We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good tasting food”
Review of Larry's Smoke House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Grand Opening December 10th, 2011.
Restaurant details
Description: Grand Opening December 10th, 2011.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, good tasting food”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Ordered at the bar for carry-out and everthing was great. Pulled pork and brisket were tender and tasty (ask them for some extra sauce as they were both a bit dry). The cole slaw is a unique creamy mix that'll surprise as is the broccoli rice & cheese. Heard the ribs are excellent but didn't try ourselves. Prices are affordable and portions are decent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bejay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    1
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrimac, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Not eating at Larry's Smokehouse would be a big mistake!”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We've gone twice to Larry's Smokehouse, and both times the food and service were exceptional. Our server Star was very friendly and attentive. Larry's Smokehouse is a wonderful addition to downtown Portage. The food is great! The prices are more than reasonable, and you won't go away hungry. Everyone should treat himself to a meal at Larry's regularly!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terrijwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, WI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“From a 5 ranking to a 1 in one month of being open”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I wrote a review about Larry's Smoke house when they first opened. The food and service was fantastic!! Great ribs; beer can chicken, fantastic; pulled pork, awesome. The service, fun and spot on. Since that writing we have been back 6 times, bringing family and friends in to experience what we had the first time we were there. Each time the food and service would drop in quality. First it started out with them running out of items on the menu, and this was early in the evening, 6-6:30pm. The next time the food quality was not the same as when we tried it the first time. You could tell that the ribs were reheated and well as dry and flavorless. The side dishes were served cold, nothing worse than mac and cheese in a restaurant served cold in the middle. Plus it seemed each time we went in to the restaurant our server or bartender was new, and this was within one month's period of time! But the last time we said to ourselves, "let's give them one more try". We loved the beer can chicken. The first time we tried it the skin was crispy just like it came off the grill at home, with a spice that was out of this world. This time the bird came drownding in hot sauce and right out of either the pressure cooker or boiling water. The smell alone repulsed me. We tried one bite and sent it back. The server had brought out our two side dishes, small bowls of coleslaw and cold mac and cheese. This we had ate because we were starving at this point. we declined ordering anything else and asked for our bill. This was the last straw, she charged us $18.00 for two small coleslaws, two cold mac and cheese and two soft drinks. Not even attempting to make ammends for such a terrible meal. At this point we decided that we were misled to believe that this would be a great restaurant and a wonderful addition to the community. I want to take this opportunity to apoligize to anyone that read my first review expecting a great meal only to be dissappointed and had as bad an experience as we have had over the last 6 visits.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nite_ICU_RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great new restraunt in portage!!!!!”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

i went there with my friends for lunch and got the pulled pork sandwich with coleslaw and fries. hats off to the cook and larry's recipes! the coleslaw was the best i've had in a long time!! we were taken care of by larry himself, he kept our drinks full and made sure we were enjoying our food. the pulled pork was juicy and served on a soft fresh kaiser roll. delicious!!! the thick cut fries were cooked to perfection!! we didnt order the mac and cheese but he brought some out for us to try cuz we were curious. i mean anyone can make mac an cheese right? not like this . . .it was just how homemade mac an cheese should taste. overall i give the food 5 stars, the service 5 stars and the atmosphere comfy. once he gets murals on the walls it will be cozy. i will definitely be eating here again!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michelle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall---wouldn't go back!!!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Sorry but it was not good! Wrong beer, burned mac n cheese, cold food, burned and cold vegetables, plus the bbq sauce was not good! I wanted this place to be good! We live in Portage and want businesses to survive!
Ordered a 1/2 lb burger "The Steakhouse". You would think wow this is going to good! Don't!!! It was overcooked and best guess MAYBE 1/3 lb. Disappointing to see people sitting at the bar and that own or help run the place and dont even look over their shoulder when you send back beer that is is in the wrong dispensers. The cook came out at the end and we told her it was not great. ( We were trying to be polite). She said she would take off some of the bill.......Guess what... didnt
happen! We just left and and will not send friends and family there. Their loss. The best thing about the whole meal was the trip home.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadio525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larry's Smoke House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing