests enjoy the proximity and convenience of these outlets.

Once again, we are sorry to hear of your experience but hope you give us another opportunity to make it more pleasurable visit.

Best regards,
Radisson Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice location, walking distance to pubs and restuarants.

Hotel had a very musty smell, but was otherwise clean, perhaps some recent rain damage.

Room was fairly large.

Cleaning staff were a little noisy in the morning.


Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
Thank peterobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Racine Harbourwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Radisson Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to visit our downtown shopping, restaurants and nearby sites. Yes, the marina is very attractive this time of year and our summer boaters appreciate our great location.

We apologize that you experienced an unpleasant odor during your stay. It may have been caused by the construction taking place near the hotel. This project is scheduled to be completed soon and we hope that this will then eliminate any odors being expelled from that area.

We hope to see you again very soon! There are some great community events scheduled during the summer / fall season that offer wonderful local food and family fun to enjoy.
Warmest regards,
Radisson Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is a good place to stay. It's clean with pleasant staff at both the front desk and housekeeping areas. There are a few things that need to be said though. First, you have to pay $2.00 to park in a public ramp next door each time you enter. It cost us $12.00 for our four day stay. Secondly, there are three floors in the Radisson, and only one ice machine working and it's on the first floor. There is another one, but it was broken during our stay. Lastly, we paid extra for a marina view, but the view was blocked by a big tree right in front of the window! All in all, it was a good place to stay and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winger9676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Racine Harbourwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Winger9676,
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit at the Radisson Hotel Racine Harbourwalk. The summer is a wonderful time to visit and explore the marina, downtown shopping, Racine Zoo, North Beach, downtown museums and more....

We apologize about the parking structure near the hotel. Parking is limited and this structure is conveniently close but owned and managed by the city.

We are glad that you received the marina view guest room that you requested. The hotel sits on the marina offering views from many angles. We are sorry if the tree near your room blocked any views.

Please keep us in mind for another visit. We would be delighted to see you again and be sure to remind our front desk staff about your limited view so we can improve on this for your future stay.

Best regards,
Radisson Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here during a business trip a while back. Has a nice location near on the waterfront and on the end of a quiet street. Mind you it was early December and was quite baltic at the time outdoors but no snow.
Rooms seem to have tired decor and see others have complained about the cleanliness of things in general. Though I did not find it too bad, I have stayed in better and worse places than this.

Restaurant a bit tricky to find from inside the hotel itself, also looked a bit tired on the inside. times it felt like the staff didn't want to be there. Menu left alot to be desired and was hard to find "small" portions of anything on it.

I did like the "sleep by number" beds and found it was probably the best thing about the hotel overall. Parking is in a parking lot next to the hotel where it is a dollar a day or something to that effect, plenty of spaces on offer.

Meets basic and average needs in this area but don't go in with high expectations.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank J5TPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Racine Harbourwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Radisson Guest,
Thank you for submitting your recent review from your visit back in December 2013. We appreciate your feedback.

We apologize if your stay did not meet your expectations. It is true that the current view of the lake and atmosphere is well received by our guests due to the beautiful tranquil sites that are seen in the summer season.

The Chancery Restaurant is connected to the hotel and does service our guests for "dining in" meals as well as room service. It is conveniently found on the north side of the building with an indoor corridor. We do have a great selection of other restaurants very close to the hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed the sleep number beds. Although some guests enjoy them, some look for the time when we will offer newer beds. Hotel updates are scheduled to take place sometime in 2014. We look forward to the new changes that the hotel will have to offer our guests.

We hope you try the Radisson again during your visit to the area. Perhaps a visit during the summer will result in a better experience.

Best regards,
Radisson Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were driving from Green Bay & planned on staying in Kenosha but it was getting dark & there was lots of road construction. I looked in our Moon Guide & saw this place. Looked at hotel website - On the water, tiki bar, restaurant, room service, free wifi - sounded good. Well, for over $100 I expected the restaurants to be open as listed & wifi to be working. No mini fridge, no balcony (just sliding glass door to a 2-story drop). Agree with others re- lack of concern by staff. How are they still on business?

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WindyCityTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Racine Harbourwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Windy City Tripper,
Thank you for your feedback on your current visit in May. We apologize that your experience did not meet your needs.

The Radisson Hotel does have plenty of areas to get a bite to eat. We offer a hotel coffee shop, restaurant next door and plenty of downtown restaurants within walking distance. The Tiki Bar that you mentioned is a seasonal outdoor bar which has not yet opened for the warm season but will be very soon! You will need to visit again when it is open to experience it's great view of the lake and tasty beverages.

We apologize if the WIFI internet was not working properly during your stay. This is a complimentary service that we know needs to be available for our guests daily usage.

We do have suites that have refrigerators and microwaves included but are happy to assist when guest request them in their standard rooms. If you place your request with our front desk, they are sure to check availability and do their best to accommodate.

You are correct, we do not have balconies attached to our guest rooms. We have many rooms offering a glorious view of the lake but at the current time balconies are not a option at our property. Due to our lakefront location, safety is a concern and we wish to keep everyone safe especially children.

Our staff try to make every guest's stay a great experience. We hope to see you again and we welcome you to utilize our front desk staff by asking for recommendations, assistance with guest room needs or provide a service that will make your visit a pleasurable stay.

Best regards,
Radisson Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our recent stay at Radisson Hotel wasn't nice at all. The staff showed no emotions, even as I tried to warm up to them by joking with them. Our stay was somewhat comfortable. The sleep by number beds should be more of an option rather than a standard for most of the rooms. When I was using the control for the "Sleep by Number" bed. When I grabbed the control there was a sticky substance on the cable and the control. For most people that would give you a sick feeling not knowing what you had touched. I reached for a hand towel and there was a yellow substance on the towel as if the towel wasn't cleaned at all. We requested an extra blanket and the blanket had holes in it and was worn. We asked for coffee from the front desk, and was directed to purchase coffee from the Kiosk. The building on the outside was weathered and really needed some repairs. The staff was unfriendly, and was rude as we asked to check out early. They have another hotel in a neighboring city, and just by driving by the location I could tell that would have been a better stay. Unfortunately that location was almost thirty miles from where I needed to be. For the money they charge you should get a nicer hotel. I have stayed at numerous hotels in their price range and I was very happy. This location needs to really look at their business practice and pay more attention to their guest and the standards you would like to see when you pay that amount of money. The only thing this place is a great location, and it would be great in the Summer when the Marina is busy.

Room Tip: Chose a hotel outside of the city. The city of Racine doesn't have a lot of hotel options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oneljt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Racine Harbourwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Radisson Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at the Radisson Hotel Racine Harbourwalk. We are very sorry to hear of your experience during your stay in April. It seems that you were not pleased with the customer service at the front desk which we will call to their attention for improvement.

After reading the items you mentioned regarding the bed remote control, dirty towel, hole in blanket and exterior of the hotel, we wish you would have brought this to the front desk's attention so they could have the opportunity to make your stay better immediately. Whether you needed another room or needed housekeeping sent to your room, we would have tried to improve on your current experience.

On behalf of the Radisson Hotel Staff, we apologize for your experience and will focus our efforts into making positive changes to meet our future guests expectations.

Best regards,
Radisson Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Racine
4.6 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Racine
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Racine
Comfort Inn Racine
#2 of 8 in Racine
127 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Racine
Fairfield Inn Racine
#3 of 8 in Racine
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn / Racine
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mt. Pleasant-Racine West, WI
10.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Kenosha Harborside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Racine Harbourwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Racine Harbourwalk

Address: 223 Gas Light Cir, Gaslight Pointe, Racine, WI 53403-1081 (Formerly Harbourwalk Hotel Racine)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Racine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Racine
Price Range: $137 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Racine Harbourwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among Racine hotels, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Racine Harbourwalk offers an enviable location, only 20 miles from Milwaukee General Mitchell Airport. Our location offers convenience for every traveler, whether visiting for business or leisure. Situated near major companies including SC Johnson and Case New Holland, our beautiful Lake Michigan location is also near many popular attractions such as North Beach and Historic Downtown Racine. Our guests enjoy comfortable guest rooms, meeting facilities, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Racine Harbourwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Racine
Racine Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing