We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tenderloin.”
Review of Tamarack Pizza

Tamarack Pizza
Ranked #3 of 55 Restaurants in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best tenderloin.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We went with seven people, the building is very small, but they accommodated us at the bar. They lost my order due to a change in cooks and put heavy peppers on a sandwich that was supposed to have mild peppers. Other than that our party was satisfied. It really was the best tenderloin sandwich I've ever eaten and my friends say three hamburger was incredible! Oh yeah, really good pizza.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vitales2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portage,WI
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place for Burgers”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We like their burgers, although we have found a place that has better ones recently. These guys still come in second for their burgers...a good pick. It is a small place. Sometimes people are seated rear to rear. ....Friendly waitstaff. Parking can be full at times...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronna1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food every time at a reasonable price.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Can't go wrong with the pizza, lots of cheese. Best burgers around and the steak sandwich is excellent. It isn't fine dining to be sure, but for a friendly small town meal with bar service, you can't do better. They ground their beef fresh daily and grill burgers on griddle. Best with grilled mushrooms, onions, and swiss. Not the most healthy fare though.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lasagna”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This small place has great lasagna, burgers and chili. The subs are great, especially the Tamarack special. I don't eat processed lunch meats, but I tried thousands it was incredible. The atmosphere is friendly.however the place is a total dive, and the owner is cheap. he won't respond to area charities when they contact him for fundraisers. However, the food is good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wisconsingirl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Bar food”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is your typical small town bar/restaurant. Nothing fancy, very small, but AWESOME food. We personally love the Steak Sandwich, Reuben and Tamarack Special. Have not ever tried the pizza because we love the sandwiches so much we always order them. The service can be slow if it is packed but if you are sitting back and having a drink and not in a hurry it isn't that bad. If you are looking for "fast" food then go to McDonalds.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gooddeal316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarack Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Tamarack Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing