We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evertthng was fine except the overwhelming smell of air...”
Review of Super 8 Portage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Portage
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Northfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Evertthng was fine except the overwhelming smell of air...”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Evertthng was fine except the overwhelming smell of air freshener when we opened the door. We got used to it but it was very powerful, as if they were trying to mask a worse odor. When we came back to the room after dinner, we were again greeted by a very strong air freshener smell. It was way too much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Joe K.,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize for the issues you had with the room odor. The room deodorizer that we use has a mild scent, but it is possible there was perfume or other strong odor lingering from a prior guest. In any event, we should have aired the room out better, and apologize that we did not.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future so that you can experience a room with a fresh clean scent. :)

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Woyt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    120
    44
    9
    6
See reviews for
131
79
38
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NE WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This motel is a basic travel motel. The rooms are clean, the bed comfortable, and quiet. We slept in and were surprised at the time. The staff were couteous and friendly. We stayed here a few years ago snd the motel has been well maintained. The price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Trailblazers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear "2Trailblazers",

Thank you so much for the excellent review! We are pleased that you continue to enjoy our hotel during your visits to Portage. Our staff works hard to keep the property well maintained and clean. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team. :)

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Woyt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peshtigo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

After a long day, full of mishaps and a few no vacancies, I end up stopping here looking for a room for the night. Sometimes things just have a way of working out better then expected! The room was quiet, very clean ,the Internet works, and the bed so comfortable it made me wish I didn't have to get up and leave! Special thank you to Dennis for being so understanding and I so hope this is one of those times that your good dead pays off 7 fold. you can count on the next time I find myself in Portage ,I won't hesitate coming straight here ,and I'll pass it on to my company that when booking in Portage this is where we want to be.Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Pretty sure they are all good ,but really liked my room in the other building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello "homeon64",

Thank you for your glowing review! I am pleased that you were able to find lodging at our hotel, especially after a long day. I was thrilled to see that Dennis took good care of you during your stay in Portage, and that you found your room clean, and bed comfortable. I will be sure to share your comments with our team, and thank Dennis for a job well done. We look forward to seeing you again when you come through town. :)

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Woyt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice motel. Good breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay at the Super 8 again on my next trip to Portage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hello Deborah,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Portage Super 8. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our breakfast and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the team. :)

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Woyt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
6.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Portage
Days Inn Portage
#4 of 6 in Portage
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ridge Motor Inn
Ridge Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Portage
55 reviews
16.4 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
16.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portage

Property: Super 8 Portage
Address: 3000 New Pinery Rd, I-90/94 Exit Hwy 78 to Hwy 5, Portage, WI 53901-9200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portage 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Portage Hotel Portage
Super Eight Portage
Portage Super Eight
Portage Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing