We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose this hotel due to it being easily accessible to the highway. The hotel could use some updating (bathtub had been patched, lumpy pillows), though it served our purpose fine. The beds were very firm, and the room was quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wecanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your business and hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    71
    20
    14
    7
See reviews for
93
42
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for the long weekend on Memorial day for 2 nights and were a big group.
We arrived late at night and were checked in promptly.
The hotel is spacious, odor-free and clean.
The rooms are very well furnished with Microwave and Fridge.
The hotel has an indoor pool and sauna as well.
Breakfast selection is also very decent.
The hotel is about 15-20 minutes from Dell.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manojmaddyboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for Choosing Comfort Suites in Portage WI. We are glad that you stayed and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
208 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

wish we could have stayed longer, this Comfort Suites is a few years old, but it is still very comfortable. the rooms are odor-free and clean. they should replace the shower heads, but otherwise I would definitely stay here again if I am in the area.
They offer a decent breakfast, and have a spacious eating area.
There is a fair amount of truck/bus parking in the gravel lot out in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the front of the hotel, the back side has noise from swimming pool pumps or wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrktravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is our second stay within the past year. This time was on our way back from Chicago to the Twin Cities. It really broke up the trip quite nicely.

The pool is large and our room on the second floor overlooked it. The price was great, probably because it's 20 minutes from the Dells and not 5. This might be a problem for some who want to be closer. Breakfast was good, typical breakfast with a belgian waffle maker and other fixings. Hotel staff was very friendly and courteous.

The room was clean and spacious. The TV could definitely use an update since its still just a CRT. A/C kept the room cold enough though it could be a little better since the room was pretty big. We were on the pool side so we didn't hear any road noise. We also didn't hear anyone in pool when they were down there.

Overall nice hotel in a good location, will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 243BenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just needed somewhere to stay for one night off of the Interstate as we made our way to our final destination. The price was so incredibly reasonable that I had not expected such a spacious and comfortable room, with hot breakfast included the following morning. Would be a great hotel for families, given the extra large suite-type rooms. Can't beat the value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNnortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

First let me say the we came up here and picked this hotel for the large pool so that one year old daughter could go swimming for the first time and the pool was too cold to stay in for too long. Any hotel that has a pool this large and is not smart enough to keep it at bath water temp doesn't how they are hurting there business. Second to cleanliness a warm pool is next on my list of things that I get pest about at a hotel.

The breakfast was good and it does look like they have tried to do some remodeling and but they have a lot of things going for them. We stayed in room 214 and the window had a clear gap where cold and mostly highway noise can get in.

I would stay here again and give them a second chance and hope they read there own reviews to help right some of these wrongs.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I apologize for the issue with the pool temp and have discussed the situation with our maintenance department. I have also discussed the issue with the window with maintenance as well. Both issues were looked into and have been taken care of. I hope that you will come back and see us the next time that you are in the area. We are in the process of remodeling our hotel to better serve our guests and wuld like for you to see the new improved Comfort Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Only stayed for one night but thoroughly enjoyed it. The grand entrance and reception is impressive as is the balcony overlooking it. The room was very large and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was very good with plenty of food available. Coffee was great. About the only thing I would change at this property is the bed linens... they make the bed look sleeped in. The receptionist recommended the Iron Skillet across the street for dinner and that a bonus we all enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your response on your recent stay. We hope that you will visit our hotel next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Portage
Days Inn Portage
#4 of 6 in Portage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
8.0 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn
16.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
10.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: N5780 State Road 78, Portage, WI 53901-9635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Portage
Comfort Suites Portage
Portage Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing