We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, a little hard to find.”
Review of Windsor Place Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Place Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Prairie du Chien
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, a little hard to find.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The manager matched the price of a competitor hotel that was full. He came in and helped with the fold out couch a even dressed it for us! Rooms were very clean and big enough for three adultsThe breakfast was fantastic. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cb8978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We checked in on Saturday afternoon for a 4:00pm wedding. Our room (204) was large with 2 firm queen beds and a sofa bed. Two high back arm chairs and a coffee table as well. Large 42" flat screen TV and a spacious bathroom. The toilet seat was in need of replacement but was useable. We were please with the accomodations in the room. The pool and hot tub were acceptable, rather small but ok. Our overall experience was a good one.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here for the Christmas weekend and we were very happy with our accomodations.
The hotel was very clean. The bed was harder than we like,but sleepable. The room was absolutely quiet, which is a plus anywhere I stay.
The whirlpool was covered when we went to enjoy it, but the staff there was very happy to uncover it and explain how to use it.
Both mornings we really enjoyed the continental breakfasts, which was stocked with fresh fruit, danish, cereals and toaster items. We particularly enjoyed the waffles!!! When we get back to Prairie Du Chien we will be sure to stay there again! We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed at the Windsor Place Inn one night, Sept. 6, 2011. The room we stayed in, 102, was a handicapped room, although we did not ask for one. The bed was a king size, and the hardest mattress I have ever slept, or tried to sleep on. Very uncomfortable to me, but my wife slept fine, so a matter of taste I guess. The room was large and in good shape. Also very clean. There was a refrigerator, and a microwave oven. There was a large wide screen TV mounted on the wall, but no HD programming was provided. I didn't try the advertised free WI-FI. The bathroom was large and clean, lots of handles everywhere, and a fold down seat on the tub, to accommodate handicapped guests. We heard some noise from other rooms, and traffic outside, but nothing unreasonable.

When we arrived I asked about the hours for the pool and hot tub, and was then informed the hot tub was "under construction". There was no indication of this on their website, and we were not informed when making the reservation over the phone directly with the motel. We would have stayed elsewhere if we had known ahead of time, we enjoy relaxing in a hot tub after a day on the road.

When we walked in on arrival, there was a sign on the front desk saying that the clerk was shuttling guests and would be back in twenty minutes! After we sat for about fifteen minutes, the desk clerk returned. She then told us as part of the check in process that the front desk was open 24 hours a day if we had any questions, I guess unless they had to shuttle more guests! I have never experienced a hotel or motel being totally unattended before. What if there was a real emergency, such as a fire, or what would stop someone from going behind the counter and accessing customers personal information, credit card numbers and such?

The room was fine, and with better management this could be a good property, but as of now I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsorplaceinn, Owner at Windsor Place Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear PjPeck,
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor and also for choosing the Windsor Place Inn for your stay. We value your business and feedback. Thank you for your positive comments about the size of the room and the cleanliness. However, I am disappointed in finding out that you had a negative experience. I do apologize for that and I want to let you know that we have taken steps forward to improving the hotel. One of the changes we have made to our shuttling service is that the manager is now at the hotel so it is not unattended. Again please accept our apologies and we thank you for your business.

Windsor Place Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed at the Windsor Place for a stop through trip in Prairie du Chien. It is located behind 2 hotels but the sign for Windsor was on the street between the 2 so we thought the hotel was next to the street. Fortunately we figured it out before we went into the wrong hotel. The appearance of the hotel is very nice. There are berry bushes growing along the parking lot along with flowers. Upon entering the front desk area is very well kept and tidy. 2 leather couches with a marbel topped coffee table greet you. We were later arriving than we planned and what we told them. The man in charge courteously helped us but didn't smile with a welcoming smile. The next day though, the other workers asked us if we needed help with anything a few times. The room was very comfortable looking with green-stained wood cabinetry and plaid couch, etc. Unfortulately the only complaint we had for the room was the bed. It was a standard bed versus a pillowtop. We ended up sleeping fairly well on the bed, but it wasn't my bed from home. The breakfast in the morning consisted of boiled eggs, toast, bagels, muffins, rolls, oatmeal, cold cereal, and juice (that's all I remember but that probably isn't all.) Overall, the hotel was a great place to stay for the night if you like a homey environment.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VGardengal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

My family had a vrey nice stay durring Memorial Weekend. Rooms, were clean, free breakfast was good (included fresh waffles), the pool was fun and the service was exceptional. The front desk gave excelent advice on places to eat and was particularly helpful when I was without my cell phone, they allowed me to use the front desk phone to make a quick long distance call. They also had free computer service and free printing.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

This motel shares a corner with two others but you can see the sign from the main road into town. Room 101 was newly redecorated and included fridge, microwave, flat screen tv and a computer with free internet! Big room, clean, air conditioned, and king bed. Very comfortable place to watch the Olympic opening ceremonies after dinner at Kaber's Supper Club. Be sure to go to the riverside park. Staff were very helpful and very friendly. The only negative about the room was that it lacked a rack to hang clothes. Continental breakfast in the morning was adequate. Highly recommend.

  • Liked — Big and very clean
  • Disliked — No closer/rack to hang clothes.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prairie du Chien
0.2 mi away
Bluffview Inn & Suites
Bluffview Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
152 reviews
1.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Prairie Du Chien
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Prairie...
#1 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Prairie du Chien
Super 8 Prairie du Chien
#3 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
286 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Marquette, IA/Prairie Du Chien
0.6 mi away
Bridgeport Inn
Bridgeport Inn
#7 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Place Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Place Inn

Property: Windsor Place Inn
Address: 1936 S Marquette Rd, Prairie du Chien, WI 53821-3031
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Prairie du Chien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Prairie du Chien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Place Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Windsor Place Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing