We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming restored Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Charming restored Inn”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Used a groupon to stay at this lovingly restored inn. Check in was a bit slow due to their internet connection being down (with all info only available online) and several guests arriving at once. We were showed to our room and oriented as to how everything works by one of the owners, who was funny, detailed, helpful and thorough. Perhaps of note to other travelers is the fact that there is no elevator, so those with difficulties walking up and down a few flights of stairs would not want to choose The Port Hotel for a stay.
It was a lovely inn, beautifully decorated and appointed with nice views of scenic Port Washington. Our stay included the Champaign brunch which was VERY busy but excellent food.
We also opted to have dinner there one night because it was cold and rainy which left us under-motivated to go exploring for other places. The service and atmosphere were nice. The food was only average, with one of us ordering a ribeye steak and receiving something more akin to a strip steak. While the waitress handled it exactly as we'd have hoped she would, she seemed shocked when in reality anyone looking at the steak would've clearly known it wasn't a ribeye....so the kitchen prepared and served a lesser cut of meat and hoped we wouldn't notice?
We'd definitely stay at the Inn again, but would skip the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    20
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
72
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn IL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This was our second visit to beautiful Port Washington; the first visit was seven years ago. The downtown has been hit by the poor economy and retail is struggling to regain it's footing, but The Port Hotel seems to be a beacon of hope. Comfortable, immaculate room (#305) with a cloud of a bed and fluffy bath towels. Nice breakfast served in room (missed the Sunday brunch - we were on the bike trail) and a delightful meal in the restaurant. The restaurant is clearly a local favorite; we had a great time hanging out in the bar with the friendly Port Washington crowd. Kudos to owner, Joseph for preserving a part of Port Washington's past and investing in its future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a 24 hour visit to the charming city of Port Washington. The Port Hotel is amazing. The rooms are historical and appropriately decorated taking you to a different era. We enjoyed our evening meal and the Sunday brunch. Every item we tasted was delicious and the staff, from checking in to checking out, were all extremely friendly and accomodating. They took pleasure in knowing that you were enjoying your stay. While in town, be sure to visit from Vines to Cellars winery across the street from the Port Hotel. Great wines to taste and friendly folks to meet. Zing boutique has lovely clothes and accessories. Plenty of places to have a nightcap and enjoy the evening air following a delicious dinner at the hotel. The town is very safe and we liked the fact that we could walk and see a lot.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MertonMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

What a treat! My wife surprised me with our first overnight trip without our 2 1/2 year old son. I was not told where we were going and truth be told, I had my doubts when we pulled up to the because the building does not itself look anything special. The lobby is on the second floor (22 steps) and our room was on the next floor (18 steps). We went with the third floor so that we would have very little "hallway noise".

Joel (owner) checked us in and was explained nearly every detail of the room (#305) including showing us how the shower worked. We had a beautiful queen bed, fireplace, decent view, human carwash shower (Kohler top of the line). He bought the place nearly 20 years ago and took a lot of pride in the details of the renovation.

The renovations were beautiful - it was comfy, elegant, and cozy. The remote control gas fireplace heated up the room a bit faster and more than we expected necessitating us to turn on the air conditioning. The TV was decent with a reasonable selection of channels - nothing spectacular but there at least was a DVD player in the room if you want to enjoy a movie together that doesn't have to begin after putting your child to bed at 8:30pm. The bed was comfortable - a nice firm pillowtop although my wife noted that there was a "ridge" in the middle. I slept like a rock and thought it was a great mattress. The bathroom had a beautiful (unheated) tile floor - keep the socks on in the winter. The shower was a key feature of the room although we left a note for the owner that the door leaks and we didn't want to flood his office below. I'm not sure if the gasket along the hinge of the door wasn't sealing but water came out the door even when the door was firmly closed. The doors could use a inner deadbolt or latch for better security - not that we felt anything but very safe but it was the first hotel I've stayed at in a long time without the latch. Being in a very old hotel, I was glad to see the owner had not skimped and there was a sprinkler system in the ceiling with working smoke detectors.

We did not eat dinner in the hotel restaurant since brunch was included in our room rate but the place looked packed when we returned from dinner elsewhere around 7pm. Brunch was much better than decent but a step below great. The champagne toast was a nice touch and there were clearly some regulars in there. The omelette was good, the eggs and sausage were very good, and the cherry was fine. The guy at the next table had the banana cream pie - that looked spectacular and I will try it next time.

The pictures online do the rooms justice and they are very very clean. I rate them well above the Pfister in Milwaukee and a couple Fairmounts (DC and Seattle) I've recently stayed in. For anyone in the Milwaukee/Chicago area looking to get away to somewhere quiet & cozy, this is worthy option - close but it feels like you're 500 miles from home. Some friends told us about this place and we will share it with others. Thanks, Joel!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_K_Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

My wife and I just returned home from a weekend stay at The Port Hotel. Thanks Sue and Joseph, we had a wonderful time. The room was immaculate. We were located on the second floor, the same floor the lobby in located on. We had a corner suite, which included a corner gas fireplace, a 4-poster queen size bed with a cloud like mattress, a very nice bathroom, including a 4’x4’ shower stall. The hotel was very quiet. We had the Valentines Weekend package, which included a 2 night stay, a bottle of champagne, brunch and a $50 gift certificate for dinner in the restaurant downstairs, and breakfast served in our room on our last day.

The food in the restaurant was really good. Brunch consisted of Belgium waffles, eggs benedict, bacon, ham, potatoes, pasta salads, peel and eat shrimp, hand carved prime rib, baked chicken, and made to order omelets, just to name a few. Dinner was also very good. The service was excellent at both of our meals! We also had a good time in the bar area. I just have one minor complaint about our breakfast that was served in our room on the last day. My wife said her breakfast was just as good as the brunch, but mine was not what I was expecting. The over-easy eggs were overcooked and the bacon showed up as one big clump. As to how you receive your breakfast in your room, the night before, you get a card that has the breakfast menu on it and you circle what you want, specify what time you want it delivered, and then hang it outside of you door.

All in all, we definitely will be going back. And if you are in their area, stay and eat at this place. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imowgreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I stayed at the Port Hotel for one night with my boyfriend in Oct. The room was very clean and nice and the service was excellent....we brought our bikes to ride the interurban trail and the hotel kept our bikes inside and safe when we weren't riding. The included breakfast buffet was excellent. The bar area is nice but the crowd was much older on a Sat night (we are late 20s). It was a bit pricey but worth it for a night in this quaint little town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

What a great hotel! The room was clean and quiet, and the bed was extremely comfy which is rare. The food was good too. We had the steak oscar benedict and a pecan waffle for breakfast the first day and it was amazing. The filets we had that night were great too! All of the staff from the cooks to the housekeepers to the waitresses to the busgirl to the hostess were all very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay. Tom at the bar was especially helpful and great to talk to. The owner, Sue, was very helpful the first day as well.

Thanks to you all for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankAndNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
Holiday Inn Port Washington
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
236 reviews
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn

Property: The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn
Address: 101 E Main St, Port Washington, WI 53074-1915
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to indulge yourself in the luxury and elegance of this magnificently restored 1902 turn of the century hotel. The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn bring together award winning dining and gracious hospitality in an atmosphere of old world charm. The Inn offers gourmet breakfasts, down filled comforters, romantic fireplaces, breathtaking views of downtown Port Washington and Lake Michigan, all just 30 minutes north of Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Port Hotel Restaurant and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing