We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked for me.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Urbana, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worked for me.”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the Comfort Suites in a king room with a Jacuzzi. The tub was OKAY but a tiny bit cramped for two guys. We used it both nights and did enjoy it. The room was fine. No complaints at all. Breakfast was fine, too. Didn't use the indoor pool, but it was popular with the families there. There's not a lot of business around the motel and it's a good distance from Portage itself. I'd stay there again if I were going to that area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrentSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    72
    20
    15
    10
See reviews for
98
42
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marcellus, New York
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late, room was great, area felt extremely safe (would have felt comfortable staying here if I had been traveling solo), pool and hit tub are fabulous! Much larger pool than many hotels. Breakfast was very good - staff worked hard to keep the area clean and all foods stocked. The only negative was the laundry facilities. The machines and the areas right around them were decidedly grungy, especially given how tidy the rest of the hotel is. Overall, a great place and we will definitely stay again when traveling through this area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GracieCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

While vacationing at the Dells, we decided to stay out of the Dells to keep our hotel costs down. The hotel lobby is quite nice, and the pool area was also very nice. The breakfast was also pretty good. They always ensured that everything at the food bar was well stocked.
When we arrived, we had a room on the 2nd floor....the room had a strong cat pee odor, and there were a ton of dogs barking and growling; so, we asked if there was a non-animal wing. They said there wasn't one, but said that animals were not typically housed on the third floor. They then gave us a room on the 3rd floor at the end of the hall. When we arrived, we had to clean out the fridge..it had stuff from previous guests. Each day, housekeeping would service the rooms by taking out the trash, leaving towels, and pulling the covers back on the bed....that was it. No vaccuming, bed making, folding up couch, etc. Each night, we would have to make the beds once we came back. The room looked the same as if my teen had cleaned it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

First, two negatives. Beds were extremely uncomfortable, and our room had a yucky odor which we wonder about being due to the air conditioner soaking the carpet. Positives....nice place, nice staff, nice breakfast. Our room faced the pool, was spacious, quiet, and other than the smell, was clean. 20 minutes from the Dells and discount Noah's Ark tix made it a nice stop of us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4ksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRANDON SD
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

A good stop for us. Friendly desk personal. This hotel is equal distance to Wisconsin Dells and Baraboo. Baraboo has a circus museum. A must see. Walking distance is the Iron Skillet resturant. The food there is excellent. I love chicken fried steak and it is rare to have it actually steak breaded fresh and not pre-frozen. As we have been acustom to expecting the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MZHUSKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

BFF and I went away for a relaxing weekend,just to explore central Wisconsin. This hotel was clean,quiet and can be had for a great deal. It is located about 20 minutes from Baraboo and 30 minutes from the Dells. The breakfast was good and the area kept spotless as well. The only downside is the hotel rents their meeting room and pool for parties so don't expect to swim without a crowd.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms are amusing but can get loud if you are trying to sleep before 10p.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILteacher052000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Very nice hotel, right off interstate. Really clean and modern, staff was quite nice and friendly. Didn't use pool, but it looked very nice.Hotel is across the road from a truck stop that has Subway and Dairy Queen in it. About 5 miles out of town. Great breakfast and eating area, plenty to choose from. Sausages and eggs, cereal, fruit, waffles, toast, coffee.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chevy_camaro9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
6.0 mi away
Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Portage
Days Inn Portage
#4 of 6 in Portage
442 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
17.7 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
903 reviews
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area

Property: Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
Address: N5780 State Road 78, Portage, WI 53901-9635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Portage
Comfort Suites Portage
Portage Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing