We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding trip to Port”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wedding trip to Port”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We're from about 70 miles from Port Washington and had a wedding to attend. We called a few days in advance and asked if we could check in at 1pm to get ready and make it to the wedding in Saukville. We arrived at 1:10, to two very rude front desk attendants. They said "you're a little early" so we explained that we had called and were from out of town there for a wedding. Once again we were met with rudeness. "We had a full house last night so it depends if the room is clean." She then looked it up on the computer and said, "Oh I see the note on the account, and no it isn't clean yet." One would think if someone called for an early check-in time, that room would be one of the first ones cleaned, but not at Country Inn! So we ended up going out to lunch and then returned and the room was clean, but ultimately we were 10 minutes late for the wedding, and were not pleased. Also, couple things. The hot tub in our room was nice, however the fireplace in the room was non-functional, and the most disturbing thing was from the evening we returned from the wedding until we left the next day at noon, the free wireless internet did not work, so our plan of looking for things to do in the area before returning home was a bust, and we'll never stay at a country inn again. Oh, another thing....the free cookies at the front desk were those cheap hockey puck rippin good chocolate chip cookies. Yuck. Trust we when I say....look for a choice hotel in the area instead, as they know how to treat their customers, and make them their first priority, as it should be when someone spends 170.00 a night for a hotel room!

Room Tip: The beds are so uncomfortable that you're going to want a room with a hot tub for you to soak in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandra P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay at our hotel. We try our best to accommodate early check in requests, but unfortunately we aren’t always able to fulfill every request. While we certainly apologize for not being able to check you in as early as you would have liked, we do not promote the staff behavior you have described. If you would be kind enough to give us the details, we will discuss this with the appropriate front desk staff. The wireless internet was down on 10/12 and 10/13 due to a power surge and a new router was installed on 10/14/13. We are sorry for the inconvenience that was caused. All of the fire places in the suites are for esthetic purposes only, due to safety reasons they do not emit heat.
Once again we are sorry for the issues, we value your business and hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    92
    38
    19
    15
See reviews for
120
86
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our room (suite) was very clean and nicely laid out for privacy between the living room and bedroom. Frig worked well. Bed was very comfortable. The hotel was quiet. Breakfast both mornings was good with a nice variety. The staff was very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: There was 2 of us staying in a room with 2 queen beds. The hotel apparently needed more rooms for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

You can always count on Country Inn & Suites to deliver on cleanliness, hospitality and a good mattress! We found the Port Washington location to be near enough to visit friends who have a summer lake house on Lake Michigan near Belgium, WI. We liked that the room offered a microwave and refrig (not that we needed it). Our room was on the third floor next to the elevator but never heard any noise. FYI: The town of Port Washington is lovely however many restaurants and stores were closed on a Sunday. A little surprising for the summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our group stayed one night at this hotel on a 2-day golf junket in the area. The facility was newer and very clean. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. An indoor pool and spa was very nice. Access to I-43 is only 2 or 3 minutes away. There is also a very good restaurant, Nisleit's Country Inn, nearby. The hotel includes complimentary breakfast. It's pretty basic, with cereal, coffee and juices, a waffle maker, and a few hot items (eggs, sausage, gravy) adequate to obviate the need for another stop in the morning.

It's only my opinion, but I think most consumers are pleased when they get good value for their money. This hotel delivers such value. It's very clean, quiet, comfortable, and reasonably priced., and the staff is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterengineer3728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for 5 days during the races in Elkhart Lake. Hotel is just off of I-43 in Port Washington; there is road construction at the intersection onto the hotel road, but it wasn't too much of a hassle. Close to grocery store, pharmacy and fast food restaurants-McD's and Arby's. Spacious, clean rooms with microwave and good-working refrigerator. Plenty of parking on level ground. The staff is very friendly; the morning kitchen lady came in an hour early just for our group, since we left so early for the track, which we greatly appreciated. The food was classic complimentary hotel fare but was tasty. Port Washington, WI is a pretty little port town on Lake Michigan - quiet and relaxing, with a beautiful picnic area overlooking the lake, and is only 35 minutes from Road America raceway.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back overlook I-43 and road noise is pretty bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Checked into the hotel after a day of business meetings with a local manufacturer. The hotel grounds and rooms are clean and set up in typical fashion for this hotel chain.
I had finished my meetings in the early afternoon and had managed to check in quickly and get some work done - the internet service is probably too slow for movie streaming but it worked just fine with my companies' VPN software and I was able to review drawings and work with Emails with no problems. The in-room fridge worked good for keeping the fruit and cheese I had brought cold and the freezer worked well enough to freeze the two small ice packs I was using to keep my food and drinks cold in the car.
The hotel is right on the Ozaukee interurban bike trail so I was able to get in a nice safe 7 mile out and back run before dinner. - sure beats the treadmill (which they do have available)
The staff was friendly and efficient at check in. Someone had done a number on one of the windows in my room and I was unable to fully close it, but a call to the front desk got someone from maintenance up to fix it within an hour of my reporting it. Breakfast in the morning was typical for the chain but the room was clean and they kept the food and coffee filled.
Being on the edge of a tourist town on Lake Michigan there are a variety of nice but not spectacular restaurants - The Twisted Willow on the old main street looked good but I was a little underdressed and so had a decent meal at the Pasta Shoppe.

Room Tip: - The even number rooms face Highway 43 and away from the lake - so if early morning traffic noise b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed in Room 327 last weekend (June 21 - 24). The toilet has a clog which needs a professional plumber to repair, but instead the hotel is relying on using a plunger to unclog, which works temporarily. Do not stay in this room unless you don't mind plunging the toilet every day.

My first morning I told the hotel desk clerk the toilet was clogged, and she handed me a white plastic plunger in a nice case. This plunger is cheap and doesn't work, but will drip dirty water from the last place it has been all over the floor when you open the case, adding to the ick factor.

What I learned from this experience is don't let the desk clerk leave it up to you, the "guest" to unclog the toilet, especially when they won't provide you with a plunger that actually works. Not sure why they want a guest to have this experience, it was unique from every other hotel I have ever stayed at.

If you do get this room, there is a public restroom on the first floor near the breakfast room.

This hotel is now non-smoking, which is great, but Room 327 still smells like stale cigarettes. One reason might be that the carpet has not been replaced, as evidenced by two big burn marks in the living room area (this room is a suite).

If light bothers you when you are trying to sleep bring a clothespin as there is a gap in the curtains and a bright streetlight outside.

This would be a nice and convenient hotel to stay at, if you can overlook the ick factor and general grunginess of the rooms. I was staying at this hotel for a large family event and no one else mentioned a clogged toilet, so the other rooms probably have functioning toilets.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 327 unless a plumber has been called in to fix the clog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tahoedewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room and the inattentive service of the desk clerk.

We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites standards and to address the service breakdown that occurred. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Washington
Holiday Inn Port Washington
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
233 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grafton
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites. Grafton-Milwaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
726 reviews
21.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
24.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington
Address: 350 E Seven Hills Rd, Port Washington, WI 53074-2505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Port Washington Hotel Port Washington
Country Inn And Suites Port Washington
Country Inn Port Washington
Port Washington Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing