We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The room was large & clean. Furniture & TV upgraded. It was quiet even though we were very close to the interstate. Breakfast was good. The breakfast area was large. An attendant was present in the breakfast area. Check in & check out was fast. The front desk personnel were very pleasant. Internet service was good. We have stayed here before & will do so again.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor overlooking pool. Very quiet. Blackout shades to keep the light from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 215 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed just one night, very friendly staff. Comfy bed, clean and quiet , surprising for hotel by freeway, our room faced the parking lot. good local for wisc dells and barboo. breakfast was decent , coffee was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindySG429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The AC unit kept shutting it self off and it was too warm to keep the room comfortable in fan mode. My husband and I got no sleep because we kept having to get up to switch it to fan more until the AC would actually start up again. I would have asked to switch rooms but my children had fallen asleep before I realized that the AC was not working. When I checked out in the morning the person at the desk asked if everything was working. I told him about the AC and he said that sometimes when it's a cool night the AC doesn't want to use more electricity than necessary. Our room did not have and outside window. It faced the pool (which this kids liked) but that means the AC should be working properly since there was no way to get fresh air. It was clear that when he asked if everything was working he had no intention of doing anything about it if there were any issues. Why bother asking?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpazPantzMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We found the Comfort Suites to be a very "comfort"able place to stay. The hotel clerk was not from the area so didn't know a lot about places to go in the area. Our room was huge, with a king bed and seating area. The room, furniture and linens were newer and very nice, although I agree with another reviewer that the white, badly wrinkled sheets make you wonder if they were washed, even though you know they were. There was a nice-sized mini refrig, microwave and coffee pot. The shower and bathroom were clean and worked fine, with the sink outside the bath area which was nice. A spacious, open staircase to the lobby was useful instead of having to wait for the elevator. The pool/hot tub area is huge with a lot of table seating and has a few rooms that look down on the pool. They are strict about adhering to the open times of the pool for those people's benefit. The continental breakfast was served in a very spacious area off the lobby and did not feel chaoatic and noisy as in some hotels. They did have scrambled eggs and sausage along with the usual fare. The lady workng the breakfast was very personable and concerned about keeping the trays stocked and room clean. There are not many places close to eat, but a short drive down the highway to the main part of Portage brings you to eateries, churches etc. We drove outside of town (in the country) to the Cimaroi's Supper Club. It was a drive, but the food was good, although very crowded. The hotel is about 20 miles or so from Wisconsin Dells and a much cheaper alternative. We would definitely stay here again and the value is wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Needed a clean place to stay for one night during drive thru Wisconsin. This Comfort Suites was convenient, clean, and appears recently updated. The suites are surprisingly roomy. Rates very reasonable. Decent hot breakfast and good coffee included. Not much in terms of dining choices in the immediate area; but Wisconsin Dells about 15-20 minutes away. Many restaurants between the hotel and the Dells. We did not hear highway noise as some other reviewers mentioned.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBMDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was confused when I made my reservation and thought it was in portage. I was wrong, but it's not that far away. The place is nice and clean. Certainly busy but not Loud. The bed was very firm but the room was huge. I would stay again

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Room was very clean. It appeared to have been updated recently. The bed was very soft and comfortable. Not a hard brick like some hotels. We always travel with our own pillows so I can't say what the pillows are like. Our 15 year old pet that always travels with us was welcome. Pool was nice and so was breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocky_Mountains_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
6.0 mi away
Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Portage
Days Inn Portage
#4 of 6 in Portage
461 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
17.7 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
985 reviews
15.4 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area

Address: N5780 State Road 78, Portage, WI 53901-9635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range: $87 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Portage
Comfort Suites Portage
Portage Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing