We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“learn to laugh it off”
Review of The Depot Bar

The Depot Bar
Restaurant details
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
“learn to laugh it off”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We ate at the Depot last summer, will probably go back again this July. Waitress and bartender were both a little rude, we just had to laugh it off. Had a very nice tasty lunch that day with a couple bloody mary's. I was on vacation, not gonna get all up in a tizzy over someone being rude.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
341 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent a very interesting hour here chatting to locals and enjoying a fabulous burger with a nice cold beer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
“To the extremely rude couple to my friend.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

First of all I would just like to say....HOW DARE YOU??? How could somebody be so heartless and heartfull to say any those comments??? Ok I get you might not have been a fan of the food or the service but do make such personal, inappropriate comments about someone? Well, i would chalk that up to a hate crime. The person that you are slamming is one of my best friends and she is NOTHING like the person you described in your horrible comment.

I am not from Prairie, but that bar was one of the first bars I found when I started coming to the river 7 years ago and not only is the food great, but the girls that work have a heart of gold and are amazing friends. I would recommend the place to anyone!!!

By the way, my son says that the girls that work there are the best!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angiewiebers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dodge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good, cold beer!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice staff and good service. Nostalgia lingers thru this old depot restaurant, with outdoor seating as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No Good.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in for a quick drink and a meal, but I wish I researched this place beforehand. The bar looks appealing from the outside, but we were treated very poorly inside. There were a handful of drunk locals at the bar and we were all but ignored for almost 20 minutes before the waitress came over. When she did take our order, it felt like she was bothered by us and we are pretty sure we were the butt of some of her jokes with the locals.
As for the food, everything was slow, the burgers were very average, and the service was awful. I hate going to businesses that treat you this way... we'll never be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Sisyphus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Depot Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Depot Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing