We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfy and cozy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Washington Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Washington Inn
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfy and cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Very nice Bed & Breakfast. Dave and Rita were extremely hospitable. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast. The daily special was always very good. We stayed in the "Top of the World" suite which was very roomy. In the event we return to Port Washington, we will DIFFENTLY stay at the Port Washington Inn again.

Room Tip: Choose the Top of the World.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAKIBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
83
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a delightful week-end at the Port Washington Inn. We stayed in the Top of the World Suite which not only gave us space to spread out, but afforded us with a great view of Lake Michigan. Dave and Rita were so helpful and made us feel so welcome. My husband cannot stop talking about the Cinnamon French Toast - he says it was the best he had EVER tasted! You will not be disappointed at the Port Washington Inn!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDZ868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

The Port Washington Inn is everything you could want in a B&B! The whole inn is spotlessly clean, and the innkeepers, Dave and Rita, are wonderful people. We enjoyed the inn's location, the comfortable beds, the DVD and VCR in our room, the free movie collection, and the fantastic breakfasts, especially the freshly baked bread and home made yogurt. We would recommend this inn to anyone who wishes to spend some quiet time by Lake Michigan in a friendly historic town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We tend to stay in hotels but the reviews of this b&b stood out and so we took a chance. It is fabulous. The rooms are delightful as are Rita and Dave. They are also very attentive and the finishing touches are lovely: home cooking, homemade yoghurt, different breakfast options daily, treats (cookies, flapjack etc all home made) waiting for you in your room when you return. There is a spotlessly clean kitchen area on each floor to help yourself to hot or cold drinks. The location is great, the entire house is beautiful and it was great for us to be able to see inside one of these wooden houses, not having many at home.

We stayed for 3 nights and got a discount on that basis.

Room Tip: All the rooms look gorgeous but if you book the suite on top of the world you have the top floor to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed a few nights at the inn, everything was great. Rita is a 5 star chef and Dave is very attentive to all the guest's needs. We are looking forward to going back to enjoy the many attractions in the area. More importantly, we can't wait to go back and spend more time at this relaxing beautiful inn. Thanks for the wonderful weekend!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USA1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I rode our bikes from Milwaukee up to Port Washington (28 miles each way) and stayed overnight at the Port Washington Inn. The inn itself, rooms, the location, the breakfast and most importantly the owners Dave and Rita were just the best. We felt like we had gone back in time and we felt like we are a long, long way from urban life. You can walk to everything from the inn. Bring your bikes as there is a wonderful bike trail that goes north and south from Port Washington.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor where there is just one room on the whole floor--very private and great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RevItUpNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Wonderful attention to every detail. It's one of our very favorite B&Bs, and Port Washington is a jewel. We took both of the owners' dinner recommendations and both restaurants were excellent. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
Holiday Inn Port Washington
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Washington Inn

Property: Port Washington Inn
Address: 308 W Washington St, Port Washington, WI 53074-1839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Washington Inn is a five room bed and breakfast in the truest sense of the term. The inn was built in 1903 as the private home of George and Eva Blessing. The original character of the home has been preserved during the extensive restoration it has undergone during our time here (our 21st season begins in 2016)! A stay at Port Washington Inn will provide peaceful privacy and generous hospitality. Dave's excellent early morning coffee and a full breakfast prepared from scratch and served buffet style in our formal dining room get our guests' day off to a great start. The complimentary beverage centers, homemade treats, and generous common areas inside and outside the inn receive high marks with our guests. All guestrooms have queen beds, attached private baths, comfortable seating and good reading lights. We invite you to experience the peaceful privacy and generous hospitality which bring guests back again and again. Secure WIFI access and good mobile phone reception will keep you connected during your time away. Take advantage of our multiple night discounts! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing