We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port Washington
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great view, nice hotel”
Reviewed September 21, 2010

The location is why we chose to stay at this hotel. It is located right next to the marina and Rotary Park, with a lovely view of the lake. The hotel itself is a bit dated in decor, but we didn't spend a ton of time in our room so it did not bother us. The beds were comfy, if a bit soft for my tastes. The place was clean and the staff friendly. Our shower had great water pressure, and the tub was large and deep. The lighting in our bathroom was abysmal, however. For a woman applying makeup, it was not adequate. The room (2 queen) was outfitted with a refrigerator and microwave, 2 beds, desk, and wet bar area. The TV was older, but again, it didn't matter to us.

Do yourself a favor, however, and do NOT eat breakfast at the Rusty Anchor (restaurant/bar in the hotel). I ordered an omelette which was served with a nice big hair in it. Yuck. At least they took it off my bill.

Overall, a good place to stay especially if you don't plan to be in your room all day. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rottmom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    73
    62
    20
    8
See reviews for
68
82
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We found the Holiday Inn Harborview at Port Washington a nice surprise. The view was lovely and the hotel is situated next to a park and marina in a charming downtown area. Several restaurants are within easy walking distance. The room was very well appointed with several comfortable chairs, refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolSue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandLHospitality, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Dear CarolSue14,

Thank you so much for taking a few minutes to share your positive experience at Holiday Inn Harborview in Port Washington. We value our guests' feedback, and we appreciate that you have shared your positive experience and high ratings of our hotel with others. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely, Erin Ruppenthal, S&L Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This was our second visit to this unique property for a short vacation. We liked the ambience so much when we visited last year that we boomeranged back. We like the fact that its directly adjacent to Rotary Park and the marina. There is simply so much stuff to do within walking distance that we never had to fire up the car and drive anywhere. Our suite faced the lake and provided beautiful, serene views. Our room had a microwave, fridge, two queen beds and one pullout. The television was an old school tube-type, but there was HBO. Our kids said the WiFi worked good for their iTouch gizmos. Looking forward to our third visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booboo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Nothing real special about the hotel. Great town though. The hotel is dated, drains in tub not very good, water was standing pretty deep after a shower. My room did however have a nice veiw. Somewhat overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbell-57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandLHospitality, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Mr. R.Bell,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced while staying with us, particularly with the slow drainage in your shower. We have discussed this issue with our maintenance team and it is being addressed. I'm glad you enjoyed the view from your room. We take great pride in our location right along Lake Michigan. We value your business, and hope you stay with us during your next trip to Port Washington.
Sincerely, Erin Ruppenthal, S&L Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This place is very cool. Situated right near the water, our suite had killer views. Most everything we needed during our stay was within walking or biking distance, so we never had to use our car. We stayed for four days and began our mornings by sauntering out to the park (directly adjacent to the hotel) where we just hung out and got caffeined-up while we soaked up the ambience of the lake, marina, and the goings-on. There's a walking/biking path, a smoked fish shop, beach, lighthouse, and much more, very close to the hotel. We all enjoyed the indoor pool and spa at the end of the day, too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booboo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franksville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Not sure about the hype. Hotel has been there for years and in many respects it's showing (not well). Noticed an electric space heater sitting on a mantle when entering the lobby to generate additional heat and the carpeting certainly could use a major cleaning.

Like one of the other reviews, park early. Lot is very small and fills up quickly. We were one of the lucky ones but heard another guest's concern they were ticketed for street parking over night. Room was OK at best, small bathroom, ten year old tube televisions and the view, well like others said...... it's a small crummy harbor with a few unsold condos and a power plant. Wouldn't call that romantic or exciting.

I suppose if you paid $79 for a weekend night like we did and your sole intention is hanging around for a wedding reception or going downtown for pub crawling, OK......

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUMMAGETHENET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We have stayed at this motel since it was owned by Smith Brothers - every year we get a suite - it consists of either a separate alcove beyond the sleeping area - with a fold out couch - or a small separate room when you enter - that has a fold out couch and its own tv - as defined - a SUITE is a group of connected rooms used as a living unit. Holiday Inn has a new definition - the SUITE we got had a longer than normal hallway - but then it was just a room with 2 queen beds, no couch (but it did have 2 chairs for the 3 of us) - I asked why they were calling it a suite - and was told because it had a lake view and a downtown view. WHAT???? We should have been charged for just a room with 2 queens - NOT a suite. So they offered instead to take $20 off our breakfast - which was inedible. Never used to be - this is the first time the food was so bad - so we had to get dressed and drive or walk to restaurants in the area - big pain. I reserved for 2 nights - got there and was told they only had me down for one night - WHAT? I was told - YOU are lucky it is not next week - we are booked solid next week. When I reserved I asked - is everything working? Hot tub - spa and swimming pool - they were insulted. But we have a handicapped son that it is really impossible to explain that something is broke - and if that was the case - we just would not go right now - but everything was working - until Sunday morning - then the hot tub was no longer working - we just left early - way too much hassle for a quick get away - lousy beds - great pillows - all I can think of as good - small tv - NO dvd or access to rent movies - what is with that?
This hotel has been a Ramada - a Best Western - maybe a few others - but Holiday Inn is the worst -

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank besand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Washington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grafton
8.6 mi away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites. Grafton-Milwaukee
12.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mequon Milwaukee Area
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port Washington

Property: Holiday Inn Port Washington
Address: 135 E Grand Ave, Port Washington, WI 53074-2216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Harborview Port Washington Hotel,, located just 20 miles North of downtown Milwaukee on the shore of Lake Michigan. There are no other Wisconsin destinations that can offer the same sort of East-coast, New England-like charm. The Holiday Inn Harborview is one of the few Lake Michigan harbortown hotels in Wisconsin, offering a unique & charming boutique hotel experience. All guests are sure to appreciate the convenience of being adjacent to the Port Washington Marina, downtown shops & boutiques and some of the finest restaurants in the Milwaukee area including our very own Rusty Anchor Saloon & Eatery! For nearby recreation we are one of the only Port Washington, Milwaukee, Cedarburg, Mequon and Grafton area hotels near: charter fishing on Lake Michigan (3 boats on property), Interurban Bike Trail (starts on property), Elkhart Lake Road America and Kohler Wisconsin. In addition, being one of the few Cedarburg area hotels, many guests will take the short 8-mile trip to experience the Cedar Creek Winery & antique shops in historic downtown Cedarburg. For corporate travelers, the hotel is conveniently located near WE Energies Port Washington Power Plant, Concordia University, Charter Steel, SKF, Simplicity, Allen Edmonds, Tecumseh, Leggett & Platt, Columbia St. Mary s and Kleen Test Products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Port Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Washington Hotel Port Washington
Port Washington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing