We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed because of the price...will return because of the staff and clenliness!!!”
Review of Super 8 Portage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Portage
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Taylorville, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stayed because of the price...will return because of the staff and clenliness!!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We decided to head to Wisconsin Dells a day early, and had a hard time finding a room for a Saturday night. This place was very reasonably price, so we gave it a shot. for around $50, we couldn't ask for more. The staff was very friendly at check-in, advising us of the cont breakfast and other things offered. We requested a ground floor room, and received one very near the front desk. Everything was clean and orderly. The laundry area where the hotel launders the sheets, towels, etc had the door open and was spotless. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a spot in the celing that needed repaired...perhaps from water damage from the floor above, but not a big deal. Definately the best place we have stayed at in the $50 range.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyWorldFan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraInn, Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us at the Portage Super 8!! We appreciate your feedback and are glad we were able to provide you with clean and comfortable lodging. Our goal is to provide every guest with exceptional service. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    120
    44
    9
    6
See reviews for
131
79
38
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2010

when we first got there, we thought it looked nice, intill we let our child play on the floor. She doesnt walk , and she ended up alllllll black from their carpet. I have never had this problem anywhere else. you cant even stay clean in that place without getting black. So their carpet was NASTY! We complained about it so they were aware of how gross it was. Then 2 days into our stay there they didnt even CLEAN OUR ROOM! didnt leave towels nothing. We went down and complained about that as well. You think if they want good business they would do a better job. Well so anyhow i guess if you want to stay in a nasty hotel then go ahead but we will never stay there again. they didnt even give us a discount for all the trouble they put us thru and they didnt really care.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becca121701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraInn, Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
I would like to personally apologize that your recent experience at our hotel was less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Cleanliness and service are of our utmost concern, and I am very sorry that we fell short of your expectations, as well as our own.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. Again, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We were a group of 10 people (3 families with children) on a Skiing holiday to Cascade mountains, Portage, WI. We spent 2 nights at Super 8 Portage. The place was conveniently located to all restuarants, shops and Cascade mountains. The place is very clean,well maintained and the staff very friendly and warm. The price is very resonable too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunithanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortageSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, December 30, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate your feedback, and are pleased that you were satisfied with your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Good location, clean, friendly service and a good price. Everything I needed for one nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaperTiger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortageSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Thank you so much for your feedback! Your comments are extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

This motel is well kept, clean and comfortable with a fridge in the room. The room and motel halls, however smelled strong of Fabriz, or similar spray they use. The first night I could not sleep with the strong chemical smell. The next night we turned up the AC with the vent fan going anf opened a window. This solved the problem. The breakfast was not attended to well and items were quickly running out. Overall, thiough, for the price, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magiccook40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraInn, Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, August 21, 2009
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to take this opportunity to thank you for rating our motel in regard to your recent experience at our hotel. We appreciate you bringing your concerns about odor and breakfast to our attention. We take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness and service, and apologize that you experienced a time that we were not meeting (and exceeding) those standards. Please know that your comments have been addressed with our staff.

I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2009

The hotel 8 has a very friendly helpful staff, the room was clean and the continental breakfast was good. The location is good. They should get rid of that charge for the security box which is charged unless you request it not be. If a person needs this they would ask. Other than that my stay was good, thanks to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felixthecat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortageSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, July 23, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We value all responses, both good and bad, and were pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to serving you again when you're back in Portage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, WI
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2009

I have always been made to feel welcomed and I just want everyone to know that when we come to Portage I feel so at home staying at the Super 8. Thanks to Angie who checked us out and I think her name was Vicki who checked us in, always friendly, we'll see you again in about a week and another 2 nights in early June. Elizabeth can be so proud of her staff and just for the record Elizabeth is also a very caring and welcoming lady and I'm sure her staff respond to people because they see their manager do the same thing. Thanks for the opportunity to express my thanks to all of them. S&G .W.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ss52900s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortageSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Thank you for your wonderful comments and positive review! We are all proud of our hotel, and are pleased that you enjoy your stays with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
6.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Portage
Days Inn Portage
#4 of 6 in Portage
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ridge Motor Inn
Ridge Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Portage
55 reviews
16.4 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
16.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portage

Property: Super 8 Portage
Address: 3000 New Pinery Rd, I-90/94 Exit Hwy 78 to Hwy 5, Portage, WI 53901-9200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portage 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Portage Hotel Portage
Super Eight Portage
Portage Super Eight
Portage Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing