We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leisure Cruise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mississippi Explorer Cruises

Mississippi Explorer Cruises
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fully-guided riverboat cruises through the wild and scenic backwaters of the Mississippi River's wildlife refuge. Our unique tours will take you within feet of beautiful backwater riverbanks, eagle nests, beaver lodges, turtle logs, muskrat huts, blooming lotus, water lilies, and more!
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Leisure Cruise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Two hour scenic tour of inner channels in search of wild life. Mid-summer cruise. Spotted 4 bald eagles, several trukey vultures, blue herons, and turtles. Since the families of the Captian and First Mate were in the tow-boat business, we were given a lesson in channel dredging and the operation of barges and tows on the Mississippi. Pleasant trip, would come back for fall foilage tour. Bring a snack and beverage - no place nearby to purchase one.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PezHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Must-Do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were a little hesitant at first when the day of our reservation was overcast with a few showers but were pleasantly surprised when the boat was equipped for the weather and very comfortable. The crew was amazing--very welcoming and informative. The critters were out in full force too as we saw eagles, a couple muskrats, and even spotted a river otter! We were even able to bring our own snacks & drinks on board which was a nice bonus too! The whole family loved it! We'll definitely be back next year!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mts0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, WI
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful river cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is our 2nd trip on the M.E.cruises, having taken the LaCrosse cruise last year. The cruise was nice. We got to see plenty of eagles nests, most had the eaglets that were almost ready to leave the nest. If you have never been on a river cruise, this would be a good way to see the river and wildlife.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Watertown_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vacation weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Beautiful day, scenic tour. Fun atmosphere, great snacks and stories

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun Way To Experience The Mississippi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We took the Wednesday cruise out of Prairie du Chien at the peak of fall color, on a bright sunny day. Our captain and first mate were very entertaining and great about taking questions. We only saw two eagles (pretty close up), 2 blue herons and lots of turtles on our trip. Considering the size of the boat and the time of the cruise, that was actually pretty good. The captain noted that the animals are more active when the weather isn't perfect. So don't cancel your reservation just because it's cloudy or slightly drizzly. On our ride they also went between some of the islands that lie between the shipping channels - spots that can only be viewed by boat.

Make sure you take binoculars. And even if you make reservations, you need to get there early and stop by the ticket booth. Getting there early can help you get your seat of choice, although there aren't really any seats without a good view. They don't mind the adults getting up and walking around during the cruise to take pictures.

We took drinks, which we were glad we had - keep your cooler small, because there is no room "under the seats" because that is where the life jackets are. They do sell bottled water for $1. The bathroom (head) on board was clean and appreciated. I think small children would get too antsy during the 2 hour trip but older kids might like it, especially if they like boats.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank mmoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mississippi Explorer Cruises also viewed

Prairie du Chien, WI
 
Prairie du Chien, WI
 

Been to Mississippi Explorer Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing