We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the way to Circus World”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Portage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Portage
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“On the way to Circus World”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the Portage Wisconsin Super for 2 nights as we went to Wisconsin Dells and the Circus Worldin Baraboo. The inn was very nice - clean and very friendly. The room was clean and in good repair. The employes were very friendly and really knew their business. Breakfast was fine for my wife. I am on a no carb diet and just had coffee. I will stay there again and continue to stay at Super 8's Just John from Illinois

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmeyers2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear jpmeyers2003,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found your room clean and our staff friendly – this is our goal for every guest to experience.
I have made note of your concerns with the breakfast (lack of non-carb items) and will be sure to share with our franchise.

Again, thank you for your feedback. If you’re on Facebook, we welcome you to "like" us in order to stay connected and watch for exclusive offerings.

With warm regards,

Elizabeth Woyt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    118
    43
    9
    6
See reviews for
129
77
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My brother made this reservation at Portage Super 8. I was not too sure what we would find - but was very pleased by this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and everything was in good working order. The desk gal was very helpful at everything. There was a great restaurant a mile and a half down the frontage Rd. too. A local spot. I would recommend this Super 8.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Jennie G.,

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! Please also extend our note of thanks to your brother for choosing our hotel for your reservation. I will be sure to share your comments with our team, and commend them for providing you with an exceptional experience.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future. If you're on Facebook, we encourage you to “Like” us (Portage Super 8) and stay connected with upcoming exclusive offerings.

Best Regards,

Elizabeth Woyt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just 20 minutes drive from Wisconsin Dell we got this hotel in very attractive price. Hotel is very nice and clean and in a very good location. Walmart, Subway, KFC and many others are in walking distance.
This hotel had very nice breakfast and we got 20 dollars off coupon for Mt. Olympus water park from the lobby! The staff were nice and friendly too. Would definitely recomend this to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujit-Mahapatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Sujit-Mahapatra,

It was a pleasure serving you and your family, and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I also appreciate your feedback on the Mt. Olympus tickets. This was our first year offering packages and discount coupons, and seeing that it was well-received by our guests, we will be sure to continue to do so in the future.

If you're on Facebook, be sure to “Like” us (Portage Super 8) to stay connected with our upcoming exclusive offerings. Hopefully we will see you again in the future, during your next vacation to the Wisconsin Dells or Portage.

With highest regards,

Elizabeth Woyt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Always a little wary about a budget-type hotel in a small town, but the Super 8 in Portage did not disappoint.   The staff here is to be commended. They seemed genuinely concerned about my stay.

My king room included an in-room safe, fridge but no microwave. The bathroom area, while small, had great water pressure and decent towels. The room could have used a few more electrical outlets, but that really wasn't a big issue.

The complimentary breakfast was rather limited - bananas, yogurt, two cereals, waffles - but the cinnamon rolls were large and better than the norm.

Wal-mart and Super K are nearby as well as a few chain restaurants.  

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Lee S.,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your recent stay! You are correct – our staff does care about each of our guests. It is our daily goal to provide a clean and comfortable lodging experience to everyone that walks through our door. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team, and commend them for a job well done.

If you’re on Facebook, we welcome you to "like" us in order to stay connected and look for exclusive offerings. If I can ever be of service to you in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

With warm regards,

Elizabeth Woyt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Wi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very clean. Internet worked great. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast of waffles was very good. In fact this establishment had one of the better breakfast layouts of all the Super 8s we have stayed at. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R and D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear R and D C,

We are pleased to see that we surpassed your expectations during your trip to Portage, and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We're also happy that you like the new breakfast layout, as this is one of Super 8's changes to provide brand consistency.

Please feel free to “like” us on Facebook (Portage Super 8) to stay connected with upcoming exclusive offerings. Thank you again for your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Elizabeth Woyt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very clean, comfortable beds, well maintained and a good value. We chose this rather then staying in Wisconsin Dells which was our destination. Front desk ladies were friendly and helpful. The only complaint was the internet, must be a bandwidth issue with too many users, connected but no internet access, they are aware this is a problem at times, but it did work at times so wasn't a big issue. I would choose this hotel again on my next stay, overall it was excellent. There is also a great steak and safood restaurant almost within walking distance, Suzys Steak & Seafood...well worth trying.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muldoon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Muldoon56,

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We rely on feedback such as yours to make improvements in any area that is needed. I apologize for the problems you encountered with the internet during your stay, and will make sure to pass your comments on to our corporate team to re-evaluate our internet service.

We are glad that you chose to stay with us, and look forward to being of service to you again. If you're on Facebook, be sure to “Like” us (Portage Super 8) to stay connected with our upcoming exclusive offerings.

Warmest Regards,

Elizabeth Woyt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtonsville, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

For me, service is key to satisfaction w/ hotel stays, and this hotel provided super friendly and responsive service. This was one of my best hotel stays (regardless how many stars a hotel has). Room was spacious and clean. The refrigerator was nice and cold. Wireless internet was free and reliable. The free continental breakfast was basic but nice and filling (esp. the self-made waffle). Location was good too, with convenient access to highways and nearby stores. In-room safe was good to have as well. And, of course, the 24-hour coffee! I got a 3-night discounted rate that was very reasonable. Overall, most impressed. Most memorable? The great staff!

Room Tip: I chose second floor for extra security, although the front desk person indicated the area is very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear wteng,

I am glad to hear that our staff provided you with exceptional customer service during your recent stay. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team!

If you're on Facebook, be sure to “Like” us (Portage Super 8) to stay connected with our upcoming exclusive offerings.

We hope to see you again in the future!

With highest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Portage
Days Inn Portage
#4 of 6 in Portage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
6.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 6 in Portage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ridge Motor Inn
Ridge Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Portage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
16.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portage

Property: Super 8 Portage
Address: 3000 New Pinery Rd, I-90/94 Exit Hwy 78 to Hwy 5, Portage, WI 53901-9200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portage 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Portage Hotel Portage
Super Eight Portage
Portage Super 8
Portage Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing