We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 o'clock on a Sat. night & they were closing up shop!”

Fort Mulligan's Grillpub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“10 o'clock on a Sat. night & they were closing up shop!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have to give them a bad review. They have no set hours in the heart of Prairie du Chien, walking distance from the Miss. River with Iowa across the bridge and they were closed on July 13, 2013 - summer time! What the heck? On a Saturday night after the city fire works! We walked in and they were putting stools up on the bar and closing up. They sent us next door to a bar where we had card board pizza and good drinks. This was not our first time to visit here but it was our last.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JKing428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    96
    50
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Even though they were extremely busy and there was a wait, once we were seated the service was great. Never was my drink empty. The service was fast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Want great food and drinks? Go here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were just looking for a nice place to have a couple of drinks and maybe a sandwich for dinner. Got a really nice comfortable booth and ordered what we thought would be just regular food from a neighborhood bar. Wrong! This place is first class! Great drinks and really great food. Imagine, a grilled chicken breast cob salad with a real grilled chicken breast in it and not something that makes you wonder what it is. What's this...real bacon in it too? That was my wife's. I had the pork tenderloin sandwich, which was not like anything I had ever had before. Very tasty and served with a honey mustard sauce...Excellent!!!
The waite staff was very friendly and really made you feel welcome. We would highly recommend this Bar/Grill to everyone including families looking for a good variety of food choices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl - Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great teamwork!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited Fort Mulligan's Grillpub at the busiest time of the day on on one of the busiest Sundays of the year, and we were given impeccable, friendly service, We were very favorably impressed with the teamwork of the waitstaff. Someone who knows what she is doing has done a great job of training these young people. Guests were welcomed immediately and when a group left, the table was cleaned and reseated within three minutes, yet at no time did we feel at all rushed. We will return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went for the Saturday Prime rib. We asked the waitress if it was any good and she didn't have much to say. After a minute she said "A lot of people order it" Sort of had cold feet but we were there so both of us ordered it. The drinks, soup and salad came out right away. You get soup or salad not both. Order the soup, the salad was really just lettuce and croutons. The prime ribs came out and I was shocked! They were really, really good! Come to find out it must have been a new waitress. I wanted an extra butter for the potato and could not get her attention. She was always looking at the ground, never checked on us. Just delivered the food and came back to give the check. I'd try it again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Mulligan's Grillpub also viewed

Prairie du Chien, WI
 

Been to Fort Mulligan's Grillpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing