We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review on "water park" only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Prairie du Chien
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Review on "water park" only”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We paid for the day to swim at their pool. It has one large water slide and 3 basketball hoops. It does have a nice little area for younger kids. My two older boys enjoyed the basketball hoops and only did the slide 2 or 3 times. They were in the water for 3 1/2 hours and enjoyed it. We had planned on eating at the attached bar and grill as there is a window you can order food from but we learned after paying for the pool and being there for a bit that it isn't open on Sundays! Big let down as we had to then leave earlier than we had planned to go eat elsewhere. Also, I noticed one Mom of two girls had a bag of some type of snack sitting on their table. The lifeguard went over and must have told her no food is allowed because the parent immediately put it away. The info paper they hand you with rules about the pool area when you pay also stated no food or carry ins allowed. It said it must be bought from the attached bar and grill. WELL THAT IS HARD TO DO WHEN IT IS CLOSED! You need to allow carry in snacks/drinks the days the bar and grill is not going to be open. Also, there were two life guards on duty. I was sitting on a lounge chair next to windows when one of them came and started spraying the windows with cleaner and wiping them down. I literally had to get up and move so she could do the window by my chair. She said oh, you are okay and don't have to move. I said yes, I do. The smell is overwhelming and I rather not get sprayed on. She did NOT get the hint. Then a half hour later, she starts going around with a broom. She proceeds to sweep in my space which was very annoying. It is nice they want to keep things clean but do not do so when you will be in the immediate space of customers. We chose not to stay at this hotel as they allow pets and we much prefer a hotel that does not allow pets. Also this hotel didn't have as good of reviews as other hotels in the area. It was nice though that we could swim at one place and sleep at another. And an older lady who I believe was named Doris noticed we were short a plastic bag to put my sons wet swimming suit in when we were out by the bathrooms after changing. She immediately noticed that and said she would go get us a bag. How nice of her to go that little extra mile! She also shared with us names of good restaurants to go to in the area.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MidwestIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel/water park. I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

Please feel free to call 608-326-5700 with any concerns or suggestions.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    79
    71
    38
    24
See reviews for
166
61
2
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My family stayed here as a half-way point on our way to see family for Christmas. The kids loved staying in a hotel, and enjoyed the waterpark as well. Hotel is average overall, room was clean. We had our small/non-shedding dog with us, and we paid a $20 deposit to have him there. Definitely no pet odors/messes from other pets that we noticed. Waterpark is small, but nice sized for our kids (age 7 & 3). Free breakfast in the morning was very good! We will definitely stay again, as this is a perfect location for us. Also very close to Cabellas. I will say the restaurant at the hotel wasn't the greatest, but there are several places to eat in Prairie Du Chien.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I have a dog, and this is the only hotel I could find in Prairie du Chien that would accept pets. That said, it was VERY clean and there were no "naughty dogs have stayed here" smells. Breakfast was copious and the attendant made sure nothing ran low.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time with us!

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenosha,wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were driving through to Iowa and decided to stop. When we arrived had no reservation but were treated very nicely. Beth at thd front desk was awesome and very informative. She didn't make us feel rushed and answered all of our questions. Because of Beth we will defiantly be back. Thanks for the great first impression.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimgirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete to review us on Trip Advisor!

Beth was honored that you mentioned her by name. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize her for a job well done!

On behalf of our entire staff we thank you for your business and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were told when we checked in on Aug 11th they had over booked the hotel. They said they had a room for us, but with no blankets and was told that we could use the comforter. When we went in the room there was no comforter just an old bedspread! Went back to the front desk and asked for some sheets to use as a blanket. They ONLY had 2 old twin sheets and something they called a twin blanket. Not sure what it was but not a blanket! We had a king bed! We had no choice but to make due at this point. Went to close the curtains and found no room darkening shade, so we had to use the thing they called a blanket. That night went to bed and when the air kicked on it blow down on us like we were at the north pole! Had to but your head under the sheets. The next morning went to iron something and NO iron. Took a shower and the door stop was right in the middle of the floor where you step out. OUCH. Wanted to complain on the way out but to many people checking out and couldn't wait to leave! They did send a email to review our stay and told them everything. We NEVER heard a word from this place. By the way we paid full price for our room with no discount. We only wanted a place to sleep. We did not use the pool or stayed for breakfast. Not even a apology for a hotel room with no blanket!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed these concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations.

We would like to discuss this matter further with you. We ask that you please contact us at cx_pdcw@countryinns.com at your earliest convenience.

We look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We love this hotel! Only stayed two nights and the staff greeted us and children by name! Kids loved the pool are, wife loved the margaritas from the attached restaurant. Brooke and Bobbi at the desk were fantastic! They were both working when we stayed two years ago! Outdoor area of this hotel is beautiful.

Room Tip: bluff view rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank americantravler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us!

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have shared your compliments with our staff and they were delighted to be mentioned by name.

We hope to see you when your travels bring you back this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here two nights (late July) in the two room suite (which includes a room with two bunk beds, great for our large family). Better than average free breakfast. ***Everyone*** who worked there was kind, helpful, and gracious. My younger kids loved the super pool (OK calling it a waterpark is a little bit much, but it is definitely a spiffed up large indoor pool). The value midweek was fantastic, we swam and hiked in the various state parks around Prairie du Chein. I didn't think much of the town, but wish we could go to this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel!

I have shared your compliments with our staff. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize them for a job well done!

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prairie du Chien
1.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Prairie Du Chien
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Prairie...
#1 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
587 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bluffview Inn & Suites
Bluffview Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
153 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Marquette, IA/Prairie Du Chien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Windsor Place Inn
Windsor Place Inn
#9 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
48 reviews
3.3 mi away
Super 8 Prairie du Chien
Super 8 Prairie du Chien
#3 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
200 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bridgeport Inn
Bridgeport Inn
#7 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien
Address: 1801 Cabelas Ln, Prairie du Chien, WI 53821-8739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Prairie du Chien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Prairie du Chien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie Du Chien, Wi Hotel Prairie Du Chien
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Prairie Du Chien, Wi
Country Inn Prairie Du Chien
Prairie Du Chien Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing