We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ Stay!”
Review of Days Inn Portage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Portage
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed the weekend at Days Inn of Portage,and were very happy. The hot tub was excellent and there was always someone there to help us with whatever we needed. We just wanted a mini break away for the weekend aned were very happy we chose Days and the price was very reasonable with being so close to cascade, portage and the dells, it was fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tifNjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 466 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

Our room had an odor when we arrived. Not sure if we got used to it or after we got in and stirred the air it helped. It did not feel like an especially clean place for sure. I wondered if it had been cleaned really good for a while. Granted the bed was probably changed for us and clean towels but not sure if anything else. Breakfast was mostly donuts, muffins, bagels, and cereal. We had a few packets of oatmeal the first day and then the second day there was scrambled eggs and sausage but it needed refilled and the person serving could not keep up with the crowd. NO oatmeal left. And coffee when it was refilled. Not sure if we will stay there again. Nice to have the chula vista passes but it is quite a drive to get there. Close to Cascade skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyenurse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Good quality and decent sized rooms. The hot tub is pretty amazing and very much the antidote to a (cold) day out skiing. The front desk service staff are helpful, although they repeatedly failed to rectify a non-working key card - we had these changed 3 times within 20 hours! The breakfast is OK, and will certainly provide fuel for a couple of hours - skip the meat patties cos they taste more like some flour concoction than "real" meat.

One perhaps major thing that needs to be mentioned is the smell of second-hand smoke in our room. The hotel markets itself as being a non-smoking establishment and so this was certainly very disappointing. We only stayed over one night and so we left it as it was.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family

Room Tip: back rooms face the truck stop - not too good for privacy especially if room is on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My 3 friends and I stayed here for one night during a mini-ski trip. This place boasts being "one of the closest hotels to Cascade Mountain Ski Resort." This is true- the location is convenient. However, the hotel is kinda run down. It looks shady on the outside- there were a bunch of semi-trucks parked right in the lot, right next to a gas station and not much else. The room was small (which was fine) but it was like they did not clean it properly before we came. The bathroom seemed clean, which was good- but every single one of our pillows had little black hairs on them- like either dog hairs (you can pay a fee to have your pet here) stuck in the fibers of the pillowcase or eyelashes. We noticed really late and we were really tired, so we sucked it up and slept on them anyway (kinda gross, I know). We also found a "vaporizer" in a case (i.e.pot smoking device, and yes there were little buds of weed stuck in the inside of the case and it smelled like pot) near the base of the bed, so they obviously did not take much time in cleaning the room, because this thing was not that tiny (about the size of a camera in a case). The free continential breakfast was decent. The dining area was very small- we brought the food back to our room to eat- but they did have make-your-own belgium waffles which were delicious. Then they had eggs (yuck), bacon (did not try) and cereal, juice, yogurt, and bagels with PB and J, cream cheese, etc. Overall, the breakfast was okay- they did have coffee with flavored creamers (vanilla and hazelnut), which is awesome in my opinion. The guy who worked the front desk (manager maybe) was super nice and helpful, and gave us good tips on skiing and they offer a nice discount for ski lift tickets and both Cascade and Devil's Head. We didn't get a chance to check out the pool or hottub- but they do have them, indoor. We paid $60 for 1 queen sized bed on Hotwire (we thought we could get 2 regular beds- they were out of those rooms cause the hotel was full). Overall, although I would like to recommend this hotel due to the friendly employees, I would not really. I would have rather paid a little more for a cleaner room. I suspect if we had asked, they would have gladly given us new pillows...but if the pillows were like that, it only leads me to imagine how well the rest of the room is taken care of on a regular basis. If you want a cheap, easy place to stay near Cascade and don't care too much about the condition of the room, this is your place!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank learntolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We spent 2 years in a row staying here at a weeks time. We found that less is more. Staff was very friendly and informative. We got free passes to different waterparks each year. It's quiet without the ton of congestion that you get when staying in the dells. It's worth the drive to stay here. Beds were the typical days inn beds which when your used to premium pillow top can be rough but not horrible. When we asked if we could get a king they happen to have one and it included at same price a refrigerator and basic stove. Breakfast was great in the mornings but wish it could stay open a little later as we were late risers. But overall if you want direct access to highway, cheap rates, friendly staff, and a quiet hotel go here!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

My brother and I went up to Wisconsin for a three day ski trip at Cascasde Mountain. This hotel was a great place to crash at the end of a long day of skiing. The hotel was less than a 10 minute drive to the hill and was very easy to access being that it is right off the main interstate. Nothing really over the top or special about the rooms or the hotel overall. A nice touch was the free hot breakfast that we enjoyed every morning before heading to the slopes. The only thing I would call a "downfall" about this particular hotel was the noise, the walls felt think and you could hear people in the hallway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our family stayed here over New Years Eve, creating a weekend of skiing and swimming for our kids. I am not certain you will ever find a better value! Three nights lodging, Two days of skiing, Dells Waterpark and complimentary breakfast for $650.00! The staff was friendly, hardworking, helpful and eager to do whatever necessary to make our stay pleasing. The pool and hot tub were adequate as well! (and if you want bigger and louder... you can go to the Dells!) This is not luxury hotel, nor do they claim to be -- they do promise the best value "under the sun" and they deliver in a big way! Thanks for a very nice family weekend....

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
6 mi away
Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
5.9 mi away
Ridge Motor Inn
Ridge Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Portage
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
16.6 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
973 reviews
6.3 mi away
Super 8 Portage
Super 8 Portage
#1 of 6 in Portage
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Portage

Address: 5781 Kinney Road, Portage, WI 53901-9635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range: $60 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Portage 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on business or bring the family to our Days Inn Portage hotel. Halfway between Madison and Wisconsin Dells with access to Interstate 90 / 94 and I-39, our Portage, WI, hotel near Cascade Mountain and Devils Lake State Park makes your stay in central Wisconsin a breeze. Keep fit in the indoor pool, wind down in the whirlpool and get comfortable in your room featuring free Wi-Fi Internet access. Rooms with microwaves and refrigerators, coffee makers,hair dryers,and cable TV Parking for your truck, bus or RV is free, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly Portage, WI, hotel. Start each day with free Daybreak breakfast, featuring make your own waffles eggs and sausage, all rooms come with free tickets to Chula Vista waterpark AND Noah's Ark Waterpark (based on registered guests limit of 5). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing