We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night, just passing through the area. The hotel is not much to look at from the outside, but the room itself was comfortable and clean.

The beds were comfortable and I liked that the room had a nice-sized mini fridge and a microwave. Everything worked fine (a/c, shower, TV, coffee maker, etc). The continental breakfast was a nice touch; nothing fancy but beats fast food.

I didn't find the service here to be anything special. They were pleasant enough at check-in but seemed annoyed when I called down to the front desk for an extra bath towel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I do apologize for the Front Desk giving you an annoyed impression, I will certainly bring this to their attention, to ensure it does not happen again. Hope to see you again if you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    88
    45
    17
    10
See reviews for
93
60
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

not the least expensive, but reasonable. Off the beaten path, about 9 miles north of 90/94 hwy. Good thing I had a GPS.

The desk attendant was away when I arrived at 11 pm, but I didn't wait long. She was very friendly. She offered a wake up call.
I requested a first floor room close to entrance and was given room 102.
The bathroom was clean. Our queen beds were comfortable. The room is typical, but nicely decorated. Had a microwave and refrigerator.

Upon entry, the room was warm and stuffy.Took the a/c 4 hours to feel cool. We requested a fan but they had none.

Other reviews mentioned noise, but this night, a Wednesday, was quiet.

We chose not to get going by 9am in order to partake of the free breakfast, so no comment.

Because of the location I may think twice before booking again. As they say, location, location, location!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will look up what room you were in and have the maintenance person check it out to make sure it is working properly. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

ITs always a gamble on accomodations since pics don't always look like the real thing, but at the price we got it for, we were happy with our stay. There is a church adjacent to the hotel, we were able to enjoy some family down time flying kites and throwing frisbee there, and then even able to walk over to walmart for a few things with the little ones--if you do this, go through the oil change/tire door in the back, then you don't have to go around to front. Your average continental breakfast, but so crowded that we grabbed yogurt and hit the road. There was a wedding party there so lots of kids in rooms, but we really didn't notice extra noise--probably because we had our own kids, and are sometimes relieved when there are other kids around so we aren't the loud annoying family. We rarely saw people in the halls, must depend on your stay, we were there on a june weekend. On the website we booked this, it was compared to a couple of the waterpark resorts in wis dells, I found that strange, it seems to me to be in a separate category.

Room Tip: I wasn't sure if it was all suites, but to clarify, its not, we were in a standard queen double...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TreehouseTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, the breakfast area does get crowded at times, but we have extended hours on the weekends to help combat this problem. We are glad that you got to spend some quality family time, and hope to see you again if you are in this area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I really hate writing bad reviews because I know people really try to please, and to begin, all interaction with employees was very positive. However, I have never in my life experienced a hotel where you could hear every word spoken in the next room. First, I had wanted to leave the patio door open while we slept because the air was so nice and cool that night. However, there were young sounding voices exploding firecrackers in the parking lot below so I had to shut the door because of that noise. Then the people in the next room came home about 10 PM, apparently with a few other couples. When they were talking they may as well have been standing right next to our bed. There must be absolutely no soundproofing whatsoever between the rooms. I really couldn't quite believe it. We got little or no sleep until about 2 AM when the group next door finally disbursed. The hotel is a very nice facility, but I doubt that I'd stay there again because of the paper thin walls.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holldoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I apologize for the noise issues that occured when you stayed with us. I am not sure if you called the front desk or not, but I assure you they would have taken care of any noise issues had they been made aware of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Although the staff was great, the sheer number of guests made this stay less than pleasant. We could get to sleep due to guest hanging out in hallways, we awoke early to yelling and playing and when we attempted to take advantage of the free breakfast, NO WAY! We would have had to wait for a long period to just get food, if any was left, and then stand to eat. I don't think so. They are not prepared to handle the number of people that were there that weekend. They need a kid free floor or something!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cemarie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We would like to apologize for you being kept up during the night, some people do not realize that their voices carry and that other people may be trying to sleep. I realize that the breakfast area was very busy and I am sorry that you were unable to take advantage of the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Bed felt like I was sleeping on a box spring. Room did not smell clean. Would not recommend staying at this hotel until some updates are done. Location was good. I expected better out of Best Western.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Manager20, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I apologize for the mattresses not meeting your expectations, we are currently in the process of getting new ones. Hopefully you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations, if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant, Oklahoma, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stay here every time I'm in Portage for business. The staff is friendly and have always went above and beyond to assist me. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is in Portage. It's right off the highway and easy to access.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 890EricP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Manager20, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are very happy that you choose to stay with us, when you are in the area and for the awesome review. Thank you for your continued business!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 6 in Portage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Portage
Days Inn Portage
#4 of 6 in Portage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
16.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ridge Motor Inn
Ridge Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Portage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
12.9 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
16.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2701 County Road CX, Portage, WI 53901-9268
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portage Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing