We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm a regular” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tolteca

La Tolteca
Ranked #9 of 53 Restaurants in Portage
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I'm a regular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I go there every week. Their homemade Margaritas (not the ready made tap ones) are wonderful. They do substitutions on their menu for rice n beans. Salsa n guac are great. If you like cheese dip, try their chorizo queso. Yum! I only get the shrimp dishes, not much of a meat eater. U can sit at the bar, drink Margaritas n eat baskets of chips n salsa (free). Best restaurant here in this town imho.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wisconsingirl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very good Mexican food. Mexican decor abounds at the tables and booths. In my opinion, the best food in town. Great service even when busy. You should make it a point to eat here when in town.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I and a business colleague were looking for somewhere to eat in Portage and drove around not really seeing anything. At last we found La Tolteca.
The restaurant has a very colourful decor with multi coloured chairs etc.
The menu was extensive with a Vegetarian section.
The food was plentiful, hot and tasty and the service attentive without being overbearing

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Bustrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Friendly staff! You get more than you can eat and the price is right. You certainly won't leave hungry.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gooddeal316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic authentic Mexican cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Some of the best Mexican food we've ever had anywhere in the country. I had chicken and steak fajitas. Excellent seasoning with just the right amount of heat. My husband had chili Colorado with wonderful sauce. Will visit again when we're in the area. I also love the decor, hand carved tables and booths from Mexico.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gourdie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tolteca also viewed

 

Been to La Tolteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing