We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel 20 mins from Dells”
Review of Super 8 Portage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Portage
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel 20 mins from Dells”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just 20 minutes drive from Wisconsin Dell we got this hotel in very attractive price. Hotel is very nice and clean and in a very good location. Walmart, Subway, KFC and many others are in walking distance.
This hotel had very nice breakfast and we got 20 dollars off coupon for Mt. Olympus water park from the lobby! The staff were nice and friendly too. Would definitely recomend this to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujit-Mahapatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Sujit-Mahapatra,

It was a pleasure serving you and your family, and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I also appreciate your feedback on the Mt. Olympus tickets. This was our first year offering packages and discount coupons, and seeing that it was well-received by our guests, we will be sure to continue to do so in the future.

If you're on Facebook, be sure to “Like” us (Portage Super 8) to stay connected with our upcoming exclusive offerings. Hopefully we will see you again in the future, during your next vacation to the Wisconsin Dells or Portage.

With highest regards,

Elizabeth Woyt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    122
    44
    9
    6
See reviews for
137
79
39
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Always a little wary about a budget-type hotel in a small town, but the Super 8 in Portage did not disappoint.   The staff here is to be commended. They seemed genuinely concerned about my stay.

My king room included an in-room safe, fridge but no microwave. The bathroom area, while small, had great water pressure and decent towels. The room could have used a few more electrical outlets, but that really wasn't a big issue.

The complimentary breakfast was rather limited - bananas, yogurt, two cereals, waffles - but the cinnamon rolls were large and better than the norm.

Wal-mart and Super K are nearby as well as a few chain restaurants.  

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Lee S.,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your recent stay! You are correct – our staff does care about each of our guests. It is our daily goal to provide a clean and comfortable lodging experience to everyone that walks through our door. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team, and commend them for a job well done.

If you’re on Facebook, we welcome you to "like" us in order to stay connected and look for exclusive offerings. If I can ever be of service to you in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

With warm regards,

Elizabeth Woyt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Wi
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very clean. Internet worked great. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast of waffles was very good. In fact this establishment had one of the better breakfast layouts of all the Super 8s we have stayed at. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R and D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear R and D C,

We are pleased to see that we surpassed your expectations during your trip to Portage, and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We're also happy that you like the new breakfast layout, as this is one of Super 8's changes to provide brand consistency.

Please feel free to “like” us on Facebook (Portage Super 8) to stay connected with upcoming exclusive offerings. Thank you again for your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Elizabeth Woyt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very clean, comfortable beds, well maintained and a good value. We chose this rather then staying in Wisconsin Dells which was our destination. Front desk ladies were friendly and helpful. The only complaint was the internet, must be a bandwidth issue with too many users, connected but no internet access, they are aware this is a problem at times, but it did work at times so wasn't a big issue. I would choose this hotel again on my next stay, overall it was excellent. There is also a great steak and safood restaurant almost within walking distance, Suzys Steak & Seafood...well worth trying.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muldoon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Muldoon56,

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We rely on feedback such as yours to make improvements in any area that is needed. I apologize for the problems you encountered with the internet during your stay, and will make sure to pass your comments on to our corporate team to re-evaluate our internet service.

We are glad that you chose to stay with us, and look forward to being of service to you again. If you're on Facebook, be sure to “Like” us (Portage Super 8) to stay connected with our upcoming exclusive offerings.

Warmest Regards,

Elizabeth Woyt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtonsville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

For me, service is key to satisfaction w/ hotel stays, and this hotel provided super friendly and responsive service. This was one of my best hotel stays (regardless how many stars a hotel has). Room was spacious and clean. The refrigerator was nice and cold. Wireless internet was free and reliable. The free continental breakfast was basic but nice and filling (esp. the self-made waffle). Location was good too, with convenient access to highways and nearby stores. In-room safe was good to have as well. And, of course, the 24-hour coffee! I got a 3-night discounted rate that was very reasonable. Overall, most impressed. Most memorable? The great staff!

Room Tip: I chose second floor for extra security, although the front desk person indicated the area is very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear wteng,

I am glad to hear that our staff provided you with exceptional customer service during your recent stay. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team!

If you're on Facebook, be sure to “Like” us (Portage Super 8) to stay connected with our upcoming exclusive offerings.

We hope to see you again in the future!

With highest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is convenient to area retailers and resturants,and offers clean rooms with comfortable beds and lots of room. Their staff is very nice and go overboard for the weary traveler to insure the best rate possible offering discounts when relevant. Continental breakfast was yummy including the waffles and real butter for them. I did hope real orange juice but the tang flavored was adequate. Coffee was fresh. A decent price for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Bring a power strip if using lap tops or other items to charge cause the outlets are busy for the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Sharon C.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments on your recent stay with us. We appreciate you helping share your experience with other upcoming travelers.

I also appreciate your feedback on our breakfast. Our franchise has recently implemented new brand standards which you will hopefully be finding at all Super 8’s by the end of August. The orange juice is a 50% juice blend. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to Super 8.

If you’re on Facebook, we welcome you to "like" our page and stay connected for future exclusive offerings.

If I can ever be of service, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

With sincere regards,

Elizabeth Woyt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here two nights in June (8-9) we wanted two nights to ourselves before we met the extended family for a week of fun. The room was ckean and the staff was very nice and helpful.The best part was the cofee and breakfast each morning...did I say I love the waffles? I do!
Great staff, thanks for the nice quiet place to relax.

Room Tip: We got the non smooking room and it had a wonderful lazyboy in it...we kept fighting over it, maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Patrice R.,

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Portage Super 8 as well as your accommodations with us. The waffles are definitely a big hit with many travelers as you discovered. I think your idea of adding a second recliner is a great one and will be sure to pass your feedback on to our company.

Be sure to “like” us on Facebook (Portage Super 8) to stay connected with our upcoming exclusive offerings, and please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance.

Warmest regards,

Elizabeth Woyt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Portage
Days Inn Portage
#4 of 6 in Portage
442 reviews
6.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ridge Motor Inn
Ridge Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Portage
55 reviews
16.4 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
16.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portage

Property: Super 8 Portage
Address: 3000 New Pinery Rd, I-90/94 Exit Hwy 78 to Hwy 5, Portage, WI 53901-9200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portage 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Portage Hotel Portage
Super Eight Portage
Portage Super Eight
Portage Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing