We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Days Inn Portage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Portage
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Reviewed September 3, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Mahima K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 466 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sophia B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Compared to other Days Inn's, this hotel would be a 5 star. They have everything you might need - shampoo, conditioner, soap, even make-up remover. The hairdryer works in room 122. The room had a perfectly clear HD flat screen, fridge, microwave and one-cup coffee maker with coffee. The beds offer mattress toppers that are almost to par with the Mariott. The pillows aren't as comfy but with 4 per bed, you should be able to find one you like or bring your own. The room and the sheets were clean. There were a couple cosmetic issues in the bathroom as well as a little mold behind the toilet tank. You won't see this w/o looking for it - by sitting backwards in the tub. Otherwise, it was very clean. The hot water flows wonderfully at any time of day. The a/c worked nicely. Inside the room, I didn't hear a sound from the truck stop next door. There is a complimentary computer in the lobby with a printer. The parking lot could use a facelift. The hot tub isn't as comfy as expected. Breakfast was better than expected - offering an overload of options - apples, oranges, fruit loops, raisin bran, oatmeal variety packs, peanut butter and jelly, bread, muffins, hot cocoa as well as the eggs and waffles. I preferred the sausage links and only wish the menu would have been posted ahead. The weekly rate was $350 for 2 double beds. Much cheaper than any other from Madison/Middleton to The Dells. I spent many hours searching for a cheaper hotel. Chula Vista was beautiful and it was fun but the smell of chlorine scarred my nostrils 5 hours after we left. We were only able to stay a couple hours as a result. Days Inn also has discount tickets to Mount Olympus. Don't overlook them in your coupon brochure upon check-in. That's a must do. Bigger trash cans outside would be helpful. The staff is very pleasant. If not for the mold, I would have given a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: I believe single queen rooms are located on the side of the truck stop. Those rooms might get more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Days Inn Portage. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to having you as our guest again on your future travels to the Portage area!
Yours in Hospitality,
Days Inn Portage Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Entering side door to unload luggage, glass door was filthy. Stepping into side door vending area imediately saw overflowing garbage can right at that entrance. Upon walking through. It smelled like a frat house party. The room 118 was the same. I was moved to 110, it was not much better. The air conditioner was loud and never cool enough, The windows were dirty. The grout behind the toilet was yellow gooey urine like substance. Not cleaned well. I was asked to give a credit card before I was allowed to enter room. That is when I should have left. The volume of use of this motel making this Days Inn a total re do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Days Inn Portage. We apologize that your experience was anything less than pleasant. The side door that you were speaking of was actually a manufacturing flaw and has been replaced with new glass. Our housekeeping staff cleans the inside of the windows on a daily basis, however the outsides are only cleaned once a week by the maintenance department. Since your review they have actually been cleaning the outside of the windows twice a week. The yellow substance that was on the grout was actually the cleaner that we had been using and guests as well as the housekeeping staff had noticed that it was leaving a yellow residue, so we have gotten a new product for cleaning the bathrooms that leaves no residue. We require that all guests have a valid credit card on file before being allowed to check into a room. This is a standard policy throughout the hotel industry. Again, we apologize for your unpleasant stay and hope to serve you again in your future travels to the Portage area.
Yours in Hospitality,
Days Inn Portage Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was close to the Dells but far enough that we could escape the busier areas at the end of the day. It was also more affordable. Our room was clean and comfortable and just what we needed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Days Inn Portage. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Like you, many of our guests like that we are close to the Wisconsin Dells, but far enough to be able to offer lower rates and a less hectic atmosphere. We look forward to having you as our guest again in your future travels to the Portage/Wisconsin Dells area!
Your in Hospitality,
Days Inn Portage Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
6 mi away
Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
5.9 mi away
Ridge Motor Inn
Ridge Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Portage
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
16.6 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
973 reviews
6.3 mi away
Super 8 Portage
Super 8 Portage
#1 of 6 in Portage
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Portage

Address: 5781 Kinney Road, Portage, WI 53901-9635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range: $60 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Portage 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on business or bring the family to our Days Inn Portage hotel. Halfway between Madison and Wisconsin Dells with access to Interstate 90 / 94 and I-39, our Portage, WI, hotel near Cascade Mountain and Devils Lake State Park makes your stay in central Wisconsin a breeze. Keep fit in the indoor pool, wind down in the whirlpool and get comfortable in your room featuring free Wi-Fi Internet access. Rooms with microwaves and refrigerators, coffee makers,hair dryers,and cable TV Parking for your truck, bus or RV is free, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly Portage, WI, hotel. Start each day with free Daybreak breakfast, featuring make your own waffles eggs and sausage, all rooms come with free tickets to Chula Vista waterpark AND Noah's Ark Waterpark (based on registered guests limit of 5). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing